
![]() |

So one of my players is wanting to take multiple Craft skills, he is a 4th level ranger and currently has Craft(Bows) with 1 rank, He wants to take a second Craft skill now the way I understand it if he wants a second craft skill he has to spend 2 skills points to train a second one because he already has his class craft skill spent into bows. But he sees the ruling as he should be able to throw ranks into any multiple of craft skills as he so chooses because it is a class skill and should not have to spend 2 skills points to get a different craft skill to put ranks into it and he can just put a rank into example Craft(weapons) without having to spend the 2 points to train a new craft.
Any ruling clarification on this would be fantastic.

Some call me Tim |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

The player is correct. All craft skills are class skills not just one. So if he wants both he can put one point in Craft(Bows) and one point and Craft(Weapons) and they both get +3 class skill bonus.
Also, cross class skills don't cost double in Pathfinder. You simply don't get the +3 class skill bonus.

Reecy |
Yes the 2 point purchasing is no more for anything...
You are skilled in the creation of a specific group of items, such as armor or weapons. Like Knowledge, Perform, and Profession, Craft is actually a number of separate skills. You could have several Craft skills, each with its own ranks. The most common Craft skills are alchemy, armor, baskets, books, bows, calligraphy, carpentry, cloth, clothing, glass, jewelry, leather, locks, paintings, pottery, sculptures, ships, shoes, stonemasonry, traps, and weapons.
The only thing is they never share ranks.