Reading monster attack entries?


Rules Questions


I'm having a bit of trouble understanding what I'm sure is a very simple question. Specifically, when listed attack methods list a certain number before the type of attack and attack bonus, for example, a horse's "2 hooves -2 (1d4+1)". Does the horse actually get to roll two hoof attacks at the listed bonus, or is the number only there to show one attack involves using both in one motion? If it gets the two attacks, does it onl get to make them with a full attack/round action, or in a regular attack as well?

I'm asking this because some monsters, like a dragon or something, hae multiple attack methods each with different number values infront of them. If a dragon hooses to ise a standard action to use only its wings for whatever reason, would it get 2 such wing smacks or only one? Would its full attack include every single melee attack listed, each at multiple times as described, or only one attack method at said multiple attack rolls?

Again, I apologize if this is a really obvious question, but I couldnt the awnser in my core ruleboom or any of the 3 bestiaries...

Liberty's Edge

The attack listing shows the number and type of attacks, the modifier to hit for each of those attacks, and the damage. For the horse's "2 hooves..." listing, that is two different attacks.

To use more than one attack, a creature has to use a full attack. If using a standard action to attack, gets only one of how many attack options it has. With a standard attack, the horse would get one hoof, with a full attack, it would get two. With a standard attack, the dragon would get one attack, such as one of the wings. With a full attack, the dragon would get two wings (two separate attacks for wings) as well as his other attacks.

The Bestiary explanation for attacks isn't great. You're not the only one.


In your example, a horse making a full attack will get 2 hooves. As a standard action it may attack with one hoof.

Likewise, a dragon using only a standard action to attack would only get one attack regardless of the number it could make during a full attack.

Yes. A dragon making a full attack would get use every single attack, including two wings, two claws, a bite, and a tail slap (if big enough). So potential six attack rolls.


It is entirely understandable that you are confused by this. Pathfinder changed how natural attacks work from what it used to be in D&D 3.5. In 3.5, only one natural attack was considered to be a primary attack, thus most of the other attacks incurred penalties, and thus it was much less common that a monster's attack listing would use the shorthand of "2 claws" etc., but with pathfinder, most natural attacks are considered primary, with a few notable exceptions, so they do not have penalties, and thus are more likely to be listed in this short-hand manner.


Thank you for your help guys, my confusion is finall cleared!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reading monster attack entries? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions