BAB and TWF


Rules Questions


Ok, here's my question:

Let's take a rogue for example. At level 7 a Rogue's BAB is +5. So if he has the TWF feat and is using a light weapon on his off-hand, he can make two attacks (full round action), at +3/+3, right?

At level 8 his BAB is +6/+1. This's where my question lands. He'll be able to make full-round attacks at +4/+4/-1/-1? Or would it be +4/+4/+1?

Thanks in advance, and sorry of this is stupid :D


Devilstrider wrote:

Ok, here's my question:

Let's take a rogue for example. At level 7 a Rogue's BAB is +5. So if he has the TWF feat and is using a light weapon on his off-hand, he can make two attacks (full round action), at +3/+3, right?

At level 8 his BAB is +6/+1. This's where my question lands. He'll be able to make full-round attacks at +4/+4/-1/-1? Or would it be +4/+4/+1?

Thanks in advance, and sorry of this is stupid :D

He is at +4/+4/-1 until he gets ITWF which if he used a rogue talent this level would make it +4/+4/-1/-1


Talonhawke wrote:


He is at +4/+4/-1 until he gets ITWF which if he used a rogue talent this level would make it +4/+4/-1/-1

Talon is spot on. You don't gain extra attacks for your off hand as your BAB gets higher. The only way to get more off-hand attacks is to take the other feats in the TWF tree.


I think its supposed to be +4/-1 main hand (two attacks)
+4 off hand
thats with no mods(str) adjusted down from +6/+1 BAB with two weapon fighting and two light weapons. thats what hero lab told me anyway....
dont know if that helps.
double ninja'd


And w/o the ITWF feat, could he opt to make two attacks using only the second BAB? Like +6/-1/-1?

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Devilstrider wrote:
And w/o the ITWF feat, could he opt to make two attacks using only the second BAB? Like +6/-1/-1?

You mean only apply TWF penalties to two of his three attacks? No:

Combat: Two-Weapon Fighting wrote:
If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon. You suffer a –6 penalty with your regular attack or attacks with your primary hand and a –10 penalty to the attack with your off hand when you fight this way.


No, it's more like "I missed my first attack, so in my second attack I'll try hitting with my two weapons". So if his BAB is +6/+1, he'd only apply it to two attacks at his +1 BAB, thus resulting in +6(failed)/-1/-1.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Devilstrider wrote:
No, it's more like "I missed my first attack, so in my second attack I'll try hitting with my two weapons". So if his BAB is +6/+1, he'd only apply it to two attacks at his +1 BAB, thus resulting in +6(failed)/-1/-1.

Hmm... I think I remember reading somewhere that, due to TWF affecting all your attacks, you have to choose whether or not to go into that "mode" before your first attack (despite normally being able to make your first attack before deciding whether or not it's a full attack, when you're not TWFing). But I'm afraid I don't know where I saw that.

Anyone know what I'm talking about?


skrahen wrote:

I think its supposed to be +4/-1 main hand (two attacks)

+4 off hand
thats with no mods(str) adjusted down from +6/+1 BAB with two weapon fighting and two light weapons. thats what hero lab told me anyway....
dont know if that helps.
double ninja'd

A small point.

You need to take the attacks in order of BAB.

That means you can take either the +4 (main) or +4 (off) first.

Then you take the other.

And third you'd take the -1 (main).

It's just when it's written in stats that it gets listed as if it might be different and that can cause confusion,

James


Jiggy wrote:
Devilstrider wrote:
No, it's more like "I missed my first attack, so in my second attack I'll try hitting with my two weapons". So if his BAB is +6/+1, he'd only apply it to two attacks at his +1 BAB, thus resulting in +6(failed)/-1/-1.

Hmm... I think I remember reading somewhere that, due to TWF affecting all your attacks, you have to choose whether or not to go into that "mode" before your first attack (despite normally being able to make your first attack before deciding whether or not it's a full attack, when you're not TWFing). But I'm afraid I don't know where I saw that.

Anyone know what I'm talking about?

If you are an old fart, like myself, it will probably be from Rules of the Game for 3.5

As a choice that affects all attacks the choice to use twf must be made before the first attack.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

David Thomassen wrote:

If you are an old fart, like myself, it will probably be from Rules of the Game for 3.5

As a choice that affects all attacks the choice to use twf must be made before the first attack.

Alas, I am not old (being a fart is up for debate). No, it would've been something I saw on these here messageboards - I'm thinking a Paizo person chiming in on it. But I can't think of who, and I have no idea how to go about looking for it. :P


Jiggy wrote:
Alas, I am not old (being a fart is up for debate). No, it would've been something I saw on these here messageboards - I'm thinking a Paizo person chiming in on it. But I can't think of who, and I have no idea how to go about looking for it. :P

What you're thinking is that TWF is a Full-Round Action. Therefore, if you want the option to TWF you have to use the Full Attack action with TWF declared from the start.

Thus, the penalties are included on the first attack. If you did not declare the penalties/intentions to use TWF, you cannot apply it after.

Full Round Actions

Full Attack
If you get more than one attack per round because your base attack bonus is high enough (see Base Attack Bonus in Classes), because you fight with two weapons or a double weapon, or for some special reason, you must use a full-round action to get your additional attacks. You do not need to specify the targets of your attacks ahead of time. You can see how the earlier attacks turn out before assigning the later ones.

Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack
After your first attack, you can decide to take a move action instead of making your remaining attacks, depending on how the first attack turns out and assuming you have not already taken a move action this round. If you've already taken a 5-foot step, you can't use your move action to move any distance, but you could still use a different kind of move action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / BAB and TWF All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions