Ranged Weapons Special Abilities Rules Question


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Companion - Elves of Golarion, page 22: Dye Arrow

Pathfinder Core Rule Book, page 470: Holy Weapon

Now... for my question:

Where does it state that a ranged weapon needs to deal damage to bestow this power upon their ammunition?

I can't find a reference for "RAW" but how I'm reading it is "0+2d6 = 2d6" if you shoot an evil creature with a Dye Arrow from a Holy Bow.


Just remember that a holy weapon must be +1 by default so the arrow will already do 1 point of damage.

Not that it needs to -- but it will.

Sovereign Court

Abraham spalding wrote:

Just remember that a holy weapon must be +1 by default so the arrow will already do 1 point of damage.

Not that it needs to -- but it will.

The dye arrow says
d20pfsrd.org wrote:
a creature struck by a dye arrow takes no damage

I was thinking this would negate even the enhancement bonus to damage. I think a more specific question might be: in which order is one item's ability overriding the other?


Typically it's magic over mundane... in my opinion.

I *think* it should be ruled that the arrow's 'base damage' is 0 -- much like a short sword has a base damage of 1d6. Everything else is then applied as it should be.

I would say that the holy should do damage since it's 'extra damage' not 'base damage' (like the weapon's damage + strength damage + whatever)...

However while I could easily see something like a rogue using these arrows for sneak attack or someone using deadly aim with a strength bonus composite bow to get damage added -- I have nothing by core to back up such a position other than the fact that everything is added to the weapon's damage -- which in this case is 0.

Sovereign Court

Abraham spalding wrote:
Typically it's magic over mundane... in my opinion.

I feel we share the same opinion on that...

Abraham spalding wrote:
I have nothing by core to back up such a position other than the fact that everything is added to the weapon's damage -- which in this case is 0.

Well, it is indeed a tricky one. And as you stated, easily abused in the proper hands... at least without some clarification somewhere. Thank you for your input though, 'tis much appreciated. I'll continue to monitor this thread over the next few days (we meet at the table again Sunday) in case anything else surfaces.

Sovereign Court

Anyone find anything to add to this, or is the end result 1+2d6?


patnodewf wrote:
Anyone find anything to add to this, or is the end result 1+2d6?

The dye arrow doesn't do "0" damage. It does "-" damage.

These are not the same thing at all (just like having a Con of 0 means you're dead, but having a Con of "-" means you're a golem [vampire, lich, etc.]).

Holy weapons do additional damage - but "- + 2d6" is still "-" damage.

So, a dye arrow shot from a holy bow does no damage at all to the target.


Patryn of Elvenshae wrote:
patnodewf wrote:
Anyone find anything to add to this, or is the end result 1+2d6?

The dye arrow doesn't do "0" damage. It does "-" damage.

These are not the same thing at all (just like having a Con of 0 means you're dead, but having a Con of "-" means you're a golem [vampire, lich, etc.]).

Holy weapons do additional damage - but "- + 2d6" is still "-" damage.

So, a dye arrow shot from a holy bow does no damage at all to the target.

I agree, although I'd approach it differently to reach that conclusion. Holy adds +2d6 damage. This is the general rule. Dye arrow does no damage. This is the specific rule. Therefore, since specific overrides general, the dye arrow does no damage, even if it's a +5 holy bane dye arrow fired by a 20th level rogue with a huge strength mod against a flat-footed target.

Sovereign Court

Bobson wrote:
Therefore, since specific overrides general, the dye arrow does no damage, even if it's a +5 holy bane dye arrow fired by a 20th level rogue with a huge strength mod against a flat-footed target.

Ah.. I knew there had to be some underlying mechanic that states which order effects are applied. Magic > Mundane, yet Specific > General.

Thanks guys!

Sovereign Court

patnodewf wrote:
Specific > General.

*sigh*

Now I'm being asked where this is mentioned in the rulebooks..

EDIT: I simply explained that by mere definition, one trumps the other.


patnodewf wrote:
patnodewf wrote:
Specific > General.

*sigh*

Now I'm being asked where this is mentioned in the rulebooks..

Very calmly pick the book up, look at the player then say, "Right here, see?" Before using the book as a improvised weapon to brain him with -- don't forget your sneak attack damage.

Honestly why have specific if it doesn't break general?

"Oh we have this specific part right here, but it doesn't matter because the general rule says otherwise!"

He (or she) gets a great big fat, "DERP!" from me.

Sovereign Court

Abraham spalding wrote:
He (or she) gets a great big fat, "DERP!" from me.

LOL, noted sir!

Liberty's Edge

is the Dye arrow PFS legal, goes with another thread on are any of the special arrows legal.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ranged Weapons Special Abilities Rules Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.