Another oracle question


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Alright, here's another one. this revelation..

Unearthly Terrain (Su): You can twist the material world into the harsh, jagged edges and uneven angles of the outer planes. As a standard action, you can turn one 20-foot square into difficult terrain for 1 round per level. You may use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Charisma bonus.

Does that mean i can use the ability to create difficult ground anywhere i can imagine? does it need line of sight? line of effect? can i do it like teleport, anywhere i can envision? just curious what you think, since it has no range.


It's a supernatural power, so you have to have line of effect to the area being targeted.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

but not line of sight, right? so i can throw it through a cloud, if i know where i'm targeting. "i use it forty feet forward" for example?


There is no such power without range, well intended range anyway. All it would take is a hit to the FAQ button to get such a power errata'd for being improperly written.

Imagine some BBEG scrying on the party, and then jacking them up or the other way around.

Line of effect is less limiting than line of sight so if you don't have line of affect you don't have line of sight.

Example: A cloud would block line of sight, but not line of effect.
A solid wall blocks both.

edit:well maybe the interplanetary teleport spell, but that is it.


You can have line of sight without line of effect.

Looking through a window gives line of sight without giving line of effect (window blocks line of effect).

I believe Xavier is right, he could target it blind by saying '40 feet ahead of me' if that's inside an obscuring mist for example, but he'd have to have line of effect to it. Just as one could throw a fireball into the mist.


Per the post above, where in the rules does it say that supernatural powers (if not specified) has a range of line of effect?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Another oracle question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions