AoO and Charge


Rules Questions


Having looked through many of the threads dealing with AOO I hate to start another one, but a question came up last night that and I cannot find the answer.

Situation: Players round a corner and 40 feet away are two archers. The fighter charges and hits, the remaining archer goes to release his arrow and the player claims an attack of opportunity.

Question: Should an attack of opportunity be allowed? Two rules seem to be in opposition here, namely:

Attacking on a Charge: After moving, you may make a single melee attack. You get a +2 bonus on the attack roll and take a –2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn.

Even if you have extra attacks, such as from having a high enough base attack bonus or from using multiple weapons, you only get to make one attack during a charge.

and

Provoking an Attack of Opportunity: Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing certain actions within a threatened square.

Performing a Distracting Act: Some actions, when performed in a threatened square, provoke attacks of opportunity as you divert your attention from the battle. Table: Actions in Combat notes many of the actions that provoke attacks of opportunity. (Making a ranged attack does provoke an attack of opportunity)

Remember that even actions that normally provoke attacks of opportunity may have exceptions to this rule.

Thanks for your help!


If the player finishes his charge and is then threatening the archer, then yes he would get an AoO against the archer firing point blank at him. Please note the player made one attack during his charge. The first archer. Then initiative moved on to the remaining archer and when the archer acted, the player was free to make his AoO since it was after his charge was complete (though he still had the AC penalty till he acted next round).

The easiest way to avoid this is have the archer 5' step back and shoot once he's out of the threatened square.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Osmos777 wrote:

Having looked through many of the threads dealing with AOO I hate to start another one, but a question came up last night that and I cannot find the answer.

Situation: Players round a corner and 40 feet away are two archers. The fighter charges and hits, the remaining archer goes to release his arrow and the player claims an attack of opportunity.

Question: Should an attack of opportunity be allowed? Two rules seem to be in opposition here, namely:

Attacking on a Charge: After moving, you may make a single melee attack. You get a +2 bonus on the attack roll and take a –2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn.

Even if you have extra attacks, such as from having a high enough base attack bonus or from using multiple weapons, you only get to make one attack during a charge.

and

Provoking an Attack of Opportunity: Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing certain actions within a threatened square.

Performing a Distracting Act: Some actions, when performed in a threatened square, provoke attacks of opportunity as you divert your attention from the battle. Table: Actions in Combat notes many of the actions that provoke attacks of opportunity. (Making a ranged attack does provoke an attack of opportunity)

Remember that even actions that normally provoke attacks of opportunity may have exceptions to this rule.

Thanks for your help!

Yes, AoO occurs.

The rule you quote refers to the extra attacks you gain from a high BAB and the like, AoO are another thing.


Key word is "during" a charge. thiss aoo was after the charge.


The player gets an AoO. The charge is over once the charging player's turn is, and if the archer provokes any AoOs on the archer's turn, the player can take them.


Thanks for the feedback everyone!! by the way, I did allow the AOO during the play session, but was wondering if that was correct. Now I feel better about the ruling.


Osmos777 wrote:
Thanks for the feedback everyone!! by the way, I did allow the AOO during the play session, but was wondering if that was correct. Now I feel better about the ruling.

You did it right, the AoO is an "extra" attack that occurs under special circumstances.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / AoO and Charge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.