Question: Spells known?


Round 3: Revised Magus Playtest


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Under Spell Pool, it says a magus can use points to cast any spell that he or she "knows." As the Magus is a prepared caster and can "know" any number of spells, what does that mean?


"Spells Known" refer to spells in her book.

Liberty's Edge

he/she can cast any spell thats in his spellbook that he /she can cast kinda like a wizards arcane bond item


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Belgarath Winddrake wrote:
he/she can cast any spell thats in his spellbook that he /she can cast kinda like a wizards arcane bond item

That's sort of a weird definition. In theory a magus or wizard could own a spellbook they would be able to prepare from but never have, such as a found spellbook. In practice, maybe that's how it's supposed to work, or maybe the GM could just say that "known" means in a spellbook the magus has at least perused and does not simply own.

Thanks for the clarification.


RJGrady wrote:
Belgarath Winddrake wrote:
he/she can cast any spell thats in his spellbook that he /she can cast kinda like a wizards arcane bond item

That's sort of a weird definition. In theory a magus or wizard could own a spellbook they would be able to prepare from but never have, such as a found spellbook. In practice, maybe that's how it's supposed to work, or maybe the GM could just say that "known" means in a spellbook the magus has at least perused and does not simply own.

Thanks for the clarification.

Spells in a Wizard's or Magus' spellbook are slightly different from spells in a book he owns, but hasn't written personally. Namely: so called "borrowed" spellbooks require a spellcraft check to prepare from. I do not think a Wizard can use arcane bond to cast from a borrowed spellbook.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

This isn't explicit, but the line in the rules that seems to validate the definition given above is this:

"Wizards can add new spells to their spellbooks through several methods. A wizard can only learn new spells that belong to the wizard spell lists."

By implication, in personal spellbook = learned.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Ultimate Magic Playtest / Round 3: Revised Magus Playtest / Question: Spells known? All Messageboards
Recent threads in Round 3: Revised Magus Playtest