Question about saving throws on damage-dealing WoP spells


Round 2: Words of Power Discussion


I'm working on constructing two creatures for a WoP playtest tomorrow night, and I built the following spell, but I'm having trouble figuring out how a saving throw will work with these effect words. Anybody mind throwing me a bone?

(I've shorthanded the DCs and damage dice to match the caster level of the creature using it for my own convenience during play, btw.)

Plasma Spray
3th level Sor/Wiz
Words: fire blast 6, force bolt 8, medium cone 5; requires 9 burn points
SR Yes; Reflex DC 16
Range/Effect: 20' cone
Targets take 8d6 fire damage and 5d4 force damage.

Now, according to the rules, a successful save applies to both effect words but the result can vary based on the individual word.

In this instance, since force bolt doesn't normally allow for a saving throw to halve the damage, would a successful save halve the fire damage but not the force damage, or would the damage of both effects be halved on a successful save?


Similarly, if I create a 2nd level single-target spell using force bolt and wrack (which would require 2 burn points), would a successful save negate the sickened condition but not halve the force damage? Or do I have this totally wrong?

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Ultimate Magic Playtest / Round 2: Words of Power Discussion / Question about saving throws on damage-dealing WoP spells All Messageboards
Recent threads in Round 2: Words of Power Discussion