Eidolon as a mount and grab / constrict


Rules Questions


If I am a medium creature and using my Large serpant Eidolon as a mount can it still grab and constrict? It grabs with its bite attack but i was assuming the constricting is done with its body. If that is the case it seems like it would be akward for my half elfe riding it and attacking and such. Thanks guys

Sczarni

I think that is going to be a houserule scenario...If you have a large eidolon and you constrict a medium creature or smaller I'd say it would probably still work, but if the creature was large or larger probably not.

I just picture you riding the dragon from Never Ending Story >.>


ossian666 wrote:

I think that is going to be a houserule scenario...If you have a large eidolon and you constrict a medium creature or smaller I'd say it would probably still work, but if the creature was large or larger probably not.

I just picture you riding the dragon from Never Ending Story >.>

Yes all the creatures I would be attacking would be a minimum of 1 size category smaller then my Eidolon. I would be charging with my lance dealing my damage then my mount would get a bite attack and free grapple attempt. If he grapples he can constrict for the same amount of dmg he did with the bite. It sounds ok to me I just dont want any rules surprises when I go to play him .

Sczarni

Lance has 10 ft. reach so you may need a feat to move that last 5 ft to get into melee range for your eidolon...charge through or ride by attack or something.

The rest of the board may have to comment on that because mounted combat of that nature is always confusing to me.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There's no rules that I know of that would restrict your mount from grappling a creature while you ride it. It'd look odd, but it seems legit through the rules.

Serpentine eidolons get 10ft reach on their bite automatically, so that part shouldn't really be a problem. Though, when your serpent grapples the opponent, it gets moved adjacent, so you won't be able to hit it with your lance, anymore. So you'll have to have an alternate weapon or dismount.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

A serpentine eidolon automatically has reach (10' at 1st level) with its bite attack -- that means that it has a really long and flexible neck that it can constrict with even if it is carrying a rider.

The only difficulty I see for a summoner wielding a lance is that summoners by default are proficient only with simple weapons, and lances are martial weapons.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eidolon as a mount and grab / constrict All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions