Magic Missile and Mirror Image


Rules Questions

51 to 99 of 99 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Question: what happens when a wizard casts magic missile, intending to hit the minor image that a rival has cast of herself? Would it make a difference if, say, the second wizard has fasioned the minor image to look like herself, and has also cast invisibility, hiding, unbeknownst, within range of the magic missile?

For example, would you rule that the first wizard would immediately know that the minor image is a figment, since the spell would abort? In the second case, would the spell understand that the wizard wanted to hit "that wizard over there" and hit the invisible person?


The Saltmarsh 6 wrote:

you clearly have missed the point that I'm trying to make.

That in my oppion there is room for debate on this subject and I'm belive that it's not so black and white as other believe

I linked both spells. There is no debate. The spells clearly out line what happens. Magic missle doesnt have an attack roll and there fore has no interaction at all with mirror image.


Chris Mortika wrote:

Question: what happens when a wizard casts magic missile, intending to hit the minor image that a rival has cast of herself? Would it make a difference if, say, the second wizard has fasioned the minor image to look like herself, and has also cast invisibility, hiding, unbeknownst, within range of the magic missile?

For example, would you rule that the first wizard would immediately know that the minor image is a figment, since the spell would abort? In the second case, would the spell understand that the wizard wanted to hit "that wizard over there" and hit the invisible person?

He would not know the image is an illusion.

Even if the wizard is in the room, but hiding the wizard(victim) would not be hit by the attacker. You can't target someone with total concealment is the reason.

As to whether the spell(magic missile) just fails to activate or is wasted is up to the GM.


I see , deleted the post because it was not relevent to the question. thank you for correcting me :P

Edit - i think it would react normally with minor image. You cant hit the real thing because he has total concealmant but nothing in the spell description prevents you from hitting the minor image as long as you dont disbelieve it.

The only reason it doesnt work with mirror image is because the mirror image spell specifically says that it doesnt.


wraithstrike wrote:
As to whether the spell(magic missile) just fails to activate or is wasted is up to the GM.
Quote:

Spell Failure

If you ever try to cast a spell in conditions where the characteristics of the spell cannot be made to conform, the casting fails and the spell is wasted.

Spells also fail if your concentration is broken and might fail if you're wearing armor while casting a spell with somatic components.

Meh not so much -- spell is wasted.


Chris Mortika wrote:

Question: what happens when a wizard casts magic missile, intending to hit the minor image that a rival has cast of herself? Would it make a difference if, say, the second wizard has fasioned the minor image to look like herself, and has also cast invisibility, hiding, unbeknownst, within range of the magic missile?

For example, would you rule that the first wizard would immediately know that the minor image is a figment, since the spell would abort? In the second case, would the spell understand that the wizard wanted to hit "that wizard over there" and hit the invisible person?

Its hard to explain exactly how the process works, but the intent plays a major role in it. This is of course assuming that the spells don't already hand you an answer. (Mirror Image, for example, tells us bluntly that it only affects abilities that are based on attack rolls).

For something like Silent/Minor/Major Image, the answer isn't specifically given, so the intention of the Magic Missile will come into play.

When you attack the Minor Image in your example, the caster's intention is to hit the image. Whether or not he knew it was an image isn't an issue -- he clearly desired that this thing be hit. So that is what his Missiles should attempt to hit. So, it wouldn't matter if the actual caster just happened to be around.

What happens from here may vary with your DM, but this is how I would rule it: he would see the missiles strike at the object. Thus he is now considered to have "interacted" with the image, and he gets his Will save to disbelieve the image as normal (just as if he had attempted to touch it himself). If he fails the save, then he believes that the object is real -- which logically would mean that when he saw the missiles "hit" the image... he would have seen actual contact (or at least thought he did). If he succeeded his save however, then he is now in disbelief of the image -- which probably means he saw the missiles passed right through the image, causing him to go "hey, its a fake!"

Does that make sense? Another possible DM ruling would just be "the spell failed." -shrug-


I agree magic missle will auto hit it's chosen target,
It's just that mirror image is ment to confuse an attacker in to picking the wrong target and there for waste an attack.
would magic missle be fooled by minor image a spell of the same school and level i think so,
so why should it see stright through mirror image dispite what the text says


The Saltmarsh 6 wrote:

I agree magic missle will auto hit it's chosen target,

It's just that mirror image is ment to confuse an attacker in to picking the wrong target and there for waste an attack.
would magic missle be fooled by minor image a spell of the same school and level i think so,
so why should it see stright through mirror image dispite what the text says

The critical aspect of target selection is knowing what square the target is in. Magic Missile knows where to go, as long as it knows two things:

1) The thing you plan to hit.
2) The square the thing is in.

Your Mirror Images are all in the same square as you, and the Missile caster knows that you're in that square and he knows that the images are false thus his intent is clear: hit the person.

When he attacks a Major/Minor/Silent Image, he has no idea if its fake or not and the those images are most likely in a separate square. So when he attacks the square that only contains a fake image and he currently thinks the image is real his intent is also clear: hit the image.

