Jumping and attacking?


Rules Questions

51 to 64 of 64 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Howie23 wrote:
Abrisene wrote:

Ready to attack when within reach as a Standard, jump as a Move.

You can move before a ready. You cannot ready a move and a ready; it's one or the other. If you are proposing a jump into mid air and then ready to attack if on reach, I'm gonna suggest this is why 3.5 had the rule that your next action if ending in mid-air must be a move. I think it would be great for aLoony Tunes or Roger Rabbit style game, though.

You ready an attack as a Standard action, then Move action to jump at the target; the Move action is not readied. Your attack takes place when you get within range, but interrupts the falling component that would happen if you tried to Move first then take a Standard. In essence, you interrupt yourself.

You can use a similar effect to give yourself a more self endangering Spring Attack. Ready to attack when within range, then Move towards then away from the target provoking opp.attacks along the way.

Quote:

http://www.dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Jump_Skill (3.5)

Action

None. A Jump check is included in your movement, so it is part of a move action. If you run out of movement mid-jump, your next action (either on this turn or, if necessary, on your next turn) must be a move action to complete the jump.

The attack is counted as occurring before the action that triggered it, the jump, so at most you would need to take a Move action on the next round to land.


Happler wrote:
there is no citation (I may just be house ruling). you fall (per the book)at least 500' per round (thus any fall of less then 500' does not offer you enough time to cast anything other then an immediate action spell). Per my reading of the book, falling 20' would be an immediate action that would happen once your attack was done.

Please do not tout this as RAW. RAW is very explict on the restrictions you have while falling. It is only concerned with spellcasting not using actions to perform tasks in general. I presume this is because of concentration issues.

PRD - Core - Environment - Falling wrote:
A character cannot cast a spell while falling, unless the fall is greater than 500 feet or the spell is an immediate action, such as feather fall. Casting a spell while falling requires a concentration check with a DC equal to 20 + the spell's level. Casting teleport or a similar spell while falling does not end your momentum, it just changes your location, meaning that you still take falling damage, even if you arrive atop a solid surface.

I bring this up because many are under the misconception this limiter applies to all tasks.

Dark Archive

Stynkk wrote:
Happler wrote:
there is no citation (I may just be house ruling). you fall (per the book)at least 500' per round (thus any fall of less then 500' does not offer you enough time to cast anything other then an immediate action spell). Per my reading of the book, falling 20' would be an immediate action that would happen once your attack was done.

Please do not tout this as RAW. RAW is very explict on the restrictions you have while falling. It is only concerned with spellcasting not using actions to perform tasks in general. I presume this is because of concentration issues.

PRD - Core - Environment - Falling wrote:
A character cannot cast a spell while falling, unless the fall is greater than 500 feet or the spell is an immediate action, such as feather fall. Casting a spell while falling requires a concentration check with a DC equal to 20 + the spell's level. Casting teleport or a similar spell while falling does not end your momentum, it just changes your location, meaning that you still take falling damage, even if you arrive atop a solid surface.

I bring this up because many are under the misconception this limiter applies to all tasks.

I did not, I even state that I may just be house ruling. To me it just seems a logical thing.

Heck, the rules have a lot of blanks when it comes to falling and actions. So, for the most part, it is up to the GM's.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Seems pretty logical to me that falling is a non-action. The standard action happens at the same time you start falling.

Liberty's Edge

Abrisene wrote:
Howie23 wrote:
Abrisene wrote:

Ready to attack when within reach as a Standard, jump as a Move.

You can move before a ready. You cannot ready a move and a ready; it's one or the other. If you are proposing a jump into mid air and then ready to attack if on reach, I'm gonna suggest this is why 3.5 had the rule that your next action if ending in mid-air must be a move. I think it would be great for aLoony Tunes or Roger Rabbit style game, though.
You ready an attack as a Standard action, then Move action to jump at the target; the Move action is not readied. Your attack takes place when you get within range, but interrupts the falling component that would happen if you tried to Move first then take a Standard. In essence, you interrupt yourself.

