Probably Stupid Question About Animal Attacks


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

So, I've checked both the core rulebook and the bestiary trying to find something to settle this, but I can't, so I'll just ask you guys.

In the bestiary, several monsters (mainly animals) have a melee attack that is listed as 2 Claws/2 Talons/2 etc. followed by the damage. Example:

Ape, Dire
N Large Animal
Melee bite +6 (1d6+4), 2 claws +6 (1d4+4)

Now, in these instances, does that mean that each claw is doing 1d4+4 or the two claws combined do that amount of damage?


Lv20Commoner wrote:

So, I've checked both the core rulebook and the bestiary trying to find something to settle this, but I can't, so I'll just ask you guys.

In the bestiary, several monsters (mainly animals) have a melee attack that is listed as 2 Claws/2 Talons/2 etc. followed by the damage. Example:

Ape, Dire
N Large Animal
Melee bite +6 (1d6+4), 2 claws +6 (1d4+4)

Now, in these instances, does that mean that each claw is doing 1d4+4 or the two claws combined do that amount of damage?

Each claw does 1d4+4.


Also remember he needs to full-attack in order to get all three of those.

If he's attacking as a standard action, he can use bite, or one of his claws.

Grand Lodge

Grick wrote:

Also remember he needs to full-attack in order to get all three of those.

If he's attacking as a standard action, he can use bite, or one of his claws.

Thanks. I'd thought three attacks was a bit overpowered for some of these CRs (and 1st Level Animal Companions), but yeah, if the animal has to take a full round action to do it, that makes a lot more sense.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Probably Stupid Question About Animal Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions