The safe use of wands


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

It's pretty sweet that activating a wand doesn't provoke an AoO. Problem is, whipping it out in the first place DOES.

At least, so it seems. Retrieving a "stored" item provokes. I assume this refers to items in a backpack.

In a recent game, the GM told me that there's a spring-loaded wrist sheath that you can load with your wand of choice and pop it out as a swift action without provoking.

But surely there's a less... exotic option for safe wand retrieval? I mean, it's shaped very much like a dagger, rapier, arrow, etc. All of those have containers (sheaths, quivers, etc) from which you can draw them without provoking. Surely it's not too far-fetched to have a simple leather "wand sheath" or belt loop so you could do the same thing, is it?

Does such a thing already exist and I just haven't seen it? Should I already be treating drawing a wand as "drawing a weapon" instead of "retrieving a stored item"?

If I were running a home game, I'd houserule belt loops or something that would allow non-provoking draws of wands. But what are my options by the book, for PFS?


Jiggy wrote:

It's pretty sweet that activating a wand doesn't provoke an AoO. Problem is, whipping it out in the first place DOES.

At least, so it seems. Retrieving a "stored" item provokes. I assume this refers to items in a backpack.

In a recent game, the GM told me that there's a spring-loaded wrist sheath that you can load with your wand of choice and pop it out as a swift action without provoking.

But surely there's a less... exotic option for safe wand retrieval? I mean, it's shaped very much like a dagger, rapier, arrow, etc. All of those have containers (sheaths, quivers, etc) from which you can draw them without provoking. Surely it's not too far-fetched to have a simple leather "wand sheath" or belt loop so you could do the same thing, is it?

Does such a thing already exist and I just haven't seen it? Should I already be treating drawing a wand as "drawing a weapon" instead of "retrieving a stored item"?

If I were running a home game, I'd houserule belt loops or something that would allow non-provoking draws of wands. But what are my options by the book, for PFS?

There's a spring loaded wrist sheathe from the Adventure's Armory that allows you to pull out a wand as a free action (as long as the had is free). It's PFS legal as long as you have the book (or page printed from a legal PDF).

Sovereign Court

Jiggy wrote:

It's pretty sweet that activating a wand doesn't provoke an AoO. Problem is, whipping it out in the first place DOES.

At least, so it seems. Retrieving a "stored" item provokes. I assume this refers to items in a backpack.

In a recent game, the GM told me that there's a spring-loaded wrist sheath that you can load with your wand of choice and pop it out as a swift action without provoking.

But surely there's a less... exotic option for safe wand retrieval? I mean, it's shaped very much like a dagger, rapier, arrow, etc. All of those have containers (sheaths, quivers, etc) from which you can draw them without provoking. Surely it's not too far-fetched to have a simple leather "wand sheath" or belt loop so you could do the same thing, is it?

Does such a thing already exist and I just haven't seen it? Should I already be treating drawing a wand as "drawing a weapon" instead of "retrieving a stored item"?

If I were running a home game, I'd houserule belt loops or something that would allow non-provoking draws of wands. But what are my options by the book, for PFS?

Efficient Quiver in the core rules book, put your wands in the arrow "slot".

Eficient Quiver
Aura moderate conjuration; CL 9th
Slot —; Price 1,800 gp; Weight 2 lbs.
Description
This appears to be a typical arrow container capable of holding
about 20 arrows. It has three distinct portions, each with a
nondimensional space allowing it to store far more than would
normally be possible. The first and smallest one can contain up
to 60 objects of the same general size and shape as an arrow. The
second slightly longer compartment holds up to 18 objects of the
same general size and shape as a javelin. The third and longest
portion of the case contains as many as 6 objects of the same
general size and shape as a bow (spears, staffs, or the like). Once
the owner has filled it, the quiver can quickly produce any item
she wishes that is within the quiver, as if from a regular quiver or
scabbard. The efficient quiver weighs the same no matter what’s
placed inside it.
Construction
Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, secret chest; Cost 900 gp

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Sniggevert wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
In a recent game, the GM told me that there's a spring-loaded wrist sheath that you can load with your wand of choice and pop it out as a swift action without provoking.
There's a spring loaded wrist sheathe from the Adventure's Armory that allows you to pull out a wand as a free action (as long as the had is free). It's PFS legal as long as you have the book (or page printed from a legal PDF).

