Hold person


Rules Questions


Just a question about the Hold Person spell. I know it says that it affects humanoids but does that cover monsterous humanoids also? Would say a bugbear, goblin, lizardman all be effected or would you need hold monster for that?


Bugbears, goblins and lizardmen aren't actually monstrous humanoids, they are humanoids and as such are affected by the spell normally.

The monstrous humanoid type is a type all on its own, different from normal humanoids, examples are Sahuagin, Minotaurs or Morlocks. These are monstrous humanoids, and because they are not humanoids, they aren't affected by hold Person.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Banecrow wrote:
Just a question about the Hold Person spell. I know it says that it affects humanoids but does that cover monsterous humanoids also? Would say a bugbear, goblin, lizardman all be effected or would you need hold monster for that?

Easy way to answer that is to take a look at the bugbear for example:

Quote:

Bugbear CR 2

XP 600

CE Medium humanoid (goblinoid)

Hold person would effect it, as the type is humanoid.

If you check in the Bestiary , it gives a list of monsters by type:

Quote:
Humanoid: boggard, bugbear, cloud giant, cyclops, dark creeper, dark stalker, derro, drow, drow noble, duergar, ettin, fire giant, frost giant, gnoll, goblin, hill giant, hobgoblin, kobold, lizardfolk, merfolk, ogre, orc, stone giant, storm giant, svirfneblin, tengu, troglodyte, troll, wererat, werewolf

So hold person would effect any of those. (along with the normal human, half-elf, etc).

Liberty's Edge

It affects creatures with the type Humanoid. It does not have an effect on creatures that are of the type Monstrous Humanoid. Goblins, bugbears, and lizardmen are all of type Humanoid, so they are affected. Monstrous Humanoids, such as centaurs and minotaurs, are not affected. Every creature has a defined type. Look to that type to determine if the creature is affected. The PRD has a handy dandy chart of creatures by type for Bestiary; it might have them for other monster sourcebooks as well.


Monstrous humanoids, and humanoids are different creature types. It only affect humanoids. Bugbears, goblins, and lizardfolk are are humanoids.


Thanks for the input. Just wanted to make sure I was understanding the spell correctly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hold person All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.