
![]() |

I have looked and looked but nothing as far as "move then cleave" goes. My question is "when does the -2 AC penalty apply?" What I mean is if I move taking two AoO's then I stop and cleave do I have the -2 AC for the AoO's against me or only after I Cleave?
I ask cause this came up but there is no clarification on this. I also understand that when you cleave you have a -2 AC till your next turn. All in all I want to know is "for the AoO's during my move action before my standard action (and how I feel BEFORE I have to declare my cleave) do I take the -2 AC penalty?"
It was brought up that I do take the penalty during my move, but I disagreed saying that I did not declare cleave till after my move nor did I have to declare it because it is now only a standard action to cleave. please help shed some lite on this and we are playing in a Society game so very rules based.
Thank you all in advance for your insight and help.

HaraldKlak |

I ask cause this came up but there is no clarification on this. I also understand that when you cleave you have a -2 AC till your next turn. All in all I want to know is "for the AoO's during my move action before my standard action (and how I feel BEFORE I have to declare my cleave) do I take the -2 AC penalty?"
You are correct. At the point when you take your move action, you haven't cleaved yet, thus you don't get the penalty.
The actions are seperate, and it isn't until you choose to cleave that it has any effects.

concerro |

You as a player might decide to cleave before your turn even comes up, but until the the actual cleave starts you are not cleaving so there is no penalty*.
You could have moved up to the enemy, and decided to do something else after you got to him.
Here is basically how the game works.
1. Take action(whether it is a move or standard action)
Resolve action
2. Take next action (whether it is a move or standard action)
Resolve action
3. Repeat until no actions are left.
*The rules say you take the penalty when you cleave. Cleave is a specific standard action that takes place when you attack someone, so until you attack you are not cleaving.