The text for readied actions do not permit you to trigger your own readied action: "You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition."

So, you ready the action to attack. You can then take that action before your next action. By moving, the readied action is voided, since it has to happen before your next action.

Quote:
You can use a similar effect to give yourself a more self endangering Spring Attack. Ready to attack when within range, then Move towards then away from the target provoking opp.attacks along the way.

Can't be done for the same reason as above.

Quote:

http://www.dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Jump_Skill (3.5)

Action

None. A Jump check is included in your movement, so it is part of a move action. If you run out of movement mid-jump, your next action (either on this turn or, if necessary, on your next turn) must be a move action to complete the jump.

The attack is counted as occurring before the action that triggered it, the jump, so at most you would need to take a Move action on the next round to land.

The necessity of making a move as your next action if you finish a jump mid-air was already cited by me above. While I think it's a good idea to include in PF, the rule doesn't exist in PF. You've cited a source for SRD 3.5, and the PF rules do not include the text.

The attack would take place before the action that triggered it; it isn't just counted as such, meaning the attack takes place before you would move. But it's moot; the readied attack has to take place before your next action, so you can't trigger it yourself.

Readied actions, effectively, end your turn.


Howie23 wrote:
The text for readied actions do not permit you to trigger your own readied action: "You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition.

Touche, I had read that to mean that the readied action must occur before your next turn.


Ravingdork wrote:
Involuntary movement does not provoke except for very rare circumstances (such as from certain Greater [maneuver] feats).

Wrong. You are mis-reading the rules and making up your own short-hand.

Greater Maneuvers say they allow the movement to provoke. That isn't a modification of the GENERAL rule, that is a modification of the SPECIFIC rules for non-Greater Bullrush that says such movement doesn't provoke... Which wouldn't be necessary if there was a GENERAL rule that says non-voluntary movement doesn't provoke. Simple fact is there is no such rule exempting non-voluntary movement from provoking (except the SPECIFIC cases of non-Greater Bullrush and similar abilities).

Re: Acrobatics during falling, I don't think it applies... YOU have to be moving, and the DC is based on your Movement rate... If you have already used up your movement, you aren't actually doing this movement so you shouldn't be able to use Acrobatics... If you have spare movement/move action available, and the 'falling' distance is within that limit, then I think it's reasonable to use Acrobatics, but only when your own actions can cover this movement distance. To read otherwise would suggest that anybody Bullrushed via Greater Bullrush can use Acrobatics to avoid AoOs, which I don't believe is allowed at all.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Quandary wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
Involuntary movement does not provoke except for very rare circumstances (such as from certain Greater [maneuver] feats).
Wrong. You are mis-reading the rules and making up your own short-hand.

It's very possible my statement isn't RAW, but it is most certainly backed up by the game developers as RAI.


If you're capable of jumping 60 feet into the air, does this mean you're taking fall damage? I was under the impression that if your muscles and abilities could propel you that far, the physics says you can also withstand the landing. Would magic items alter that? A monks high jumper + ki pool? A level 10 ninja with High Jumper and haste could jump 60 feet straight up fairly easily as a DC 60 jump.

Edit: Necro.


Jumping and falling are two different things.

Jumping is a controlled action, falling is without control. As example use cliff jumper .. they jump from a 150feet cliff without damage if they do it right. Falling this distance will kill or hurt you..


Someone before quoted ending turns in illegal positions.
It states there that after you end your turn, the movement to a legal position is resolved. I would read that you can jump, attack and then fall back.
Its the same logic as you can jump, hold yourself somewhere on a wall or tree using the climb skill maybe.

Just to shock some people here, i tell you what my ninja does:

Having one ki point in her ki pool, she is always considered having a running start and after level 10 all acrobatics DC´s are halved.
Now a halfling with boots of striding and springing has 30' speed and +5 on acrobatics with a +2 racial bonus. On level 12 she has 10 ranks and a DEX of 5 and its a class skill what makes for an overall of 25.
Look at the acrobatics tables and see yourself what you can do with this. I would say monks are not much worse. After all, these classes are modelled after eastern movies where people glide from one tree to another and stand on bamboo straints.

Now acrobatics says this:
Finally, you can use the Acrobatics skill to make jumps or to soften a fall. The base DC to make a jump is equal to the distance to be crossed (if horizontal) or four times the height to be reached (if vertical). These DCs double if you do not have at least 10 feet of space to get a running start. The only Acrobatics modifiers that apply are those concerning the surface you are jumping from. If you fail this check by 4 or less, you can attempt a DC 20 Reflex save to grab hold of the other side after having missed the jump. If you fail by 5 or more, you fail to make the jump and fall (or land prone, in the case of a vertical jump).

Falling: When you deliberately fall any distance, even as a result of a missed jump, a DC 15 Acrobatics skill check allows you to ignore the first 10 feet fallen, although you still end up prone if you take damage from a fall. See Falling Damage for more details.)

Bold mine.

It doesnt say you can´t attack after a jump. Just meet the DC and you are fine. But since you don´t land anywhere, you really fall, especially if jumping higher than 10' which results in landing prone eventually. Now monks have slow fall and other abilities, while ninjas can use feather fall as a ninja trick. Why do you think those abilities exist?

What´s the difference from spring attack?
Very simple. Spring attack is primarily on vertical ground, you go in, attack, go out. Walk, run or jump doesn´t matter. Ok maybe jump gets you attacking from higher ground. Attacking someone above you is different however, since you jump up and then fall. Your controlled movement ends in mid air. For falling save you have to use a different ability and make an acrobatics check to get there.

There could be an argument that if the jumping and falling distance is all in your base speed, you could count it as controlled movement all together, especially with the spring attack feat.


I'm more asking about what would happen to your ninja if you took the acrobatic master and the high jumper ninja trick. With your 25 skill + 20 acrobatic master is a 45 foot high jump before the d20. Does this mean that you have the ability to land safely since you can jump that high, or is there now a feat tax to get featherfall or a ring or however. Just seems that if they're going to let the ninja jump that high, they'd be able to land safely. Jumping is a controlled action. Jumping is also the full act of going up and then down. This is why not landing a jump leads to painful falls.


If you beat the jump DC you will land safely. If you dont beat the DC you will fall..

Quote:

... If you fail by 5 or more, you fail to make the jump and fall (or land prone, in the case of a vertical jump).

And no .. you are not safe if you are falling 60f. Use the normal falling damage rules (with acrobatics modification).

Its a game..


Note that no jump allows you to exceed your maximum movement for the round.

I guess that answers the OP´s question.
Jumping allows attacks and safe landings. Monks and ninjas can do it way better than the rest, some rogues with the right rogue talents maybe too.

And yes, ninjas with acrobatic master and the high jumper ninja trick are kind of a overkill somehow. Before level 10 its still ok, you just can do amazing stunts and jumps you could normally only do later, but after level 10 it gets really ridiculous. Or maybe you don´t need to set ranks in acrobatics this way. Before level 10 you have halfed DC and +20 on your jump, after level 10 its only 1/4 DC +20 on your jump. Like the force jumps in Star Wars.

That means if you put one point in acrobatics as a class skill you automatically succeed to jump 8' high. Since you need to roll at least a 2, you can jump 9' high with only one rank in acrobatics and no DEX bonus from level 4 on. If you put 4 skillranks in it, but without DEX, the highest possible jump would be 20' on level 4.

With those two feats my character could high jump 43' from standing on a 2. Highest would be 63'. Thats about 20m, whats really ridiculous, but then, its in the WuXia game area.

51 to 64 of 64 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Jumping and attacking? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.