"Dispel Check" Caster Level


Rules Questions


When dispel magic says that you make "one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level)," is the caster level the caster level of dispel magic, or is it the general caster level of the caster?

Usually these two values will be identical, but with feats or traits like Varisian Tattoo or Precocious Spellcaster the caster level of the spell can be higher than the general caster level.

My gut tells me that the caster level of the spell should be used, but I just wanted to confirm that that's how it actually works.


Omelite wrote:

When dispel magic says that you make "one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level)," is the caster level the caster level of dispel magic, or is it the general caster level of the caster?

Usually these two values will be identical, but with feats or traits like Varisian Tattoo or Precocious Spellcaster the caster level of the spell can be higher than the general caster level.

My gut tells me that the caster level of the spell should be used, but I just wanted to confirm that that's how it actually works.

I would agree with your conclusions. If a character focuses on improving his dispel magic spell's CL specifically, that spell's CL is higher for all purposes. Of course, improvements specific to dispel magic do nothing for greater dispel magic and vica versa. That will make for some unpleasant surprises!

Sovereign Court

The CL is your caster level if you're casting the spell normally. If however you're reading it off a Scroll or using a wand it's the CL of the item, not yours.

-School of Vrock

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "Dispel Check" Caster Level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.