Try as hard as you guys like, the game rules still allow Magic Missile to ignore Mirror Image.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

KCWM wrote:
I'd rule that Great Cleave wouldn't work because ultimately, you are still attacking the same foe as the attack that destroyed one of the images. Mirror Images don't count as a separate foe because they themselves can not be targeted.

According to the description of the mirror image spell, the images are actually targeted if the attacker rolls that they didn't target the caster, but instead an image. Note that you can't target an image to the exclusion of the actual caster, but are always either targeting an image, or the caster (as long as you are attacking with something that requires an attack roll).

Whether targets in the same space are adjacent to each other is another question.

Note that the feat's description just says that you must target an adjacent foe, not that you must target a foe in an adjacent 5' space. Since tiny creatures occupy less than 5', you could target adjacent tiny creatures in the same 5' space. Mirror images, and morlocks likewise could be targeted. In fact, if anything is adjacent to anything it would be a couple of morlocks in the same space, or a caster and their mirror images.


moon glum wrote:
KCWM wrote:
I'd rule that Great Cleave wouldn't work because ultimately, you are still attacking the same foe as the attack that destroyed one of the images. Mirror Images don't count as a separate foe because they themselves can not be targeted.

According to the description of the mirror image spell, the images are actually targeted if the attacker rolls that they didn't target the caster, but instead an image. Note that you can't target an image to the exclusion of the actual caster, but are always either targeting an image, or the caster (as long as you are attacking with something that requires an attack roll).

Whether targets in the same space are adjacent to each other is another question.

Note that the feat's description just says that you must target an adjacent foe, not that you must target a foe in an adjacent 5' space. Since tiny creatures occupy less than 5', you could target adjacent tiny creatures in the same 5' space. Mirror images, and morlocks likewise could be targeted. In fact, if anything is adjacent to anything it would be a couple of morlocks in the same space, or a caster and their mirror images.

That's an interesting analysis, however, there is still the issue of intent.

If you did not strike your intended target, then your intended attack is ruled as a miss, and a miss will not trigger Cleave effects. This would work fine if you could intentionally target the Mirror Images, but you can't.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

Kazejin wrote:
moon glum wrote:
KCWM wrote:
I'd rule that Great Cleave wouldn't work because ultimately, you are still attacking the same foe as the attack that destroyed one of the images. Mirror Images don't count as a separate foe because they themselves can not be targeted.

According to the description of the mirror image spell, the images are actually targeted if the attacker rolls that they didn't target the caster, but instead an image. Note that you can't target an image to the exclusion of the actual caster, but are always either targeting an image, or the caster (as long as you are attacking with something that requires an attack roll).

Whether targets in the same space are adjacent to each other is another question.

Note that the feat's description just says that you must target an adjacent foe, not that you must target a foe in an adjacent 5' space. Since tiny creatures occupy less than 5', you could target adjacent tiny creatures in the same 5' space. Mirror images, and morlocks likewise could be targeted. In fact, if anything is adjacent to anything it would be a couple of morlocks in the same space, or a caster and their mirror images.

That's an interesting analysis, however, there is still the issue of intent.

If you did not strike your intended target, then your intended attack is ruled as a miss, and a miss will not trigger Cleave effects. This would work fine if you could intentionally target the Mirror Images, but you can't.

Actually, the feats cleave and great cleave don't say anything about intent. You just have to hit the target of your attack, and the spell mirror image determines what the target of your attack is.


moon glum wrote:
Actually, the feats cleave and great cleave don't say anything about intent. You just have to hit the target of your attack, and the spell mirror image determines what the target of your attack is.

Probably because they don't have to. It's a general consideration for pretty much everything. The intent of the attack governs how the attack will function, cleave is no exception to this. For cleave to function, you have to hit something that qualified as a legal target at the time of activation. The image wasn't a legal target when you declared your cleave attempt, hence your cleave attempt fails if you hit an image.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

Kazejin wrote:
moon glum wrote:
Actually, the feats cleave and great cleave don't say anything about intent. You just have to hit the target of your attack, and the spell mirror image determines what the target of your attack is.
Probably because they don't have to. It's a general consideration for pretty much everything. The intent of the attack governs how the attack will function, cleave is no exception to this. For cleave to function, you have to hit something that qualified as a legal target at the time of activation. The image wasn't a legal target when you declared your cleave attempt, hence your cleave attempt fails if you hit an image.

So, if you cast a fireball into a dark room full of bound elves, the elves won't be affected, because that was not your intent?

No, I don't think so. There is no rule anywhere in the book that talks about intent and how it is required to for an attack to work. Also, just think about it. Its cooler to allow a buff, barbaric fighter to cleave through a bunch of 2nd level illusions and take a swipe across the skinny, perfumed torso of some dandified wizard than it is to assume that some overly used, 2nd level spell provides relative invulnerability to arcanists who would otherwise be unable to evoke themselves out of a brown paper bag.

Liberty's Edge

The Saltmarsh 6 wrote:

you clearly have missed the point that I'm trying to make.

That in my oppion there is room for debate on this subject and I'm belive that it's not so black and white as other believe

Then try to convince your GM to house rule it.

I don't think you're going to make a large number of converts here.
-Kle.


The Saltmarsh 6 wrote:

you clearly have missed the point that I'm trying to make.

That in my oppion there is room for debate on this subject and I'm belive that it's not so black and white as other believe

There's zero room for debate. The text of mirror image is absolutely clear.

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

It seems pretty clear to me that since the Mirror Image spell says it only affects attacks requiring an attack roll, and Magic Missile doesn't require an attack roll, the Magic Missiles would hit the real wizard and not disrupt any of the illusions.

There do seem to be some grey areas regarding things like the Barbarian readying an action to hit the wizard struck by the magic missiles, or cleaving through the illusions. I think the real answer here is that it comes down to what the GM rules on the matter.

And I think that the question the GM should ask him or herself is: Is this good for the game? Is it more fun to have the Barbarian Great Cleave through a bunch of illusions, or to have his attack fail because he chose the wrong target? Personally, I would probably vary my ruling depending on how often the Barbarian player got to use his Great Cleave that he spent two feats on (probably not very often), how difficult the fight was up to that point, how badly injured the Party is, etc.

Remember, the point is to have fun! The only way to lose is to not have a good time!


The Saltmarsh 6 wrote:

I agree that in melee it works fine i think the thing that is bothering me is could a caster use magic missle to pick out the real target amonst the fakes?

so could a party barbarian run up to an evil spell caster who has cast mirror image and then wait for his own mage to cast magic missle then just clobber the one that gets hit by the spell?

They can't pinpoint you because the images constantly shift.

Edit: Whoops that is what they did in AD&D, and I just looked it up on on PFSRD. There is no text saying the images shift. Still I haven't left alot of AD&D conventions, even after 10 years of playing. I always played it like the images shift around you, so even if you hit the caster, the images reshuffle around him.


Tamago wrote:

It seems pretty clear to me that since the Mirror Image spell says it only affects attacks requiring an attack roll, and Magic Missile doesn't require an attack roll, the Magic Missiles would hit the real wizard and not disrupt any of the illusions.

There do seem to be some grey areas regarding things like the Barbarian readying an action to hit the wizard struck by the magic missiles, or cleaving through the illusions. I think the real answer here is that it comes down to what the GM rules on the matter.

And I think that the question the GM should ask him or herself is: Is this good for the game? Is it more fun to have the Barbarian Great Cleave through a bunch of illusions, or to have his attack fail because he chose the wrong target? Personally, I would probably vary my ruling depending on how often the Barbarian player got to use his Great Cleave that he spent two feats on (probably not very often), how difficult the fight was up to that point, how badly injured the Party is, etc.

Remember, the point is to have fun! The only way to lose is to not have a good time!

My objection to allowing the Barbarian to hit the mirror imaged caster is that the purpose of the spell is SPecifically for martial defense. If I was a player, and you allowed a barbarian to hit me, I would have to fight this.

There is a problem with applying logic to illogical spells. Spells are by their nature rules breaking. They give a benefit by bending a rule somewhere. In game I imagine magic just breaking physics.

If a spell offers a defense against a particular attack, I don't think exceptions should be allowed. As the GM ofcourse you can do whatever you want to the encounter, but doing that to a PC would surely cause an argument.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

Mournblade94 wrote:
Tamago wrote:

It seems pretty clear to me that since the Mirror Image spell says it only affects attacks requiring an attack roll, and Magic Missile doesn't require an attack roll, the Magic Missiles would hit the real wizard and not disrupt any of the illusions.

There do seem to be some grey areas regarding things like the Barbarian readying an action to hit the wizard struck by the magic missiles, or cleaving through the illusions. I think the real answer here is that it comes down to what the GM rules on the matter.

And I think that the question the GM should ask him or herself is: Is this good for the game? Is it more fun to have the Barbarian Great Cleave through a bunch of illusions, or to have his attack fail because he chose the wrong target? Personally, I would probably vary my ruling depending on how often the Barbarian player got to use his Great Cleave that he spent two feats on (probably not very often), how difficult the fight was up to that point, how badly injured the Party is, etc.

Remember, the point is to have fun! The only way to lose is to not have a good time!

My objection to allowing the Barbarian to hit the mirror imaged caster is that the purpose of the spell is SPecifically for martial defense. If I was a player, and you allowed a barbarian to hit me, I would have to fight this.

There is a problem with applying logic to illogical spells. Spells are by their nature rules breaking. They give a benefit by bending a rule somewhere. In game I imagine magic just breaking physics.

If a spell offers a defense against a particular attack, I don't think exceptions should be allowed. As the GM ofcourse you can do whatever you want to the encounter, but doing that to a PC would surely cause an argument.

The rules clearly allow great cleave to take out the illusions and possibly hit the caster, provided the fighter type rolls hits on each illusion up to the point where they hit the caster (and then the get to keep hitting remaining illusions). I have examined them carefully and neutrally.

The Exchange

what if he misses by less then 5 and hits an image? is that a hit or a miss?

on his second (and later) swings, does he have to randomly roll to see what image he hits?
so if he rolls and misses by 1 this hits an image,
so he rolls again and hits, the random roll says he hit the caster,
so he rolls again and hits, the random roll says he hit the caster again - this means he cleaved into the caster, from the caster after missing on his swing.... wow- this is a great feat! can I get mirror image cast on my all my melee targets?


Great Cleave wrote:


You can strike many adjacent foes with a single blow.

Prerequisites: Str 13, Cleave, Power Attack, base attack bonus +4.

Benefit: As a standard action, you can make a single attack at your full base attack bonus against a foe within reach. If you hit, you deal damage normally and can make an additional attack (using your full base attack bonus) against a foe that is adjacent to the previous foe and also within reach. If you hit, you can continue to make attacks against foes adjacent to the previous foe, so long as they are within your reach. You cannot attack an individual foe more than once during this attack action. When you use this feat, you take a –2 penalty to your Armor Class until your next turn.

The wizard is the only foe -- the images are not foes, simply copies of the foe -- as such you can't target the images with great cleave. What's more you can't target the wizard more than once because great cleave specifically states you can't.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

Abraham spalding wrote:
Great Cleave wrote:


You can strike many adjacent foes with a single blow.

Prerequisites: Str 13, Cleave, Power Attack, base attack bonus +4.

Benefit: As a standard action, you can make a single attack at your full base attack bonus against a foe within reach. If you hit, you deal damage normally and can make an additional attack (using your full base attack bonus) against a foe that is adjacent to the previous foe and also within reach. If you hit, you can continue to make attacks against foes adjacent to the previous foe, so long as they are within your reach. You cannot attack an individual foe more than once during this attack action. When you use this feat, you take a –2 penalty to your Armor Class until your next turn.

The wizard is the only foe -- the images are not foes, simply copies of the foe -- as such you can't target the images with great cleave. What's more you can't target the wizard more than once because great cleave specifically states you can't.

The images are also targets of the attack, A.K.A. foes. You don't actually target the images, the mirror image spell causes you to target the images.


moon glum wrote:


The images are also targets of the attack, A.K.A. foes. You don't actually target the images, the mirror image spell causes you to target the images.

No it doesn't -- you can't target the images -- you target the mage -- read the spell:

Quote:

This spell creates a number of illusory doubles of you that inhabit your square. These doubles make it difficult for enemies to precisely locate and attack you.

When mirror image is cast, 1d4 images plus one image per three caster levels (maximum eight images total) are created. These images remain in your space and move with you, mimicking your movements, sounds, and actions exactly. Whenever you are attacked or are the target of a spell that requires an attack roll, there is a possibility that the attack targets one of your images instead. If the attack is a hit, roll randomly to see whether the selected target is real or a figment. If it is a figment, the figment is destroyed. If the attack misses by 5 or less, one of your figments is destroyed by the near miss. Area spells affect you normally and do not destroy any of your figments. Spells and effects that do not require an attack roll affect you normally and do not destroy any of your figments. Spells that require a touch attack are harmlessly discharged if used to destroy a figment.

An attacker must be able to see the figments to be fooled. If you are invisible or the attacker is blind, the spell has no effect (although the normal miss chances still apply).

You never roll to hit the images -- you only roll to hit the mage -- if you hit the mage then you check and see if an image is hit.

So it's attack the mage -- if hit then check for image or not.

The images aren't foes, you can't target the images because they aren't foes, you can only target the mage, as such you cannot great cleave the images.

Liberty's Edge

If a wizard cast magic missile (5 missiles) against a wizard with 4 images, then I think all the combatants, including the caster of MM, would seem to see 25 missiles hit 5 targets - each target would appear to be hit by 5 missiles. The missiles would not be fooled by the images, but the caster of the missiles would be fooled. The mirror image caster and the 4 images would all react in exactly the same way.

At least, that's my thought. As anyone reading these messageboards can attest, I have often been wrong.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

Abraham spalding wrote:
moon glum wrote:


The images are also targets of the attack, A.K.A. foes. You don't actually target the images, the mirror image spell causes you to target the images.

No it doesn't -- you can't target the images -- you target the mage -- read the spell:

Quote:

This spell creates a number of illusory doubles of you that inhabit your square. These doubles make it difficult for enemies to precisely locate and attack you.

When mirror image is cast, 1d4 images plus one image per three caster levels (maximum eight images total) are created. These images remain in your space and move with you, mimicking your movements, sounds, and actions exactly. Whenever you are attacked or are the target of a spell that requires an attack roll, there is a possibility that the attack targets one of your images instead. If the attack is a hit, roll randomly to see whether the selected target is real or a figment. If it is a figment, the figment is destroyed. If the attack misses by 5 or less, one of your figments is destroyed by the near miss. Area spells affect you normally and do not destroy any of your figments. Spells and effects that do not require an attack roll affect you normally and do not destroy any of your figments. Spells that require a touch attack are harmlessly discharged if used to destroy a figment.

An attacker must be able to see the figments to be fooled. If you are invisible or the attacker is blind, the spell has no effect (although the normal miss chances still apply).

You never roll to hit the images -- you only roll to hit the mage -- if you hit the mage then you check and see if an image is hit.

So it's attack the mage -- if hit then check for image or not.

