Two-weapon fighing question


Rules Questions


My understanding of two-weapon fighting is that it gives you an extra attack with an off-hand weapon with a penalty. However, if someone were to already have two attacks due to BAB (+6/+1) , they could potentially make each attack of a full attack with different weapons, even without two-weapon fighting. The only thing TWF granting you being the extra attack (which would make it +4/+4/-1).

Is my interpretation correct? Could an 11th-level fighter wielding, say, a two-bladed sword without two-weapon fighting make two attacks with one end, and one with the other, in order to get differing bonuses/effects on the attacks?

The reason I ask is because I have a player who wants to dual-wield a temple sword and a quarterstaff as a monk, using Quarterstaff mastery to make it a one-handed weapon. His plan is to have the sword and both ends of the quarterstaff enchanted with different abilities, so that he can make a full attack with three separate effects. He won't be gaining any extra attacks other than those attained through flurry-of-blows. He just wants to make each attack a different weapon, essentially. I don't see a problem with this, since the general concept of FoB when unarmed is that you're using all your body parts to damage the enemy, so replacing each body part with a weapon seems plausible (you could use two swords and a pair of blade boots, for example). Just wondering on the official ruling.

...Catch Phrase,

-Chris


Don't confuse dual wielding (the status) with two weapon fighting (the feat).

You can always wield two weapons (assuming you have enough hands for using them both at the same time, of course)... taking a -6/-10 penalty (or -4/-8 if holding a ligt weapon in the off-hand). So, in your example, the BAB 6 character would go from +6/+1 to +0/-5 (primary) / -4 (secondary)... or to +2/-3 (p) / -2 (s), if the off hand has a light weapon.

All the Feat Two weapon fighting does is to alleviate the penalty from -6/-10 to -4/-4 (2 less is the off-hand weapon is light)

Now, as for the Quarterstaff Master... the rules make it clear that 'you cannot use the Quarterstaff as a double weapon if using it one-handed'- So, no using both ends when using another weapon at the same time. Of course, you can 'change ends' between rounds...

Plus, please keep in mind that neither the Quarterstaff nor the Temple Sword are light weapons, so even with the TWF Feat, you're facing a -4 on all attack rolls, and a hefty -6 / -10 without it.

And, I am sad to say, there is no easy way to 'split' your iterative attack pattern between two weapons... a character with a flaming and a shocking dagger and a +12/+7/+2 attack pattern can either use the +12/+7/+2 routine for either of the blades, or opt for a +8/+3/-2 with one weapon and a single +4 with the other (+10/+5/+0 and +10 if using TWF). Any attempt at +12(flaming)/+7(shocking)/+2(flaming) or the like would require special class features or Feats.


Midnight_Angel wrote:


Now, as for the Quarterstaff Master... the rules make it clear that 'you cannot use the Quarterstaff as a double weapon if using it one-handed'- So, no using both ends when using another weapon at the same time. Of course, you can 'change ends' between rounds.

Does Quaterstaff Master say what type of action(move, swift, &c) changing ends is?

I know a monk can drop a ki to get an extra swift action.


Quarterstaff Master Feat wrote:
Benefit: By employing a number of different stances and techniques, you can wield a quarterstaff as a one-handed weapon. At the start of your turn, you decide whether or not you are going to wield the quarterstaff as a one-handed or two-handed weapon. When you wield it as a one-handed weapon, your other hand is free, and you cannot use the staff as a double weapon. You can take the feat Weapon Specialization in the quarterstaff even if you have no levels in fighter.

So, the decision of one- or two handed appears to be on a round-by-round basis, costing no action

PRD wrote:

Double Weapons: Dire flails, dwarven urgroshes, gnome hooked hammers, orc double axes, quarterstaves, and two-bladed swords are double weapons. A character can fight with both ends of a double weapon as if fighting with two weapons, but he incurs all the normal attack penalties associated with two-weapon combat, just as though the character were wielding a one-handed weapon and a light weapon.

The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed, attacking with only one end of it. A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can't use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.

Once again, a round-by-round decision, no action to change.

RPG Superstar 2011 Top 8

Midnight_Angel wrote:

Don't confuse dual wielding (the status) with two weapon fighting (the feat).

You can always wield two weapons (assuming you have enough hands for using them both at the same time, of course)... taking a -6/-10 penalty (or -4/-8 if holding a ligt weapon in the off-hand). So, in your example, the BAB 6 character would go from +6/+1 to +0/-5 (primary) / -4 (secondary)... or to +2/-3 (p) / -2 (s), if the off hand has a light weapon.

