Hard rules question: round 2.


Rules Questions


1) Is the line breath weapon of a large o larger creature however large 5 feet?
2) When is active the vemerak earthquake ability? In the next PC turn? Or in the next he's turn?
3) Create pit.
Wich moves a creature that dodges the pit?
What happens if I create it in the space of a huge or larger creature?
4) I have summoned a creature with the summoner spell-like ability. At my next turn, after the creature's attacks, can I summon another creature so immediately attack?
5) Is a non-natural 20 critical that does a miss on confirmation roll, a normal non-critical attack? Or is a missed attack?


1)yes
2)start of the new round (when the top initiative goes)
3)RAW they fall in. I would probably give creatures who take up more space than the hole a bonus on their reflex saves to not fall in. Not only that, gargantuan and up probably won't even need a climb check to get out of the hole's maximum depth (30 ft)
4)RAW yes. I would probably make it so that it can only act after you take your actions.
5)It's a normal hit


1-Yes a line attack is always a 5' line.

2-It starts at the start of the next round, ie right before it goes agin on it's initiative.

3-The character or npc making the save picks a square adjacent to him besides the pit square. I would rule that a huge creature still falls because he could squeeze through such a hole maybe give him a +2 on his save, anything larger is immune.

4-Yes

5-Normal non critical hit.


1. nope a line is always the same width no matter who created it.

2. the Vemerek's turn.

3.a. A creature that makes its save moves immediately to the nearest open space, if there are two or more open spaces of equal distance the creature would get to decide.

3.b. I don't know for sure, if it came up in my game I would probably rule that a huge or larger creature treated the pit as difficult terrain.

4. since the summoner uses it as a standard action (rather than a full round action that most people have to use to cast the spell) this seems like it should work, but realize that the first monster is going to go away as soon as the second appears, and that this is going to burn through your daily uses of the ability quickly if you do it often.

5. only the initial attack roll is used to determine if the attack hits, the confirmation role is only used to determine whether the attack is a critical hit or a normal hit.


Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
5) Is a non-natural 20 critical that does a miss on confirmation roll, a normal non-critical attack? Or is a missed attack?

If the original (non-natural 20) threat attack does not hit AC, the entire thing is a miss.

Wizard with BAB 0 and Str 10 attacks with a dagger. He rolls a 19 on the d20, for a total attack of 19.

Monster has 20 AC.

Wizard has missed.

If instead, the wizard had attacked a monster with AC of 15, then the wizard has hit, and also scored a threat. Now he rolls his confirmation roll to see if it is a crit. If the confirmation attack roll is 15 or higher, he has crit, otherwise it's a regular hit.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hard rules question: round 2. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.