Mounted Combat & Reach


Rules Questions


When a medium creature is mounted on a large creature (Let's stipulate a Knight on a Horse, for conversation's sake.) and wielding a non-reach weapon (Sword) the knight occupies 4 squares and can attack one square away from his four.

K=Knight
A=Attack squares

Figure #1 - Knight with Sword

A A A A
A K K A
A K K A
A A A A

What if the Knight is wielding a reach weapon? Does that range of attack stay the same, or grow?

Figure #2 - Knight with Reach?

A A A A A A
A A A A A A
A A K K A A
A A K K A A
A A A A A A
A A A A A A

If the area grows, does the "dead zone" of the reach weapon grow with it?

Figure #3 - Knight with Reach?

A A A A A A
A _ _ _ _ A
A _ K K _ A
A _ K K _ A
A _ _ _ _ A
A A A A A A

For the mounted Knight in these diagrams, which represents the area he can attack with a reach weapon, Figure #1, #2, or #3?

Dark Archive

I would say Figure 2 is the correct way. You choose any one of the four squares occupied by the horse as "your" square and measure from there.


Treat the knigh as a large creature with a reach weapon .. so figure 1 (example short short) and 3 (example long spear) are correct. Figure 2 is also correct if you have a special weapon without dead zone (meteor hammer etc.).

Grand Lodge

The rider shares the same space as his mount and takes his normal reach from that space. Figures 1 and 3 are correct.


Looking at figure 3 (knight wielding a lance and riding a horse), what would one have to do to let both the horse and the knight attack on a charge?


Blueluck wrote:
Looking at figure 3 (knight wielding a lance and riding a horse), what would one have to do to let both the horse and the knight attack on a charge?

Ride-by-Attack


Little threadjack ... sorry.

How are attacks of oportunity handled while mounted and riding?
Imagine a halfling on a dog with high DEX, a reach weapon and Combat Reflexes.

Dark Archive

Is it the dog or the halfling who has the high dex and combat reflexes?


The halfling, but the dog could maybe have them too.
I just wondered myself, if you ride over the battelfield, passing several poeple in your reach, do you get attacks of oportunity on them?


Hayato Ken wrote:

The halfling, but the dog could maybe have them too.

I just wondered myself, if you ride over the battelfield, passing several poeple in your reach, do you get attacks of oportunity on them?

Why would you get Attacks of Opportunity for your own movement?

Spoiler:
You wouldn't


The mount is moving, not me.


None of the diagrams are taking the diagonal blinds spots into account...

This horse lich is killing me. |:


Hayato Ken wrote:
The mount is moving, not me.

Moving past someone doesn't cause them to provoke AOO, the target moving while threatened provokes the AOO. So, if your enemies were riding by you on horses while you stood still, they would provoke attacks from you.


Mahorfeus wrote:

None of the diagrams are taking the diagonal blinds spots into account...

This horse lich is killing me. |:

Well, it's like this.

In 3.5, there was a stipulation for Reach weapons that "Reach is not affected by the every-10-feet-counts-as-15-feet" rule; that is, creatures' threatened areas are perfect squares on a battlemap, not circles.

The reason being was, if a creature with a Reach weapon such as a Lance had to count that rule, they did not threaten a perfect circle -- their threatened zone looked like this:

OTTTO
TOOOT
TOXOT
TOOOT
OTTTO

If threatened squares obeyed the same laws as movement, then creatures have the magical ability to approach enemies from the diagonal without provoking any attacks of opportunity, where they normally would when approaching from cardinal directions.

Now, Pathfinder has no such stipulation that Reach weapons are exempt from normal distance-tracking; so technically, you are correct. However, many people still use the old rule (knowingly or not -- it can be hard to notice a rule you used is no longer present).


Troubleshooter wrote:
Mahorfeus wrote:
None of the diagrams are taking the diagonal blinds spots into account...
Now, Pathfinder has no such stipulation that Reach weapons are exempt from normal distance-tracking; so technically, you are correct. However, many people still use the old rule (knowingly or not -- it can be hard to notice a rule you used is no longer present).

In D&D I've seen diagrams of various threatened areas. Can you show me one from Pathfinder that displays this difference?


Quantum Steve wrote:
Blueluck wrote:
Looking at figure 3 (knight wielding a lance and riding a horse), what would one have to do to let both the horse and the knight attack on a charge?
Ride-by-Attack

That's a great idea!

Charge up to lance range, rider attacks, continue in a straight line into bite range, mount attacks.


I found reach templates!

The answer to my original question is, #3.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mounted Combat & Reach All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.