Clerics Casting and Holy Symbols


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

In mid game here so would appreciate a quick answer. Must a Cleric have their holy symbol to cast cleric spells?

Thanks,

HH


For any spell that has DF (divine focus) listed as a component, yes, which is most. Several cleric spells do not (i.e. Command).


If it has DF as a component -- damnit Ringtail.

In general, yes. They need it. That's why it's recommended to bring 10 or so.


Cheapy wrote:
In general, yes. They need it. That's why it's recommended to bring 10 or so.

Or suck it up and get a tattoo of it; just don't cry when the enemy only has one way to take it away. :)


There are however a large grouping of spells that do not require a DF but can use material components instead...for these is the DF required?


Dolanar wrote:
There are however a large grouping of spells that do not require a DF but can use material components instead...for these is the DF required?

If the spell only has a material component, sure, you can cast it if you have said component. Components with less than 1 gp value are assumed to be on hand if you have a spell component pouch. Tricky part is that some spells have a listing of 'M/DF', which means the cleric needs the focus, but another spellcaster needs the component.


Dolanar wrote:
There are however a large grouping of spells that do not require a DF but can use material components instead...for these is the DF required?
PRD wrote:
If the Components line includes F/DF or M/DF, the arcane version of the spell has a focus component or a material component (the abbreviation before the slash), and the divine version has a divine focus component (the abbreviation after the slash).

Essentially, if you are casting a spell with a M/DF component as a divine caster, then you need your divine focus. If you are casting it as an arcane caster, you need the material component.

Edit: Lathiira both ninja'd me and gave a more complete answer. I am shamed.


Ringtail wrote:
Dolanar wrote:
There are however a large grouping of spells that do not require a DF but can use material components instead...for these is the DF required?
PRD wrote:
If the Components line includes F/DF or M/DF, the arcane version of the spell has a focus component or a material component (the abbreviation before the slash), and the divine version has a divine focus component (the abbreviation after the slash).

Essentially, if you are casting a spell with a M/DF component as a divine caster, then you need your divine focus. If you are casting it as an arcane caster, you need the material component.

Edit: Lathiira both ninja'd me and gave a more complete answer. I am shamed.

So an evil cleric can animate dead without the use of his holy symbol???

HH


The spell description does not state the need for a Divine Focus for the spell Animate Dead so it is quite possible to cast without a Holy Symbol.

Animate Dead

Dark Archive

The Birthmark Trait can make having a DF easy. Other things might have properties of a Divine Focus, like a tatoo or a holy sword, so you might not need your holy symbol if you have something like that.


Well the situation in question is as follows, a player cast a Silence spell on the BBEG in an effort to limit the BBEG's casting ability, the BBEG threw the symbol over the edge of a platform & now one of the players is asking if the BBEG can still cast certain spells such as Animate Dead (yes I am a player in said game)


Dolanar wrote:
Well the situation in question is as follows, a player cast a Silence spell on the BBEG in an effort to limit the BBEG's casting ability, the BBEG threw the symbol over the edge of a platform & now one of the players is asking if the BBEG can still cast certain spells such as Animate Dead (yes I am a player in said game)

I presume they cast silence on the holy symbol. Clever girl.

If he can touch a corpse, he can animate it.

Dark Archive

Dolanar wrote:
Well the situation in question is as follows, a player cast a Silence spell on the BBEG in an effort to limit the BBEG's casting ability, the BBEG threw the symbol over the edge of a platform & now one of the players is asking if the BBEG can still cast certain spells such as Animate Dead (yes I am a player in said game)

Animate Dead has no DF component, so yes you could cast that spell.


Nimon wrote:
Dolanar wrote:
Well the situation in question is as follows, a player cast a Silence spell on the BBEG in an effort to limit the BBEG's casting ability, the BBEG threw the symbol over the edge of a platform & now one of the players is asking if the BBEG can still cast certain spells such as Animate Dead (yes I am a player in said game)
Animate Dead has no DF component, so yes you could cast that spell.

I've read the rules and I now understand the DF thing, but somehow it just seems wrong for a cleric to call on the divine powers that gave him the ability to 'perform miracles' in the first place regardless of alignment and be able to tap into that without having his holy symbol. The GM agrees as he has since houseruled that the cleric must have his holy symbol to cast. But seriously, I'm not sure why there is any controversy in the first place. A Cleric's faith in his deity is the entire basis of his power, it only makes sense that he would have to have a representation of said deity on hand to access it.

HH


Cheapy wrote:
I presume they cast silence on the holy symbol. Clever girl.

Why would you? The object is in the possession of the BBEG, so it will receive a save, which is the same or better than the BBEG's. The same goes for spell resistance


I've always looked at it this way the Clerics faith not some piece of metal or wood is his power some spells need a channel hence DF component but a diety would be foolish to tell his cleric who has been stripped naked and is hours away from being used in a ritual to raise a dark evil that he cant cast a spell with no DF componet with out the holy symbol the cultist took from him.


jorgenporgen wrote:
Cheapy wrote:
I presume they cast silence on the holy symbol. Clever girl.
Why would you? The object is in the possession of the BBEG, so it will receive a save, which is the same or better than the BBEG's. The same goes for spell resistance

Because then the silence moves with him, meaning he can't just move 10' to the left to start casting spells again.

By casting it on the holy symbol, it'll follow that. Meaning that if he wants to cast any spells, he needs to get rid of it (maybe throwing it far away). The number of spells he can cast will go down, but at least he'll have *some* he can cast.


It was a good idea in theory, cast silence on the BBEG's symbol so he either keeps it handy or tosses it aside & loses out on spells anyway, but it was a misunderstanding of how Divine Foci work as a whole, if it worked as suggested, then the symbol would be the most ideal point for silence.


I think the point being made was if your targeting the symbol you might as well target the BBEG since the save would be the same.


Talonhawke wrote:
I think the point being made was if your targeting the symbol you might as well target the BBEG since the save would be the same.

Yup. In the PRD it says:

Silence wrote:
The spell can be cast on a point in space, but the effect is stationary unless cast on a mobile object. The spell can be centered on a creature, and the effect then radiates from the creature and moves as it moves. An unwilling creature can attempt a Will save to negate the spell and can use spell resistance, if any. Items in a creature's possession or magic items that emit sound receive the benefits of saves and spell resistance, but unattended objects and points in space do not.

I can see no advantage in casting it on the symbol, except to make him toss it. Now, I agree that this might be good in some situations, but that depends on BBEG's spell selection, which is generally unknown to PCs.

Sorry for a small bit of thread-derailing.


Well as I said the PC believed the BBEG couldn't cast without the symbol, under that thought the Symbol works perfectly well, & in a best case scenario allows his allies to cast while still limiting the casting of the BBEG, if the BBEG decides to toss the symbol.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

On a side note, Oracles do not require DF.


jorgenporgen wrote:


I can see no advantage in casting it on the symbol, except to make him toss it. Now, I agree that this might be good in some situations, but that depends on BBEG's spell selection, which is generally unknown to PCs.

Actually, it's a quite devious plan. PC casts silence on (un-)holy symbol, BBEG throws away the symbol "Bah, I don't need that thing to cast my spells...", and then realizes "Oh s#*t, how am I going to channel energy now?"

PRD wrote:
Any cleric can release a wave of energy by channeling the power of her faith through her holy (or unholy) symbol.


Talonhawke wrote:
I've always looked at it this way the Clerics faith not some piece of metal or wood is his power some spells need a channel hence DF component but a diety would be foolish to tell his cleric who has been stripped naked and is hours away from being used in a ritual to raise a dark evil that he cant cast a spell with no DF componet with out the holy symbol the cultist took from him.

For me, that would be when said deity would pull out his cosmic clipboard and start adding up all the good things that cleric has done and subtracting the times he has screwed up in the name of his holiness. If it's a positive number, then yeah the deity would say 'your prayers have been answered'. If a horribly bad negative total comes out then as the Germans say 'Peche gehabt'

HH


Talonhawke wrote:
I've always looked at it this way the Clerics faith not some piece of metal or wood is his power some spells need a channel hence DF component but a diety would be foolish to tell his cleric who has been stripped naked and is hours away from being used in a ritual to raise a dark evil that he cant cast a spell with no DF componet with out the holy symbol the cultist took from him.

I'd rule that the cleric can always draw the symbol into the dirt as a full round action and use that as a DF. The only disadvantage is that he cannot take it with him.


Cpt. Caboodle wrote:
Talonhawke wrote:
I've always looked at it this way the Clerics faith not some piece of metal or wood is his power some spells need a channel hence DF component but a diety would be foolish to tell his cleric who has been stripped naked and is hours away from being used in a ritual to raise a dark evil that he cant cast a spell with no DF componet with out the holy symbol the cultist took from him.
I'd rule that the cleric can always draw the symbol into the dirt as a full round action and use that as a DF. The only disadvantage is that he cannot take it with him.

Barring that, he can always whiz into the snow.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clerics Casting and Holy Symbols All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions