Charging a flying creature


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

Hey guys!

This came up in a game of mine recently, and just want to get other people's opinions. If a creature was flying such that the only square to attack it in melee was directly below it, can you still charge it?

Lantern Lodge

Dang it, I didn't hit the post button twice, I swear! Darn creepy lawn gnomes.... (The second thread wasn't me!)


You can charge to an adjacent square when charging a grounded opponent. So, why couldn't charge such a flying creature?

Lantern Lodge

Well...

Imagine someone using a lance, damage type Piercing, to hit a flying creature barely in range of his weapon. It would be a swinging motion, not a piercing motion, so... it doesn't look right. The rules say directly to your opponet, so if it was drawn out...

c = character
d = dragon
? = most direct square to attack from?
x = empty space
M = The only place the C could melee attack the dragon from
D
? ? x
C x x x M

So... yeah, your not charging to the nearest square to attack, but a different one, so you shouldn't be able to charge, correct?

Liberty's Edge

Sounds like a yes. Any adjacent square that you can charge to he touches should make it valid. Flying changes nothing here. :)


You make it sound as if 1 square above is farther away than a square beside, in front, or behind. It's all the same distance. If you're "barely" hitting a creature 5 feet above then you're "barely" hitting a creature 5 feet in front of you.


I believe your supposed to stop your charge at the first square you can attack the enemy from. With the lance you could envision them stabbing upward at an angle, getting a little extra force as they ride under and shorten the distance to the target.


To charge you must move at least 10 ft directly towards the enemy. I would argue that there would have to be a very specific orientation of ground geometry to flyer's position in order to achieve a straight line that would allow you to charge (validly) into the square just below the flyer and attack him.

In short, it's possible but ground bound individuals probably aren't going to be able to pull it off.

Digital Products Assistant

Merged threads.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

A charge must be to the closest square the charging character can reach. If the flyer is 10' up, and the non-flying cavalier is not already directly under him, drawing the line would require the cavalier to attack from a square in the air.

Looking at the situation from the side, and assuming the Cavalier and the Flyer are the same distance from the "camera":
.
(You may need to copy this out into a monospace font to see it properly. Each . represents a square.)
.

F
..A
.X....C

The closest square from which a lance attack could occur is A, which is 20' of movement away (ignoring for the moment the ability to fly). The square the Cavalier would like to attack from (X) is 25' away, therefore he may not charge at all, for the same reason he couldn't if F weren't flying and the map were horizontal.


But the lance has Reach. So it could hit F from X.

Lantern Lodge

First of all, a personal thank you to Chris! Forum modulating probably isn't the most glorious thing to do...

Blindmage, your right, but charge rules indicates that it must be the most direct path to the target.

So I should assume that we ruled correctly? That you can't charge a flying creature because you can't move directly towards it.

As a side question, what can acrobatics accomplish? Can I "jump" up and attack at the height of my jump?

Shadow Lodge

[  ][  ][  ][  ][D]
[  ][  ][  ][  ][F]
[C][  ][x][  ][G]

If the Cavalier with a lance charges to x he can make an attack against either the Flyer or the target on the Ground. He cannot charge the Dragon, because there is no direct path to the closest square.

Shadow Lodge

[  ][  ][  ][  ][  ][  ][  ][  ][  ]
[  ][  ][  ][  ][  ][  ][  ][  ][  ]
[  ][  ][  ][  ][  ][  ][D][  ][  ]
[C][C][  ][x][x][  ][F][  ][  ]
[C][C][  ][x][x][  ][G][  ][  ]

If the Cavalier is on a large mount, he can charge and attack all three targets from the squares marked x.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Charging a flying creature All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions