| Dragonserpent |
| 8 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
"as an immediate action, a flowing monk can attempt a reposition or trip combat maneuver against a creature that the flowing monk threatens and that attacks him."
My question is, is there a limit to the number of times per day you can do this? Also, does this resolve before the attack? And if it does and you succeed at tripping and repositioning and sickening your opponent, do you interrupt their attack?
Thank you!
| Quandary |
i`m pretty sure it resolves BEFORE the triggering attack (of the opponent), or at least you have the CHOICE of before or after...
honestly, I can see why that isn`t clear, and and official FAQ probably would be good here.
assuming you resolve the reposition/trip before their attack (i.e. like an AoO),
their attack would be subject to any new penalties/conditions that they now suffer from:
so: penalty from sickened, penalty from prone (if applicable), and if they no longer threaten you (because of reposition)
they can`t actually make the attack anymore (although if they have a 5` step available, I think they could use it to move back into range).
| Dragonserpent |
no limit... besides the number of 6 second rounds that exist in a day.
i`m pretty sure it resolves BEFORE the triggering attack (of the opponent), or at least you have the CHOICE of before or after...
honestly, I can see why that isn`t clear, and and official FAQ probably would be good here.assuming you resolve the reposition/trip before their attack (i.e. like an AoO),
their attack would be subject to any new penalties/conditions that they now suffer from:
so: penalty from sickened, penalty from prone (if applicable), and if they no longer threaten you (because of reposition)
they can`t actually make the attack anymore (although if they have a 5` step available, I think they could use it to move back into range).
I read after the fact that "A flowing monk can use this ability once per day per monk level, but no more than once per round." Not to mention that an immediate action uses up your swift action for the round. I would certainly love to see an official FAQ answer the question of how it resolves. I would love to see a monk that flips an attacker on it's side while completely avoiding an attack. Add deflect arrows, and some crane style feats, and you're avoiding a lot of attacks pretty well. Take stand still, steady engagement, and improved and greater trip and you're set to go for a lock-down build.
| Archaeik |
This thread is roughly on topic for me.
Basically I'm wondering how this would interact with Snake Fang?
I'm adding in Greater Trip and Vicious Stomp as well
Going off this thread, Redirection is resolved before the attack, so...
Enemy declares attack (that is legal for a redirection)
Redirection attempt (trip)
AoO (if successful trip) (Gr Trip)
AoO (if falls prone) (Vicious Stomp)
Enemy finishes attack
AoO (if misses) (Snake Fang)
It would be nice if there was some clarification on if this ability does indeed resolve before the attack, because I'd think the general assumption is that actions are resolved after the trigger; and the only ability I know of that explicitly states otherwise is panther parry.