Thoughts on Consecrated Weapons


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


Hi,

I was going through my copy of Adventurers Armory and spied the Consecrated Weapon channel foci.

Now I know at low levels channel to heal is good and at mid to high levels pretty much is lacking. What'smore for positive clerics- offensive channeling only works on Undead.

For a mere 150go extra, you can get a consecrated Weapon, prebuff it with a Channel and the weapon retains the energy until used or 24hrs.

When you strike a target (a here's the kicker, it appears to work on ANY target, Undead or not) they take 1/2 normal channel damage.

Now I know laying a 12d6 channel (10+Phalactary) into a 6d6 might seem ordinary but, I'm rating this a pretty good value for only 150gold. Especially for the higher levels when you stop bothering to channel at all.

At such a cheap price, there isn't much reason NOT to have it.


Sorry to say, you're incorrect in your understanding. See the bolded sections:

D20PFSRD:
Consecrated weapons may be of any type — swords, axes, masterwork, mithral, and even magical — and function appropriately. When activated, the cleric charges the weapon with positive or negative energy (as appropriate) so it deals extra damage when it hits a target. This functions like the Channel Smite feat, except the additional damage is equal to half the cleric’s channel energy damage (the target makes a Will save as normal, based on the cleric’s channel energy DC). The weapon remains charged with this energy until it successfully strikes a creature or 24 hours pass, whichever comes first. Creatures other than the cleric are able to use the charged weapon and this ability

So if you channel positive energy, you are charging the weapon with positive energy. Vice-versa for negative energy. Additionally, it looks like you have no control over whether or not the weapon releases the energy into the target, it simply releases the energy the first time it hits something.

Sczarni

I am gonna rez this thread up so I don't create another.

Some questions regarding consecrated weapon.

By default, it works as Channel Smite, but it only does half of the damage but nevertheless target receives Will save. Does this Will save halve already halved amount of damage if Will save is successful?

Can the weapon be recharged again?, it doesn't say anything about it. I am presuming yes.

Consecrated Weapon:
Consecrated weapons may be of any type — swords, axes, masterwork, mithral, and even magical — and function appropriately. When activated, the cleric charges the weapon with positive or negative energy (as appropriate) so it deals extra damage when it hits a target. This functions like the Channel Smite feat, except the additional damage is equal to half the cleric’s channel energy damage (the target makes a Will save as normal, based on the cleric’s channel energy DC). The weapon remains charged with this energy until it successfully strikes a creature or 24 hours pass, whichever comes first. Creatures other than the cleric are able to use the charged weapon and this ability.


Malag wrote:

I am gonna rez this thread up so I don't create another.

Some questions regarding consecrated weapon.

By default, it works as Channel Smite, but it only does half of the damage but nevertheless target receives Will save. Does this Will save halve already halved amount of damage if Will save is successful?

Can the weapon be recharged again?, it doesn't say anything about it. I am presuming yes.

** spoiler omitted **

1. Yes, if the target saves then the damage is actually 1/4 of the channel damage (half of the half)

2. The weapon can be recharged as a standard action by channeling energy (unless you use the Quick Channel feat to do it as a move action). This recharge can be done immediately after the held charge discharges, whether the discharge occurs from hitting a target or by hitting the 24-hour mark


I prefer the shield version. It lets you charge the shield for a +1 sacred bonus to AC.
So combined with extra channel it nets you a +1 AC for just a half feat.


Greetings

Sorry to "re-open" the board, but I came across some things I needed a clearup on regarding Consecrated weapon...

First off:
Me and my GM looked at this weapon upgrade, I asked her about "What if I charged the weapon at night, with my remaining channel of the day?" as it do say in description "...until it successfully strikes a creature or 24 hours pass, whichever comes first." but my GM said something like this - "In general, most effects usually disperse when resting to prepare new daily spells."

True or False? - regarding charging the weapon and then sleeping? or does the charge remain the 24 hours into the new day?

Also:
does the consecrated / sanctified work as a holy symbol, for OTHER purposes, than channel foci?

True or False?

Thanks for any responds, as this has been buggin me for some time.


Jenoan wrote:
True or False? - regarding charging the weapon and then sleeping? or does the charge remain the 24 hours into the new day?

The charge would last until it hit something or until 24 hours have passed from the exact time that you charged the weapon. So if you charge the weapon at 10pm and your spells/abilities reset at 10am then you will have all of your channels for that next day plus a charged weapon until 10pm.

Jenoan wrote:


Also:
does the consecrated / sanctified work as a holy symbol, for OTHER purposes, than channel foci?

True or False?

Since it doesn't say that it acts as such, I'd say no.


AerynTahlro wrote:
The charge would last until it hit something or until 24 hours have passed from the exact time that you charged the weapon. So if you charge the weapon at 10pm and your spells/abilities reset at 10am then you will have all of your channels for that next day plus a charged weapon until 10pm.

Thank you for clearing that up. Makes it even more useful <3

AerynTahlro wrote:
Since it doesn't say that it acts as such, I'd say no.

Hmm, that is sad to hear...

Though that is what my GM understood, and is rule'ing (for now) becourse of the text, found under channel Foci section;

"...A channel focus is a garment or other object that incorporates a holy or unholy symbol, and has a special power when a member of that symbol’s religion channels energy through it..."

This is part of the description, 3rd line from top. And this one:

"...The cleric can use the focus as a holy symbol (whether activated or not), though if it is a worn item rather than a held item she must touch the item with a free hand."

Which is part of the ending text... I might be wrong about the rule'ing though...

Thanks again for the reply!

Sovereign Court

I was wondering if you could channel smite though a charged consecrated weapon?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Thoughts on Consecrated Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion