Baron Hannis Drelev

Jenoan's page

Organized Play Member. 3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.


RSS


Sorry to Revive this old thread.

But I have been reading through it all, and by RAW, the rules seems pretty clear now.

But using logical explanations to try and prove what is buggin my mind...

As stated by SlimGauge, THIS post clearly state the use of enchanted weapons, losing their properties when used in "Unintended" ways, such as improvised combat.

But this sounds... Weird?

I mean, pick up a +1 flaming arrow.
Stab X random enemy with the arrow.
Arrow becomes an improvised melee weapon.
Even if the arrow head penetrate the targets skin, that burning arrow head, it does not burn X target?

I can understand, that if the arrow was thrown, the backside could hit and possibly be kinda "Pointless" with the enchant on the head. Or a weapon hilt hitting instead of said enchanted blade etc.

Yet, Mindblown by this fact - Does it really mean, that if you where to use the weapon in unintended way, all its function as a weapon is lost? If a weapon with returning, is thrown by a MotEH, it loses its ability to return? A Guided weapon, with a -MAGICAL ENCHANT- to use Wis instead of strength, no longer function, becourse the user, do not use it "As intended"?...

This confuses me.

I follow the rules, made by RAW or my Current GM, but I never back down from questioning, what seems to make no sense... Or that I just do not Understand yet.

Any feedback on this welcome, unless the feedback cannot help me understand the actually issue(s) mentioned above...


AerynTahlro wrote:
The charge would last until it hit something or until 24 hours have passed from the exact time that you charged the weapon. So if you charge the weapon at 10pm and your spells/abilities reset at 10am then you will have all of your channels for that next day plus a charged weapon until 10pm.

Thank you for clearing that up. Makes it even more useful <3

AerynTahlro wrote:
Since it doesn't say that it acts as such, I'd say no.

Hmm, that is sad to hear...

Though that is what my GM understood, and is rule'ing (for now) becourse of the text, found under channel Foci section;

"...A channel focus is a garment or other object that incorporates a holy or unholy symbol, and has a special power when a member of that symbol’s religion channels energy through it..."

This is part of the description, 3rd line from top. And this one:

"...The cleric can use the focus as a holy symbol (whether activated or not), though if it is a worn item rather than a held item she must touch the item with a free hand."

Which is part of the ending text... I might be wrong about the rule'ing though...

Thanks again for the reply!


Greetings

Sorry to "re-open" the board, but I came across some things I needed a clearup on regarding Consecrated weapon...

First off:
Me and my GM looked at this weapon upgrade, I asked her about "What if I charged the weapon at night, with my remaining channel of the day?" as it do say in description "...until it successfully strikes a creature or 24 hours pass, whichever comes first." but my GM said something like this - "In general, most effects usually disperse when resting to prepare new daily spells."

True or False? - regarding charging the weapon and then sleeping? or does the charge remain the 24 hours into the new day?

Also:
does the consecrated / sanctified work as a holy symbol, for OTHER purposes, than channel foci?

True or False?

Thanks for any responds, as this has been buggin me for some time.