The images aren't foes, you can't target the images because they aren't foes, you can only target the mage, as such you cannot great cleave the images.

You are not reading the spell correctly. The spell clearly says that whenever the caster is targeted, there is a possibility that the attack targeted an image instead. If you hit the AC of the caster, you roll randomly to see if you targeted the caster, or an image. If you targeted an image (and hit), you can use great cleave to attack another target in reach. You try to target the caster. If you hit the caster's AC, you roll randomly to see what you really targeted. Etc.

The fighter might try to target the caster, but because of the mirror image spell they are rolling randomly to see what the actually targeted. It says that right in the spell description.


moon glum wrote:


You are not reading the spell correctly. The spell clearly says that whenever the caster is targeted, there is a possibility that the attack targeted an image instead. If you hit the AC of the caster, you roll randomly to see if you targeted the caster, or an image. If you targeted an image (and hit), you can use great cleave to attack another target in reach. You try to target the caster. If you hit the caster's AC, you roll randomly to see what you really targeted. Etc.

The fighter might try to target the caster, but because of the mirror image spell they are rolling randomly to see what the actually targeted. It says that right in the spell description.

You are not reading cleave correctly.

First of all an image is not a foe which is a requirement of cleave. An image is figment that looks like the foe, and cleave requires foes to activate not images so great cleave does not work. Swinging for the caster(foe) and hitting an image(not a foe) does not work.

Every time you swing you are going for the caster which is attacking him. The fact that you missed does not mean you did not attack him, and the feat states you can only attack a certain foe once per attack action.

prd wrote:

Great Cleave (Combat)

You can strike many adjacent foes with a single blow.

Prerequisites: Str 13, Cleave, Power Attack, base attack bonus +4.

Benefit: As a standard action, you can make a single attack at your full base attack bonus against a foe within reach. If you hit, you deal damage normally and can make an additional attack (using your full base attack bonus) against a foe that is adjacent to the previous foe and also within reach. If you hit, you can continue to make attacks against foes adjacent to the previous foe, so long as they are within your reach. You cannot attack an individual foe more than once during this attack action. When you use this feat, you take a –2 penalty to your Armor Class until your next turn.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

concerro wrote:
moon glum wrote:


You are not reading the spell correctly. The spell clearly says that whenever the caster is targeted, there is a possibility that the attack targeted an image instead. If you hit the AC of the caster, you roll randomly to see if you targeted the caster, or an image. If you targeted an image (and hit), you can use great cleave to attack another target in reach. You try to target the caster. If you hit the caster's AC, you roll randomly to see what you really targeted. Etc.

The fighter might try to target the caster, but because of the mirror image spell they are rolling randomly to see what the actually targeted. It says that right in the spell description.

You are not reading cleave correctly.

First of all an image is not a foe which is a requirement of cleave. An image is figment that looks like the foe, and cleave requires foes to activate not images so great cleave does not work. Swinging for the caster(foe) and hitting an image(not a foe) does not work.

Whatever is targeted is a foe. If this were not true, all sorts of silliness would ensue. For example, you could not use training dummies when using great cleave, because they are not truly combatants. Of you could use great cleave to detect illusions, just target the suspected illusion with great cleave, and if the DM does not allow it (because it is not truly a foe), you know its an illusion.

There is no formal definition of 'foe' in pathfinder. So it just means 'something you are fighting'. If you target it, you are fighting it, therefore it is a foe.


moon glum wrote:
concerro wrote:
moon glum wrote:


You are not reading the spell correctly. The spell clearly says that whenever the caster is targeted, there is a possibility that the attack targeted an image instead. If you hit the AC of the caster, you roll randomly to see if you targeted the caster, or an image. If you targeted an image (and hit), you can use great cleave to attack another target in reach. You try to target the caster. If you hit the caster's AC, you roll randomly to see what you really targeted. Etc.

The fighter might try to target the caster, but because of the mirror image spell they are rolling randomly to see what the actually targeted. It says that right in the spell description.

You are not reading cleave correctly.

First of all an image is not a foe which is a requirement of cleave. An image is figment that looks like the foe, and cleave requires foes to activate not images so great cleave does not work. Swinging for the caster(foe) and hitting an image(not a foe) does not work.

Whatever is targeted is a foe. If this were not true, all sorts of silliness would ensue. For example, you could not use training dummies when using great cleave, because they are not truly combatants. Of you could use great cleave to detect illusions, just target the suspected illusion with great cleave, and if the DM does not allow it (because it is not truly a foe), you know its an illusion.

There is no formal definition of 'foe' in pathfinder. So it just means 'something you are fighting'. If you target it, you are fighting it, therefore it is a foe.

Targeting something does not make it into a foe, any more than not targeting something makes it an ally. It makes it the target of the attack.

In the absence of a game-terms we go with the real life definition. If you look in the equipment section not everything is defined. Does that mean we just don't use those items?

You can swing at an illusion, but it is not a foe, and in most illusions you should get will save when your sword has no affect on it, but that has nothing to do with mirror image and cleave because mirror image says you must target a foe not the normal attack rules.

Now the rules don't cover every possible situation so it only makes sense that if a goblin has a clone(illusion) beside him that you get your will save.

PS: I got to thinking that this has to have come up before.

James Jacobs wrote:

I'll give it a shot, though...

The images created by mirror images shift and move about. You can't specifically target a single mirror image any more than you can specifically target the real thing that's protected by mirror image, and thus you wouldn't be able to use Cleave or Great Cleave or Whirlwind Attack to specifically target the images.

Mirror image does not grant you extra attacks if you use one of these feats. If you attack a target protected by mirror image while using Cleave, Great Cleave, or Whirlwind Attack, you interact with the spell in the same way as if you were just attacking a target with a normal attack.


moon glum wrote:

You are not reading the spell correctly. The spell clearly says that whenever the caster is targeted, there is a possibility that the attack targeted an image instead. If you hit the AC of the caster, you roll randomly to see if you targeted the caster, or an image. If you targeted an image (and hit), you can use great cleave to attack another target in reach. You try to target the caster. If you hit the caster's AC, you roll randomly to see what you really targeted. Etc.

The fighter might try to target the caster, but because of the mirror image spell they are rolling randomly to see what the actually targeted. It says that right in the spell description.

Where are you even getting that you can target the image independently?

Think about this -- you don't know which is the image therefore you can't pick the image to attack. Each image is the mage or at least the possibility of the mage. What's more you can't independently pick out an image -- if you could you would simply ignore the images as a whole and simply attack the mage!

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

Abraham spalding wrote:
moon glum wrote:

You are not reading the spell correctly. The spell clearly says that whenever the caster is targeted, there is a possibility that the attack targeted an image instead. If you hit the AC of the caster, you roll randomly to see if you targeted the caster, or an image. If you targeted an image (and hit), you can use great cleave to attack another target in reach. You try to target the caster. If you hit the caster's AC, you roll randomly to see what you really targeted. Etc.

The fighter might try to target the caster, but because of the mirror image spell they are rolling randomly to see what the actually targeted. It says that right in the spell description.

Where are you even getting that you can target the image independently?

Think about this -- you don't know which is the image therefore you can't pick the image to attack. Each image is the mage or at least the possibility of the mage. What's more you can't independently pick out an image -- if you could you would simply ignore the images as a whole and simply attack the mage!

You don't choose to target an image independently, the spell causes you to target either an image, or the real mage.

A quote from the spell:

"Whenever you are attacked or are the target of a spell that requires an attack roll, there is a possibility that the attack targets one of your images instead."

So if you roll that the spell causes you to roll such that the attack targets an image, it does, and that image is your foe. If you destroy the image, you can target another foe within range.


moon glum wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
moon glum wrote:

You are not reading the spell correctly. The spell clearly says that whenever the caster is targeted, there is a possibility that the attack targeted an image instead. If you hit the AC of the caster, you roll randomly to see if you targeted the caster, or an image. If you targeted an image (and hit), you can use great cleave to attack another target in reach. You try to target the caster. If you hit the caster's AC, you roll randomly to see what you really targeted. Etc.

The fighter might try to target the caster, but because of the mirror image spell they are rolling randomly to see what the actually targeted. It says that right in the spell description.

Where are you even getting that you can target the image independently?

Think about this -- you don't know which is the image therefore you can't pick the image to attack. Each image is the mage or at least the possibility of the mage. What's more you can't independently pick out an image -- if you could you would simply ignore the images as a whole and simply attack the mage!

You don't choose to target an image independently, the spell causes you to target either an image, or the real mage.

A quote from the spell:

"Whenever you are attacked or are the target of a spell that requires an attack roll, there is a possibility that the attack targets one of your images instead."

So if you roll that the spell causes you to roll such that the attack targets an image, it does, and that image is your foe. If you destroy the image, you can target another foe within range.

A figment is as much as enemy as the darkness from a darkness spell is since both are just spell affects. Would a GM allow you to attack the darkness for the purpose of cleave?

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

concerro wrote:
moon glum wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
moon glum wrote:

You are not reading the spell correctly. The spell clearly says that whenever the caster is targeted, there is a possibility that the attack targeted an image instead. If you hit the AC of the caster, you roll randomly to see if you targeted the caster, or an image. If you targeted an image (and hit), you can use great cleave to attack another target in reach. You try to target the caster. If you hit the caster's AC, you roll randomly to see what you really targeted. Etc.

The fighter might try to target the caster, but because of the mirror image spell they are rolling randomly to see what the actually targeted. It says that right in the spell description.

Where are you even getting that you can target the image independently?

Think about this -- you don't know which is the image therefore you can't pick the image to attack. Each image is the mage or at least the possibility of the mage. What's more you can't independently pick out an image -- if you could you would simply ignore the images as a whole and simply attack the mage!

You don't choose to target an image independently, the spell causes you to target either an image, or the real mage.

A quote from the spell:

"Whenever you are attacked or are the target of a spell that requires an attack roll, there is a possibility that the attack targets one of your images instead."

So if you roll that the spell causes you to roll such that the attack targets an image, it does, and that image is your foe. If you destroy the image, you can target another foe within range.

A figment is as much as enemy as the darkness from a darkness spell is since both are just spell affects. Would a GM allow you to attack the darkness for the purpose of cleave?

The 'great cleaver' can't intend to target an image, but the spell will cause the 'great cleaver' to target either an image, or the real caster. If it turns out that you didn't target the caster, great cleave allows you to target another target (foe) within reach, and since you haven't targeted the caster yet, you can try to target them. Of course, you might not roll that you did target the caster, and so target another image...


If you hit the image then you failed to hit your target (the mage) and therefore cannot swing again.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

Abraham spalding wrote:
If you hit the image then you failed to hit your target (the mage) and therefore cannot swing again.

But the mirror image spell specifically says that the target was not the mage, but an image.


moon glum wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
If you hit the image then you failed to hit your target (the mage) and therefore cannot swing again.
But the mirror image spell specifically says that the target was not the mage, but an image.

No it didn't -- it said if you hit the mage then you roll to see if an image was hit instead -- if something other than your target is hit you missed the target. By default if you hit something that isn't what you were aiming for then you didn't hit what you were aiming for.

You were aiming for the mage -- that's why you rolled to hit the mage, but you didn't succeed, you hit an image, therefore you failed to hit the mage.

Which means you are done making attacks against the mage with cleave and even more so against anyone else since you missed the target.

This is abundantly clear if you read the next sentence which states:

Quote:
If the attack is a hit, roll randomly to see whether the selected target is real or a figment. If it is a figment, the figment is destroyed. If the attack misses by 5 or less, one of your figments is destroyed by the near miss.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

Abraham spalding wrote:
moon glum wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
If you hit the image then you failed to hit your target (the mage) and therefore cannot swing again.
But the mirror image spell specifically says that the target was not the mage, but an image.
No it didn't -- it said if you hit the mage then you roll to see if an image was hit instead -- if something other than your target is hit you missed the target.

Here is the direct quote from the spell description.

"Whenever you are attacked or are the target of a spell that requires an attack roll, there is a possibility that the attack targets one of your images instead. If the attack is a hit, roll randomly to see whether the selected target is real or a figment. "

So, the selected target could have been a figment. It doesn't say that you targeted the mage, but hit the image. It says that you targeted the image.


Yes -- which wasn't your intended target -- as such you missed your intended target.


prd wrote:
Whenever you are attacked or are the target of a spell that requires an attack roll, there is a possibility that the attack targets one of your images instead.

In short if aim for the caster(that is who the "you") is referring to an image might be destroyed.

Aiming for an image does not destroy an image.

Now since the only way to destroy an image is to attack the caster, and you can only attack the caster once per the wording of the cleave feat then cleave does not work.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

Abraham spalding wrote:
Yes -- which wasn't your intended target -- as such you missed your intended target.

Intention does not have anything to do with what the target of the attack is. If the great cleave user hits the target of their attack, they can attack another (non-targeted) adjacent opponent. Since the caster was not, in fact, targeted, and since the caster is adjacent to their image, the great cleave user can try to target them. Of course the great cleave user might not end up targeting the caster due to the mirror image.


You roll to hit -- if you hit you roll to see if you hit the mage or the image -- if you hit the image you plainly did not hit a foe, if you do not hit a foe you don't get to swing again -- if you hit the foe you may not swing at him again.

In both cases you still don't get another swing.


moon glum wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
Yes -- which wasn't your intended target -- as such you missed your intended target.
Intention does not have anything to do with what the target of the attack is. If the great cleave user hits the target of their attack, they can attack another (non-targeted) adjacent opponent. Since the caster was not, in fact, targeted, and since the caster is adjacent to their image, the great cleave user can try to target them. Of course the great cleave user might not end up targeting the caster due to the mirror image.

If you attack the caster and miss then you still attacked the caster. Otherwise nothing happens since the spell is based off of attacking the caster. When the caster is attacked either he is hit or an image is popped.

If you miss the caster then you can't even target the images to get a result because the spell says when the caster is attacked a random roll is made to see who is hit.

If you hit the caster then cleave prevents you from targeting him again, and once again targeting an image gets no results.

Put another way: The spell states that to pop an image you must attack the caster so obviously the intent for the spell is to protect against attacks made against the caster.

In case you missed it:

Quote:
Whenever you are attacked or are the target of a spell that requires an attack roll, there is a possibility that the attack targets one of your images instead.

There is no way around that. It does not say when you or an image is aimed for/attacked. You may think we are being too literal, but if so just hit the FAQ button but I am sure you will get the same answer James Jacobs made.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

concerro wrote:
moon glum wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
Yes -- which wasn't your intended target -- as such you missed your intended target.
Intention does not have anything to do with what the target of the attack is. If the great cleave user hits the target of their attack, they can attack another (non-targeted) adjacent opponent. Since the caster was not, in fact, targeted, and since the caster is adjacent to their image, the great cleave user can try to target them. Of course the great cleave user might not end up targeting the caster due to the mirror image.

If you attack the caster and miss then you still attacked the caster. Otherwise nothing happens since the spell is based off of attacking the caster. When the caster is attacked either he is hit or an image is popped.

If you miss the caster then you can't even target the images to get a result because the spell says when the caster is attacked a random roll is made to see who is hit.

If you hit the caster then cleave prevents you from targeting him again, and once again targeting an image gets no results.

Put another way: The spell states that to pop an image you must attack the caster so obviously the intent for the spell is to protect against attacks made against the caster.

In case you missed it:

Quote:
Whenever you are attacked or are the target of a spell that requires an attack roll, there is a possibility that the attack targets one of your images instead.

There is no way around that. It does not say when you or an image is aimed for/attacked. You may think we are being too literal, but if so just hit the FAQ button but I am sure you will get the same answer James Jacobs made.

It does in fact say that the image is the target of the attack. The target of the attack is your foe. Therefore, if you hit the image, you can target something in reach that you didn't target.

Not only is this interpretation following the letter of rules, it is also the best for modeling the way the world should work. Fighters should be able to use their special training to take out mirror images. If there was a feat that let a body guard redirect an attack to target them instead of an adjacent ally, a fighter with cleave should be able to hit the bodyguard and cleave through into the original target.


lol... This sounds like the kind of merry-go-round discussions I have to listen to when I attend those meetings at work.

Magic Missile always hits the target, bypassing Mirror Image every time.

One cannot Cleave/Great Cleave an image. As stated above, you attack the caster by rolling your d20. If you score a hit, then roll d5 (or whatever) to determine if you hit the real caster or one of his images (for us 1 is ALWAYS the caster). If by chance you hit the real caster, then you can use Cleave to hit another enemy (say the enemy cleric) in an adjecent square. If you hit an image, you effectively miss the caster, but dispel one of his images. End of turn.

Ultradan


moon glum wrote:
concerro wrote:
moon glum wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
Yes -- which wasn't your intended target -- as such you missed your intended target.
Intention does not have anything to do with what the target of the attack is. If the great cleave user hits the target of their attack, they can attack another (non-targeted) adjacent opponent. Since the caster was not, in fact, targeted, and since the caster is adjacent to their image, the great cleave user can try to target them. Of course the great cleave user might not end up targeting the caster due to the mirror image.

If you attack the caster and miss then you still attacked the caster. Otherwise nothing happens since the spell is based off of attacking the caster. When the caster is attacked either he is hit or an image is popped.

If you miss the caster then you can't even target the images to get a result because the spell says when the caster is attacked a random roll is made to see who is hit.

If you hit the caster then cleave prevents you from targeting him again, and once again targeting an image gets no results.

Put another way: The spell states that to pop an image you must attack the caster so obviously the intent for the spell is to protect against attacks made against the caster.

In case you missed it:

Quote:
Whenever you are attacked or are the target of a spell that requires an attack roll, there is a possibility that the attack targets one of your images instead.

There is no way around that. It does not say when you or an image is aimed for/attacked. You may think we are being too literal, but if so just hit the FAQ button but I am sure you will get the same answer James Jacobs made.

It does in fact say that the image is the target of the attack. The target of the attack is your foe. Therefore, if you hit the image, you can target something in reach that you didn't target.

Not only is this interpretation following the letter of rules, it is also the best for...

The person you attack is the person you aim for. The fact that you miss them does not make it not an attack on them. If you have the blink spell up, and you "blink out" so the a spell I cast misses does that mean I did not attack you. Let's say I have the bouncing spell feat attached so it goes to one of your party members after missing you.

Dark Archive

You can think of Mirror image as a variant on blur, but with a variable miss rate.

At the lowest level you have just about an 83% chance to miss the target.

The big advantage to the attacker for mirror image is that it is easier to get rid of then blur (if you at least hit the casters AC or if you miss the caster AC by 5 or less, you lower the miss percentage).

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8

Ultradan wrote:

lol... This sounds like the kind of merry-go-round discussions I have to listen to when I attend those meetings at work.

Magic Missile always hits the target, bypassing Mirror Image every time.

One cannot Cleave/Great Cleave an image. As stated above, you attack the caster by rolling your d20. If you score a hit, then roll d5 (or whatever) to determine if you hit the real caster or one of his images (for us 1 is ALWAYS the caster). If by chance you hit the real caster, then you can use Cleave to hit another enemy (say the enemy cleric) in an adjecent square. If you hit an image, you effectively miss the caster, but dispel one of his images. End of turn.

Ultradan

The spell description doesn't say that you miss the caster. In fact, you have to score a hit. But if you roll bad, your hit didn't target the caster, it targeted something else. That means you can target the caster with a follow through attack if you have great cleave. That is what the spell description + rules for great cleave say.

Really the only argument that follows RAW that I can think of that would count against this would be to say that since the attacker first had to target the caster (before they attack got re-targeted), they can't target the caster again. That is a matter of interpretation, not RAW though. It could also be argued that the attack never had a chance to target the caster, and instead just represents the attacker picking the wrong target from the get-go. That actually makes more sense within the logic of the game world. After all, semantically, what you have is someone trying to pick from a mirrage of shifting images the right thing to attack. If they pick an image and hit, it follows that they could cleave into another target.

51 to 99 of 99 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Missile and Mirror Image All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions