Weapons size and damage


Rules Questions


Howdie folks,

This gives me a bit of a headache: The chart for weapons includes 2 Rows for damage (Dmg S and Dmg M) and reading the notes on it (page 144) I understand that those depend on the weapons actual size (category). So as I would understand it, a medium sized dagger deals 1d4 damage.

Now, just a few pages earlier (starting at the very end of 141) it explains that light weapons are used in one hand and a few lines down that they are two size categories smaller than their wielder. Adding those two together, a dagger sized for humans (Size category M after all) would already be a tiny object? Not to mention that it's damage die would already not be on the chart anymore, and I don't even want to start thinking about dagger wielding halflings...

I am SURE I am getting something mixed up in a rather freaky way, so who would be willing to turn me around the right way?


The chart is intended for a weapon sized for the wielder (daggers for a medium creature deals 1d4), the earlier part is the size of the weapon as an object. A dagger sized for a medium creature is a tiny object.

Grand Lodge

A dagger sized for a small creature is a fine object, in keeping with Kierato's post. Object size and weapon size are separate things.

Weapon Size wrote:

Every weapon has a size category. This designation indicates the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed.

A weapon's size category isn't the same as its size as an object. Instead, a weapon's size category is keyed to the size of the intended wielder. In general, a light weapon is an object two size categories smaller than the wielder, a one-handed weapon is an object one size category smaller than the wielder, and a two-handed weapon is an object of the same size category as the wielder.


Thanks to you both. So that sentende merely defines the weapons size as an object. Check.

Now, the two rows of damage in the chart indicate the damage the weapon does when its made for a wielder of the corresponding size? So, a dagger FOR A MEDIUM CREATURE deals 1d4, for a small creature 1d3?


Yes.


Alright. Matter settled. Thanks :)


Actually, I need to revisit that one.
What about the attack penalties? It's stated, that "inappropriate sizes" incur penalties. On the other hand, a small creature can use a use a one-handed weapon for a medium creature with two hands. So, use it with 2 hands, yes, but with a -2 penalty for wrong size?
And, does that mean that the small wielder gets the 1 1/2 times strength bonus for using a "two-heanded weapon" (at least for his size)?

Concrete, under which conditions does a gnome use a dagger made for a medium creature?

Liberty's Edge

liondriel wrote:

Actually, I need to revisit that one.

What about the attack penalties? It's stated, that "inappropriate sizes" incur penalties. On the other hand, a small creature can use a use a one-handed weapon for a medium creature with two hands. So, use it with 2 hands, yes, but with a -2 penalty for wrong size?
And, does that mean that the small wielder gets the 1 1/2 times strength bonus for using a "two-heanded weapon" (at least for his size)?

Concrete, under which conditions does a gnome use a dagger made for a medium creature?

Yes, and yes.

In short, object size (OS) and intended wielder size (IWS) are two different properties of weapons, with actual wielder size (WS) coming into play as well. If IWS != WS, it's a -2 per category of difference. If OS == WS it can be used in 2 hands only. If OS is one less than WS it can be wielded in one or two hands (it's a one-handed weapon). If OS is two or more less than WS it can be wielded only in one hand (it's a light weapon).

A medium greatsword has OS=Medium, IWS=Medium. If wielded by a medium creature, it is a 2-hander because OS==WS. If wielded by a large creature it is a 1-hander because OS is one less than WS, but they take a -2 penalty to attack because IWS != WS; it's still a greatsword and uses (medium) greatsword stats.

The gnome using a medium dagger: OS=Tiny, IWS=Medium, WS=Small. Because WS != IWS, it's a -2 per size difference (1 in this case, so -2 total). Because OS is one less than WS, it's a 1-hander. So a gnome wields a medium dagger as a one-handed weapon, but takes a -2 penalty to attack rolls with it.

Liberty's Edge

This chart might help you visualize inappropriate size as well as the penalties associated.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Weapons size and damage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.