
Attrition |
Basically, does Augment Summoning effect other spells that have summon in their spell descriptions?? And if so, how would you rule the "each creature" portion when dealing with a swarm?
Feat = Augment Summoning
Benefit: Each creature you conjure with any summon spell gains a +4 enhancement bonus to Strength and Constitution for the duration of the spell that summoned it.
Subschool Description:
Summoning: a summoning spell instantly brings a creature or object to a place you designate. When the spell ends or is dispelled, a summoned creature is instantly sent back to where it came from, but a summoned object is not sent back unless the spell description specifically indicates this. A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower, but it is not really dead. It takes 24 hours for the creature to reform, during which time it can't be summoned again.
When the spell that summoned a creature ends and the creature disappears, all the spells it has cast expire. A summoned creature cannot use any innate summoning abilities it may have.
Summon Monster I
School conjuration (summoning) [see text]; Level antipaladin 1, bard 1, cleric/oracle 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, summoner 1, witch 1
Mount
School conjuration (summoning); Level magus 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, summoner 1, witch 1
Summon Swarm
School conjuration (summoning); Level bard 2, druid 2, sorcerer/wizard 2, summoner 2, witch 2

DJEternalDarkness |

In my opinion a swarm is one "creature" even if it composed of thousands of little buggers, so the +4 bonus to str and con would effect the HP of the swarm (+2 hp per HD) but not the damage (as swarms usually have a str of 1 but no damage of xd6-y where Y would be the strength penalty).

Benly |
Given that it says "summon" rather than "summoning", and given that there is precedent for using "(x) spells" when (x) is not a school, subschool or descriptor to refer to "spells with (x) in their names", it seems quite possible that only spells with names that have "summon" in them. In this case, the precedent is "cure spells": "a cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name" according to the cleric's spontaneous casting feature, which is the only other ability I can think of that uses similar terminology that isn't a descriptor, school or subschool.
Following this standard, it would apply to Summon Monster, Summon Swarm, and even Summon Eidolon, but not to Mount or Vomit Swarm.

![]() |

Given that it says "summon" rather than "summoning", and given that there is precedent for using "(x) spells" when (x) is not a school, subschool or descriptor to refer to "spells with (x) in their names", it seems quite possible that only spells with names that have "summon" in them. In this case, the precedent is "cure spells": "a cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name" according to the cleric's spontaneous casting feature, which is the only other ability I can think of that uses similar terminology that isn't a descriptor, school or subschool.
Following this standard, it would apply to Summon Monster, Summon Swarm, and even Summon Eidolon, but not to Mount or Vomit Swarm.
+1
I concur.

mdt |

Strict RAW? Probably.
However, as GM, I'd go with the subschool, just because it prevents arguments. Plus, there's really nothing stopping someone from researching 'Summon Mount' which is just like 'Mount' but has the word summon in it.
The subschool is less ambiguous. I usually personally just go by the subschool, so Conjuration (Healing) for abilities that boost spells that heal, Conjuration (Summoning) for augmented summon, etc.
Cleric spell substitution I usually leave to just the cure spells, although if enough players wanted to go with the conjuration (healing) instead I'd be ok with that to.