
Ceeray |
If a Paladin who has chosen Divine Bond with a weapon at 5th level, then takes the Vow of Poverty feat from the Book of Exalted Deeds at 7th level, does he have to give up his weapon and the accompanying Bond properties? If he doesn't have to, do the effects of Exalted Strike stack with Divine Bond?
If they do stack, then by my understanding at 14th level he could have a Brilliant Energy Weapon with +3 to hit and damage. He would "spend" his +4 weapon bonus from Divine Bond on the Brilliant Energy, but maintain his +3 bonuses from VoP. Is that right?
Thanks.
Ceeray

wraithstrike |

If a Paladin who has chosen Divine Bond with a weapon at 5th level, then takes the Vow of Poverty feat from the Book of Exalted Deeds at 7th level, does he have to give up his weapon and the accompanying Bond properties? If he doesn't have to, do the effects of Exalted Strike stack with Divine Bond?
If they do stack, then by my understanding at 14th level he could have a Brilliant Energy Weapon with +3 to hit and damage. He would "spend" his +4 weapon bonus from Divine Bond on the Brilliant Energy, but maintain his +3 bonuses from VoP. Is that right?
Thanks.
Ceeray
I would say no, as long as the sword is not masterwork. I don't think the VoP is intended to negate class features. As an example a VoP wizard can cast magic weapon on his dagger without causing any issues, but still can not own a masterwork dagger.

Rhys Grey |

If a Paladin who has chosen Divine Bond with a weapon at 5th level, then takes the Vow of Poverty feat from the Book of Exalted Deeds at 7th level, does he have to give up his weapon and the accompanying Bond properties? If he doesn't have to, do the effects of Exalted Strike stack with Divine Bond?
If they do stack, then by my understanding at 14th level he could have a Brilliant Energy Weapon with +3 to hit and damage. He would "spend" his +4 weapon bonus from Divine Bond on the Brilliant Energy, but maintain his +3 bonuses from VoP. Is that right?
Thanks.
Ceeray
According to the BoED: "You may carry and use ordinary (neither magic nor masterwork) simple weapons . . ."
If I were GMing, I would rule that a paladin could still have a divine bond with a weapon, but it must be a simple weapon. Although the divine bond makes it magic, it's the deity's power doing it (not something the paladin paid for). So, I'd allow the paladin to end his bond with the sword (it's a martial weapon), but form a new bond with a simple weapon of his choosing (after the requisite 30 days or when he gains a new level).
It might seem harsh, but that's the nature of the Vow of Poverty: you're giving something up; in this particular case, you're giving up martial weapons, but not the bond.
EDIT: My quote was from the Vow of Poverty feat. :)

Selgard |

Threadjack!
To fulfill your vow, you must not own or use any material possessions, with the following exceptions: You may carry and use ordinary (neither magic nor masterwork) simple weapons, usually just a quarterstaff that serves as a walking stick. You may wear simple clothes (usually just a homespun robe, possibly also including a hat and sandals) with no magical properties. You may carry enough food to sustain you for one day in a simple (nonmagic) sack or bag. You may carry and use a spell component pouch. You may not use any magic item of any sort, though you can benefit from magic items used on your behalf--you can drink a potion of cure serious wounds a friend gives you, receive a spell cast from a wand, scroll, or staff, or ride on your companion's ebony fly. You may not, however, "borrow" a cloak of resistance or any other magic item from a companion for even a single round, nor may you yourself cast a spell from a scroll, wand, or staff. If you break your vow, you immediately and irrevocably lose the benefit of this feat. You may not take another feat to replace it.
holy symbols of any kind, DF or otherwise, aren't on the very narrow list and DF's aren't included in spell component pouches. (or they wouldn't be listed separately in the spell component lists).
Should it be included? Probably.. But, it didn't make the enumerated list.
(I don't intend to turn this into a "does VOP allow it or not" as its clearly not something ever to be answered here. it was just a peculiarity swimming around in my mind after some of the old convo's concerning VOP and clerics/paladin).
-S

mdt |

As a GM I'd say that basically anything that costs a GP or less is fair for a character who has VoP. So, a holy symbol (wooden) would be fine.
Also note that if the character carved his own holy symbol out of wood, I think that would fall under the 'don't own anything worth anything', especially if he's not very good at carving. :)