
Mitch Moore |
In a game this weekend a creature used a withdraw action to fly 80ft. straight into the sky when surrounded by three characters and an npc. One NPC also had a reach weapon and was standing next to him as well. It was my opinion that after the first 5 feet of movement up that Attacks of Opportunity would come from everyone, then on the next five feet from the reach NPC. Granted, I'm no expert but I don't see it explicitly in the rules and I'm looking for your interpretation or even better a page or something that explains in better detail, thanks

Adamantine Dragon |

My general rule is to extrapolate the 5x5 grid into three dimensions. I don't think there is anything specific in the RAW about this, but I may be wrong.
With that interpretation, assuming the creature was on the ground and surrounded by three characters, then I would have ruled that it's withdraw only protected it as it moved five feet up. As it moved from 5 to 10 feet it would have triggered AoOs from everyone.
The reach weapon would not have mattered. You only get one AoO per move from a creature, even if you have the feats that allow multiple AoOs.

![]() |

The first 5 feet of movement would not provoke attacks of opportunity.If the flying creature was on the ground and flew straight up there would be two different chances to provoke attacks of opportunity, albeit each person could only take one attack of opportunity from said flyer.
If it was already flying 5 feet off the ground only the guy with reach would get a chance to take a AoO.
And the flyer would have to make a fly check for flying straight up.

Mitch Moore |
The first 5 feet of movement would not provoke attacks of opportunity.If the flying creature was on the ground and flew straight up there would be two different chances to provoke attacks of opportunity, albeit each person could only take one attack of opportunity from said flyer.
If it was already flying 5 feet off the ground only the guy with reach would get a chance to take a AoO.
And the flyer would have to make a fly check for flying straight up.
The assumption is correct in that it was on the ground and rose first from 0-5, then 5-10 and so on. A fly check you say? Hmmm, hadn't thought of that. Thanks for the help guys, I hoped that the early morning gaming hadn't addled my brains too much.

Mabven the OP healer |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Mitch Moore, you are right as far as the rules go. I have some advice for you - I have been in many situations where I was a player, and my understanding of the rules was more in-depth than the person GM'ing - In situations like this, when the creature first provokes the aoo, mention it to the GM, if he disagrees, move on and wait till the session is over.
After the game, present your case to the GM briefly and respectfully. If he/she seems to think there is something to your argument, and wants to explore it further, great, you have created a dialogue. If not, let it drop, never mention it again. There are rules in the books, but the most important rule is that the GM makes the rules, and this also applies to when the GM "misunderstands" the rules. In his game, his "misunderstanding" is the rule. If this changes the mechanics of the game, then the best thing to do is to compensate for that change in mechanics, and if possible, make use of that change to your advantage if you can. If you try to take advantage of that mechanic, and it doesn't work the same way for your pc as it did for the monster, you need to let that drop too.
I tell you this from experience. I am a somewhat socially-oblivious uber-nerd, and there have been many times that I have ended up "rules-lawering", with the best of intentions, but it just creates tension at the table and makes the whole thing less fun for everyone, including myself.