All the Feat Two weapon fighting does is to alleviate the penalty from -6/-10 to -4/-4 (2 less is the off-hand weapon is light)

This is pretty much all wrong.

You only take the two weapon fighting penalties if you attack with both weapons as a full attack action. You can hold two weapons and choose to only use one of them each turn at no penalty.

Remember that shields count as weapons, and you sure as hell don't take an attack penalty for fighting sword and board.

Also remember that Pathfinder characters are all effectively ambidextrous, so you never take off-hand penalties if you only make attacks with one weapon during the round. You can also swap which hand you designate as your primary and off-hand each round if you are two-weapon fighting (although this really only works if you are fighting with two light weapons, since you do take some pretty hefty penalties for fighting with a one-handed weapon in your off hand).

Midnight_Angel wrote:
And, I am sad to say, there is no easy way to 'split' your iterative attack pattern between two weapons... a character with a flaming and a shocking dagger and a +12/+7/+2 attack pattern can either use the +12/+7/+2 routine for either of the blades, or opt for a +8/+3/-2 with one weapon and a single +4 with the other (+10/+5/+0 and +10 if using TWF). Any attempt at +12(flaming)/+7(shocking)/+2(flaming) or the like would require special class features or Feats.

This... I am less sure about.

The language is not clear that you take TWF penalties if you only make attacks with a combination of weapons that are granted by your BAB and not by taking the optional TWF extra attack(s).

The reason this is a bit tricky is that trips and disarms can be used in place of an iterative attack roll but do not have to be made with the weapon at no penalty. So it seems like in this case you can make an unarmed attack in addition to weapon attacks (which would normally be TWF) but that doesn't count as TWF since you are sticking to attacks granted by your BAB and not taking extra swings.


Evil Space Mantis wrote:
You only take the two weapon fighting penalties if you attack with both weapons as a full attack action. You can hold two weapons and choose to only use one of them each turn at no penalty.

My bad. Substitute 'dual wielding' in my post with 'using both weapons for attack' (which, of course, requires a Full Attack. Of course, no one stops you from using your standard one-weapon full attack routine at no penalty if you're using two weapons. I thought this would be obvious by the second part of my post.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Wow, this is being over thought and one key factor is being over looked. This is all for a monk. So let's break this down.

1) Flurry of Blows: This is a special form of the two weapon fighting feat tree path with a lot of extra features.

2) Temple Sword and Quarterstaff: Both these weapons have the monk special quality so long as your using Flurry of Blows there are no addiontal penalitie or bonuses. You just can't wield them at the same time because the quarterstaff is a two handed weapon.

3) Quarterstaff Master: With this feat you now can wield the temple sword and the quarterstaff together.

4) 3 Different Effect Each Attack in 1Round: Not happening with this combo. If your wielding quarterstaff one handed, your limited to just one side/effect and have to wait till the next round to use the other.

I will have another post on how to get three.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Simply put, it all starts with an Amulet of Mighty Fists. Have one that grants a weapon ability, say an 'Amulet of Flaming Fist'. So all your unarmed strikes now have flaming quality and your a monk so you can have a weapon in each hand and still use unarmed strikes.

Let say one weapon is cold and the other acid and your at least lv 6 monk. As a monk you can mix and match your attacks as you want when doing flurry of blows so now you can go firey kick/cold weapon/acid weapon.


John Templeton wrote:

Wow, this is being over thought and one key factor is being over looked. This is all for a monk. So let's break this down.

1) Flurry of Blows: This is a special form of the two weapon fighting feat tree path with a lot of extra features.

2) Temple Sword and Quarterstaff: Both these weapons have the monk special quality so long as your using Flurry of Blows there are no addiontal penalitie or bonuses. You just can't wield them at the same time because the quarterstaff is a two handed weapon.

3) Quarterstaff Master: With this feat you now can wield the temple sword and the quarterstaff together.

4) 3 Different Effect Each Attack in 1Round: Not happening with this combo. If your wielding quarterstaff one handed, your limited to just one side/effect and have to wait till the next round to use the other.

I will have another post on how to get three.

This is correct - the monk could flurry with the temple sword and whichever end of the quarterstaff he chose to be active that round, as well as with unarmed strikes. He couldn't (by RAW) use both ends of the quarterstaff, and none of this would give him more attacks than his Flurry attack sequence would normally grant him.

It'd be a reasonable house rule to say that the monk could use both ends of the quarterstaff in the flurry, and wouldn't cause any balance issues, but by RAW he has to pick one end.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two-weapon fighing question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions