Casting into Melee


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

I have always been told that casting into melee prevents an attack of opportunity.

Recently, while playing someone casted a divine spell into melee. We said OK make your concentration check for casting defensively. They informed us that they shouldn't have to because the spell doesn't have a somatic component. (without movement it won't provoke).

I believe this to be untrue, but after looking through the magic section in the core and a little through the rules forum, I have been unable to find a ruling anywhere on this.


I'm fairly certain that somatic components have nothing to do with whether a spell provokes an attack of opportunity, but I am unable to find the specific rule.


The components of a spell have nothing to do with it provoking. In the combat section, there's a table of what provokes which includes "cast a spell (1 standard action)" = YES.

There is no wording anywhere that exempts spells without somatic components. Spells that cast as swift actions, however, do not provoke.

It isn't about waving your arms around. Its about concentrating on the energies coursing through your mortal frame.

The Exchange

Casting a spell w/o somatic components doesn't allow you to ignore casting defensively. Otherwise, it would be explained under either Somatic Components or Casting Defensively that you don't need to do so in such a situation.

Casting Defensively wrote:

Casting Defensively

If you want to cast a spell without provoking any attacks of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 15 + double the level of the spell you're casting) to succeed. You lose the spell if you fail.

Somatic Components wrote:

Somatic (S)

A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component.


Hey, Mab! Long time no see... Miss you guys.. Running Kingmaker right now and constantly trying to imagine what you guys would do in any given situation..heh.
Just to jump in with a tiny bit of clarification, the only exemption from AoO that I have ever been able to find aside from successfully casting defensively is a spell that is a free action...

pfsrd wrote:
To cast a spell with a somatic (S) component, you must gesture freely with at least one hand. You can't cast a spell of this type while bound, grappling, or with both your hands full or occupied.

and

pfsrd wrote:
Generally, if you cast a spell, you provoke attacks of opportunity from threatening enemies. If you take damage from an attack of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 10 + points of damage taken + the spell's level) or lose the spell. Spells that require only a free action to cast don't provoke attacks of opportunity.


Hey Zero, certainly has been a while, give me a call when you get a chance. Sorry to thread-jack.


Heh heh, inadvertent (I'm sorry, OP) thread-jack and essentially ninja'ed.. Apologies all around and will do, Mab!

Scarab Sages

Thank you all for pointing me in the right direction. I have since found it in the core.

Standard-provoke
Swift-does not provoke
Free-does not provoke
Quickened-does not provoke


And full-round spells are a whole new horrible can of worms.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting into Melee All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions