
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
If possible, all players must use an existing Pathfinder Society character (without modification) within 1 level of the module’s starting level.
Each of these modules has a chronicle sheet that includes a level range. For example, the range might be 4-6. Here are my questions:
- If a player *DOES* have a character that is within 1 level of the module's starting level, but also has a character that is still in the level range but more than 1 level above the starting level, is he allowed to pick or does this statement make the decision for him?
- Does this statement actually adjust the range? Continuing the example, does the 4-6 range actually become 3-6? (BTW - if so, why not just extend the range on the chronicle sheets?) Or is this statement only meant to preference the lower levels? Again, continuing the example above, does it mean that characters of level 4 and 5 are preferred?
I have a feeling that I'm coming into a discussion that has been ongoing and that these rules were meant to address specific cases that are not clear to me. Can anyone clarify?

![]() |

As I understand it, if a chronicle shows 4-6 as the level range, then the module had a starting level of 5th, so you can play any level 4-6 PFS PC with it.
The "Starting level" for the 4-6 range you mention is not 4. The starting level for the module is 5th. The 4-6 range IS the range that puts a PC within 1 level of the starting level.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

- If a player *DOES* have a character that is within 1 level of the module's starting level, but also has a character that is still in the level range but more than 1 level above the starting level, is he allowed to pick or does this statement make the decision for him?
- Does this statement actually adjust the range? Continuing the example, does the 4-6 range actually become 3-6? (BTW - if so, why not just extend the range on the chronicle sheets?) Or is this statement only meant to preference the lower levels? Again, continuing the example above, does it mean that characters of level 4 and 5 are preferred?
1) The starting level of a module is the level listed on the front or back cover of the module. (i.e. This module is for 3rd level characters).
As such, the range would be 2-4 for a 3rd level module. Your example of a 4-6 range would be for a 5th level module. If your characters were 4th, 5th, or 6th level, you could play with either one you wanted. If you had a character below 4th or above 6th, you could not.2) I don't understand the question. Modules only allow you to play a character within one level of the starting level of the module. Remember, the term "starting level" does not include the levels given for the range. The starting level is the level listed on the cover of the module. The range is extrapolated from the starting level.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Here's how modules work for PFS play.
First you decide what character you are going to play. There are (as of 4.1) only two options.
1) For modules below level 9, if you do not already have a character that falls within range, you can use a pregen character. If you play with a pregen, you apply the credit earned to a brand new character, with reduced gold (1,398).
2) Otherwise, you must play a character within 1 level of the modules starting level. So for a level 1 module, you can make a new level 1 PFS character or use an existing level 1 or 2. Modules themselves do not level "level ranges," only the chronicle sheets do. For example, Crypt of the Everflame is level 1, Masks of the Living Gods is 3, and City of Golden Death is 5.
Whichever choice you decide, conditions and gold gain in game do not carry past the end of the module and are never recorded on the chronicle sheet.
You are not allowed to artificially been level up or down a PFS character anymore for module play. Pre 4.1 you could artificially level one up for the purposes of module play, but this is no longer the case.
All this information is found on page 23 in the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Whichever choice you decide, conditions and gold gain in game do not carry past the end of the module and are never recorded on the chronicle sheet.
Conditions, Death, and Expendables
When playing your own character, all conditions (including death) not resolved within the module carry beyond the end of the module. Likewise, any wealth spent or resources expended during the course of the adventure are tracked and must be recorded on the Chronicle sheet.
Not sure what exactly you are saying, but conditions definitely do carry over when playing a module.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
All this information is found on page 23 in the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play.
Where do you think I got the quote from?
2) I don't understand the question. Modules only allow you to play a character within one level of the starting level of the module. Remember, the term "starting level" does not include the levels given for the range. The starting level is the level listed on the cover of the module. The range is extrapolated from the starting level.
The phrase "starting level" appears only once in the guide, and it is never explained. I looked at the chronicle sheets for some of the modules and saw level ranges (a starting and an ending level). If a module has one associated level (as Pygon and WalterGM were saying) why use wording that would indicate a range of levels. (Starting must mean that there is an ending also - no?)
Like I said before, when I read this section of the guide, I felt like I had walked in on a conversation in progress. Clearly this has been discussed before, and at least for those who were part of that discussion, the term "starting level" already has a well defined meaning. For a noob like myself, it did not.
But thank you all for your responses. I think I've got it now.
BTW - I think it would have been easier to just say "Each module has an associated chronicle sheet. A PC has to be in the level range specified on that sheet in order to play in the module."

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I can see how to someone who’s never played a roleplaying game before or is quite new at it, might see that as confusing. But to a veteran of the game (26+ years now), starting level is a pretty standard way of saying the level at which characters should be before starting the module. Since these modules are built for standard Pathfinder play, rather than PFS, it is implied and understood that you gain experience and level up during the module.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

BTW - I think it would have been easier to just say "Each module has an associated chronicle sheet. A PC has to be in the level range specified on that sheet in order to play in the module."
Thanks for pointing it out. In the next release of the guide, we will look to clear it up. We made more than 400 changes from 4.0 to 4.1 and a few things were likely bound to be missed.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Andrew - I think we got off on the wrong foot here. I have been playing for a long time, it's true, but I pretty much skipped 3/3.5 and went straight to 4, then back-tracked to PF (or went forward depending on who you talk to). I still remember the TSR modules with the level range (e.g. 4-7) listed in the top right corner. That's the first thing I thought of when I heard starting level. I assumed that starting level meant the first level in a range of levels. (The word starting implies that there are other levels in a range or list, does it not?) When I looked at the chronicle sheets for a few of the modules, I thought my suspicions were confirmed ... I saw ranges. I have actually never held a Paizo module in my hands. I've seen an adventure path module and inside it said something like this module will take you from 1st to 4th level ... again a range of levels. I did not realize that Paizo modules have a single level associated with them. Sorry.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Andrew - I think we got off on the wrong foot here. I have been playing for a long time, it's true, but I pretty much skipped 3/3.5 and went straight to 4, then back-tracked to PF (or went forward depending on who you talk to). I still remember the TSR modules with the level range (e.g. 4-7) listed in the top right corner. That's the first thing I thought of when I heard starting level. I assumed that starting level meant the first level in a range of levels. (The word starting implies that there are other levels in a range or list, does it not?) When I looked at the chronicle sheets for a few of the modules, I thought my suspicions were confirmed ... I saw ranges. I have actually never held a Paizo module in my hands. I've seen an adventure path module and inside it said something like this module will take you from 1st to 4th level ... again a range of levels. I did not realize that Paizo modules have a single level associated with them. Sorry.
Not all of the Paizo modules sanctioned for PDS play are for ONE level only. Most are -- but most is not all. Check the first page of the module by the masthead. It always tells you the intended level range of the module in the fine print.
For example, Crypt of the Everflame is listed as Level 1-2.
However,because of the way the XP points work with sanctioned modules, the PCs won't get their three XP until after the module is completed. And that means that the PCs will be too low in level to take on half of the adventure as intended.
As it so happens, this is very important when it comes to Crypt of the Everflame. I would advise against running that one for 1st level PCs only. A mixed party of a say, three 2nd level and 1 or 2 1st level characters should do okay if someone has a Wand of cure light wounds in the party.
But for four 1st level characters with no PA and just starting gold without a wand of cure light wounds? The bat swarms will kick the PCs ass and Asar will then hand what's left of it to the player characters on a platter. Not a good idea.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

WalterGM wrote:
Whichever choice you decide, conditions and gold gain in game do not carry past the end of the module and are never recorded on the chronicle sheet.
Guide wrote:Not sure what exactly you are saying, but conditions definitely do carry over when playing a module.Conditions, Death, and Expendables
When playing your own character, all conditions (including death) not resolved within the module carry beyond the end of the module. Likewise, any wealth spent or resources expended during the course of the adventure are tracked and must be recorded on the Chronicle sheet.
Missed that change, good catch.