...Thanks? I guess?


Jiggy wrote:

It's pretty sweet that activating a wand doesn't provoke an AoO. Problem is, whipping it out in the first place DOES.

At least, so it seems. Retrieving a "stored" item provokes. I assume this refers to items in a backpack.

In a recent game, the GM told me that there's a spring-loaded wrist sheath that you can load with your wand of choice and pop it out as a swift action without provoking.

But surely there's a less... exotic option for safe wand retrieval? I mean, it's shaped very much like a dagger, rapier, arrow, etc. All of those have containers (sheaths, quivers, etc) from which you can draw them without provoking. Surely it's not too far-fetched to have a simple leather "wand sheath" or belt loop so you could do the same thing, is it?

Does such a thing already exist and I just haven't seen it? Should I already be treating drawing a wand as "drawing a weapon" instead of "retrieving a stored item"?

If I were running a home game, I'd houserule belt loops or something that would allow non-provoking draws of wands. But what are my options by the book, for PFS?

The only option is the wand sheath. A wand is not drawn like a weapon.


Handy Haversack wrote:

While such storage is useful enough, the pack has an even greater power. When the wearer reaches into it for a specific item, that item is always on top. Thus, no digging around and fumbling is ever necessary to find what a haversack contains. Retrieving any specific item from a haversack is a move action, but it does not provoke the attacks of opportunity that retrieving a stored item usually does.

Just keep all your wands in your haversack.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Khuldar wrote:
Handy Haversack wrote:

While such storage is useful enough, the pack has an even greater power. When the wearer reaches into it for a specific item, that item is always on top. Thus, no digging around and fumbling is ever necessary to find what a haversack contains. Retrieving any specific item from a haversack is a move action, but it does not provoke the attacks of opportunity that retrieving a stored item usually does.

Just keep all your wands in your haversack.

Drat. I was hoping for a low-level option. Gonna be a while before I can buy one of those (in PFS).


wraithstrike wrote:


The only option is the wand sheath. A wand is not drawn like a weapon.

This is incorrect. They might have changed the Quickdraw feat in PF, but they didn't change the normal rules.

Quote:


Draw or Sheathe a Weapon

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.

Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action.

Now there is a difference between having a bunch of wands in your backpack and having wands accessible (say on a belt).

Being able to draw them (rather than root through your backpack for it) is one aspect, the other side of the coin is that something that's accessible can be readily targeted (for sundering, theft, etc).

-James


james maissen wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:


The only option is the wand sheath. A wand is not drawn like a weapon.

This is incorrect. They might have changed the Quickdraw feat in PF, but they didn't change the normal rules.

Quote:


Draw or Sheathe a Weapon

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.

Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action.

Now there is a difference between having a bunch of wands in your backpack and having wands accessible (say on a belt).

Being able to draw them (rather than root through your backpack for it) is one aspect, the other side of the coin is that something that's accessible can be readily targeted (for sundering, theft, etc).

-James

I did now know wands counted as weapon like objects. I wish I had know that before.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Shazam! James, you're my new hero!


Have an Unseen Servant carrying around a case of wands who hands you one.

Or, if you only have a limited number of wands, just keep them in hand.

Take a few moments before you start adventuring to tell the GM you create a wrist loop and hang your wands off it. That might be hard in PFS play though, don't know how much a GM is allowed to really improvise things like that.

Gloves of storing could also work.


james maissen wrote:
Being able to draw them (rather than root through your backpack for it) is one aspect, the other side of the coin is that something that's accessible can be readily targeted (for sundering, theft, etc).

Not necessarily. You could clip wands inside a shield and they wouldn't be stealable or sunderable. I believe this was done with darts in late Roman armies.


Atarlost wrote:
james maissen wrote:
Being able to draw them (rather than root through your backpack for it) is one aspect, the other side of the coin is that something that's accessible can be readily targeted (for sundering, theft, etc).
Not necessarily. You could clip wands inside a shield and they wouldn't be stealable or sunderable. I believe this was done with darts in late Roman armies.

I always kept things simple- accessible means accessible, hidden means hidden, and stowed is stowed.

-James

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / The safe use of wands All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions