Zen Archer, Flurry of Blows, Two Weapon Fighting


Rules Questions


So basically the Zen Archer can use flurry of blows with his/her bow attacks. Flurry of blows counts as giving the monk two weapon fighting. The issue is since bows are two handed weapons, you lose the extra attacks when using your flurry.

Is this wrong? RaW or RaI? I believe it's intended that the monk receives the extra attacks. My GM however does not, but we both agree we'd like to see an errata.

I'm not arguing with him on the point, it just came up with one of the other players.


"as if" using two weapon fighting and "using two weapon fighting" are not the same thing.

You get the extra attacks with the bow the same way all your attacks with a normal flurry of blows are with the same weapon -- because it is 'like' but not the 'same as'.

A 'regular' monk for example could take all his flurry of blows with the same nunchuck. A Zen archer can do the same thing with his bow.


what i believe is intended is you just use the flurry of blows as written, since it just states that you can use a bow with your flurry of blows. it doesnt actually state you take any attacks out of the equation. it doesnt give you an ability that takes place of flurry thats similar to flurry, it just says you can use a bow with flurry. so i believe that you get all of the attacks. i hope im right and i hope that helps.


Yar!

A flurry of blows IS NOT two-weapon fighting. The mechanics of FoB are LIKE two-weapon fighting. These are not the same thing.

Plus, the Zen-Archer monk entry specifically states that you can Flurry with a Bow when you are a Zen-Archer monk. Thus, you gain the extra attacks as shown in the Monk Table.

If I have time, I will quote and link to various rules (this has also been discussed in other threads). The key points are:

  • when something is "as if" it does not mean "it is".
  • the entry of the ability states that you can flurry even though it is with a weapon that normally does not allow it

~P


This was just discussed over here. When you flurry with a bow, you get exactly the attacks listed in the monk table for flurrying, no more, and no less.


Bobson wrote:
This was just discussed over here. When you flurry with a bow, you get exactly the attacks listed in the monk table for flurrying, no more, and no less.

Thanks guys. Sorry for the repost, I spent almost a hour looking and didn't find. I'll search harder next time.


Not a huge deal -- got to start somewhere.


Asheiridon wrote:
Bobson wrote:
This was just discussed over here. When you flurry with a bow, you get exactly the attacks listed in the monk table for flurrying, no more, and no less.
Thanks guys. Sorry for the repost, I spent almost a hour looking and didn't find. I'll search harder next time.

It had fallen back into the archive section. That happens pretty quickly in this forum. No worries.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Zen Archer, Flurry of Blows, Two Weapon Fighting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions