Can a Cure Cleric use an Inflict wand?


Rules Questions

51 to 69 of 69 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

IkeDoe wrote:
Why using Inflict when you can use Spiritual Weapon in all its "Neutralness"

No one ever answered you :(

Spirit. Wpn hits using normal BAB (bad) modified by your wisdom (good but not as good as a touch attack) and has to contend with DR. SR and damage reduction were listed as things the OP was trying to bypass.


Skylancer4 wrote:
Elthbert wrote:
Page 160 in the PH says it clearly, though I believe there are other referances to it, I'll see if I can find other references.

Just to get this straight, you are arguing that because it says in the old WoTC 3.5 players handbook, that the same thing is true in the newer Pathfinder Role Playing Game?

1) PFRPG is based on the skeleton of the 3.5 system so I can see the possibility for confusion.

2) There are differences between the two games, sometimes subtle, sometimes glaring, but they are not the same. This is a particular point on which they are not the same. PFRPG does not say anywhere that using an ability that is negative energy is an explicitly EVIL act. As such, in this game, it is not an EVIL act even though in the 3.5 PHB it was. New game, new take on the rules.

I would suggest that you familiarize yourself more with the rules of this, the Pathfinder RPG game, before posting and arguing that a rule you use which isn't part of the game in question (PFRPG), but actually a part of another game (AD&D 3.5), is in effect. This is the RULES section of the forum for PATHFINDER, and you could in fact be causing confusion for new players or people who are maybe less informed about the rules than even you are. This is not a good thing. If you want to argue about it you can suggest something for errata (as Wraithstrike suggested) or maybe post in the houserules section, but this particular forum is for how the rules actually work in Pathfinder, not how you wish they worked.

Did you actually READ any of my post, becuase I have repeatedly stated that I AM NOT argueing that. I have stated that since my first post on the subject. I simply responded to someone maing a statement about 3rd edition D&D and I stated that indeed in 3.0 and 3.5 it was not the case. I also have stated repeatedly that I did not know if that sentence had been removed in Pathfinder. But I have said that I think the link was made stronger by Pathfinders changing of turning to a burst of damage, clearly showing that the energy of an inflict spell was the same as the energy channeled by an evil cleric.

If channeling negative energy is not evil in Pathfinder, which I have readily conceded may be the case at least 4 times now, then I do not understand why good clerics cannot choose to do it? What if they are a war priest of some sort? Maybe hurting the enemy is more important that healing your friends... why is that not an option if it is not an evil action?


Elthbert wrote:

I did the same, multiple times, with rules from D&D, which is all I ever claimed to be speaking of. I have repeatedly stated that Pathfinder may have taken out that rule and I do not argue that, I only ever stated that that was not the case in previous editions of D&D.

..
The Statement in both 3rd edition books is a clear, UNRESTRICTED statement, and it should be treated as such. If you want to restrict a statement you place modifiers around it, there are no such modifiers which limit the meaning of that sentence.

So... Everything you have had to say in this thread is basically off topic and has nothing to do with the Pathfinder RPG RULES and would in fact be only useful for something in the 3.5/OGL section?


Skylancer4 wrote:
Elthbert wrote:
Page 160 in the PH says it clearly, though I believe there are other referances to it, I'll see if I can find other references.

Just to get this straight, you are arguing that because it says in the old WoTC 3.5 players handbook, that the same thing is true in the newer Pathfinder Role Playing Game?

1) PFRPG is based on the skeleton of the 3.5 system so I can see the possibility for confusion.

2) There are differences between the two games, sometimes subtle, sometimes glaring, but they are not the same. This is a particular point on which they are not the same. PFRPG does not say anywhere that using an ability that is negative energy is an explicitly EVIL act. As such, in this game, it is not an EVIL act even though in the 3.5 PHB it was. New game, new take on the rules.

I would suggest that you familiarize yourself more with the rules of this, the Pathfinder RPG game, before posting and arguing that a rule you use which isn't part of the game in question (PFRPG), but actually a part of another game (AD&D 3.5), is in effect. This is the RULES section of the forum for PATHFINDER, and you could in fact be causing confusion for new players or people who are maybe less informed about the rules than even you are. This is not a good thing. If you want to argue about it you can suggest something for errata (as Wraithstrike suggested) or maybe post in the houserules section, but this particular forum is for how the rules actually work in Pathfinder, not how you wish they worked.

Also I cited that page in response to a direct request for it from the 3.5 PH. so agian please read the entirety of post before being condescending about them. I was asked about THOSE RULES, and I answered, if people o not want to discuss the old rules then they should not referance them as justification for thier position. It was such a referance I responded to, and all I have ever argued.


Elthbert wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
Oliver McShade wrote:

Ok.. Were and what page number in D&D PHB v 3.5 are you getting this from??

Here is a link

He is talking about the Neutral Clerics and Undead block, and trying to apply it to spells. I have already told him it was a stretch in 3.5, and since pathfinder does not support this at all he is 100% wrong now.

It is not a stretch at all in 3.5, it is simply the rule, one you apparantly don't like.

Channeling energy is directly tied to your spontanious casting in 3.5 ( which stopped neutral clerics from having the best of both worlds in 3.0 one could chose to spontaniously heal and rebuke undead, which is a sweet deal). So this is not like it isn't related at all, and the sentence does NOT say " When turning,channeling positive energy is a good act, channelling evil energy is an evil act." It says "even if a cleric is neutral, channelling positive energy is a good actand channeling negative energy is an evil act."

How ruling that this statment whcih is made without anykind of reservation is somehow only applicable in the narrowist of circumstances is bazzare to me. Channeling energy is an act which in and of itself has moral concequinces in D&D . It might as well say protecting the innocent is a good act and murdering the innocent is and evil act. it is not situational, murderingthe innocent is ALWAYS and evil act, so is channeling negative energy.

That said, I made no such claim about pathfinder, I only stepped in and disagreed with a statement about D&D.

Those same quotes I used in PF apply to 3.5. They are under the turning sub block because it only affects turning, and my last post explained why. By RAW an evil spell must have the evil descriptor. I can go and find quotes for that also. I actually found them for 3.5 before I did it for pathfinder. Like I said before at best you have a rule conflict, but since I have a list of quotes that support my stance, and you have one that might support yours, and since mine speaks directly about spells I think my spell based stance is stronger than your "may apply to spells" stance.


I just realized I am debating 3.5 rules in a pathfinder forum. Since the PF rule part is done I am done here also.


Skylancer4 wrote:
Elthbert wrote:

I did the same, multiple times, with rules from D&D, which is all I ever claimed to be speaking of. I have repeatedly stated that Pathfinder may have taken out that rule and I do not argue that, I only ever stated that that was not the case in previous editions of D&D.

..
The Statement in both 3rd edition books is a clear, UNRESTRICTED statement, and it should be treated as such. If you want to restrict a statement you place modifiers around it, there are no such modifiers which limit the meaning of that sentence.
So... Everything you have had to say in this thread is basically off topic and has nothing to do with the Pathfinder RPG RULES and would in fact be only useful for something in the 3.5/OGL section?

No.... everything i have had to say has been on the topic such as it is. Please read the above post.

If persons wish to say ... "In PAthfinder channeling negative energy is hunky dory and it is fine to do it without any thought to the moral concequences of bring negative energy into the world." well that may be the case, part of the reason I even read this thread initially wa to see if/how pathfinder had changed that. If on the other hand they say "Channeling negative energy has always been hunky dory in D&D and there have never been any restrictions on it in the Core game"(though I realize that is a purely 3rd edition term)then i have a problem with that.

If Pathfinder removed that restriction, well i would like to know the why, since they tied the use of negative enegery for damaging purposes with evil closer than ever with the new channeling rules, but I am not going to say that people are wrong about that unless I know they are.


Oliver McShade wrote:

D&D PHB 3.5 page 159 = This is talking about Rebuked, Commanded, Dispell turning, Blostering Undead.

D&D PHB 3.5 page 160 = Neutral cleric and Undead = Channeling positive energy in this case is talking about the Rebuked, command, dispell turning, and blostering undead that is listed on page 159.

This is referring back to the " Turn or Rebuke Undead (su) " = entry on page 33 of PHB 3.5. Which is related to channeling positive and negative energy in relation to always good ( turn/destory ) or always evil ( command/rebukes). Neutral cleric can chose between one or the other but once the chose is made they are stuck with it. This chose also effects the "Spontaneous Casting" enter as listed on page 32.

--------------------------

None of this effect the cleric normal "" Spell "". Which is a different issue.

Well We disagree, as I said many times now, the sentence reads clearly, channeling negative energy is an evil act, not rebuking undead is an evil act, or, when turning channeling negative energy is an evil act, just simply " channeling negative energy is an evil act"

I even used an example of the phrasing in another sense.


Elthbert wrote:

Did you actually READ any of my post, becuase I have repeatedly stated that I AM NOT argueing that. I have stated that since my first post on the subject. I simply responded to someone maing a statement about 3rd edition D&D and I stated that indeed in 3.0 and 3.5 it was not the case. I also have stated repeatedly that I did not know if that sentence had been removed in Pathfinder. But I have said that I think the link was made stronger by Pathfinders changing of turning to a burst of damage, clearly showing that the energy of an inflict spell was the same as the energy channeled by an evil cleric.

If channeling negative energy is not evil in Pathfinder, which I have readily conceded may be the case at least 4 times now, then I do not understand why good clerics cannot choose to do it? What if they are a war priest of some sort? Maybe hurting the enemy is more important that healing your friends... why is that not an option if it is not an evil action?

Yes I have, and I saw that you were talking about 3.5 rules, but yet you keep coming back here to the Rules section of Pathfinder and going on about rules from a completely different game. There is a place for that, and it isn't here, it is here. As I have just posted, basically everything you've had to say is completely off topic from what the OP asked concerning PFRPG and yet you have how many posts about how it worked that way in 3.5 and how the wording of PFRPG seems to make that a stronger connection? This isn't the place for 3.5 rules, this isn't the place to argue about how things worked in that other game, and yet as every one of us comes in and says in Pathfinder that isn't how it works or gives reasons why it doesn't work that way now, you keep going on about it. This particular forum is for PFRPG rules, not about the 3.5 rules and if someone said something about the previous games that you disagreed with you could have left it with a "I disagree (insert reason)." post and let it be at that because it doesn't really have anything to do at all with the question at hand, Pathfinder. Yet you refuse to do that and instead of leaving it be you are arguing a point that has nothing to do with anything that the OP inquired about, repeatedly.

Edit: I just double checked and the OP asked if a cleric could use a wand of inflict legally. The answer to that is yes, the cleric can use a wand of inflict XYZ wounds in Pathfinder.


Skylancer4 wrote:
Elthbert wrote:

Did you actually READ any of my post, becuase I have repeatedly stated that I AM NOT argueing that. I have stated that since my first post on the subject. I simply responded to someone maing a statement about 3rd edition D&D and I stated that indeed in 3.0 and 3.5 it was not the case. I also have stated repeatedly that I did not know if that sentence had been removed in Pathfinder. But I have said that I think the link was made stronger by Pathfinders changing of turning to a burst of damage, clearly showing that the energy of an inflict spell was the same as the energy channeled by an evil cleric.

If channeling negative energy is not evil in Pathfinder, which I have readily conceded may be the case at least 4 times now, then I do not understand why good clerics cannot choose to do it? What if they are a war priest of some sort? Maybe hurting the enemy is more important that healing your friends... why is that not an option if it is not an evil action?
Yes I have, and I saw that you were talking about 3.5 rules, but yet you keep coming back here to the Rules section of Pathfinder and going on about rules from a completely different game. There is a place for that, and it isn't here, it is here. As I have just posted, basically everything you've had to say is completely off topic from what the OP asked concerning PFRPG and yet you have how many posts about how it worked that way in 3.5 and how the wording of PFRPG seems to make that a stronger connection? This isn't the place for 3.5 rules, this isn't the place to argue about how things worked in that other game, and yet as every one of us comes in and says in Pathfinder that isn't how it works or gives reasons why it doesn't work that way now, you keep going on about it. This particular forum is for PFRPG rules, not about the 3.5 rules and if someone said something about the previous games that you disagreed with you could have left it with a "I disagree...

As I said, I responded to a statement about those rules, and was continually pressed about those rules. When I conceded that PF indeed may have had a differant take, then any of those in contention could have said... "It does, there is no restriction on channeling negative energy in PF" and if they wanted to be helpful they could have even explained why "the cosmology of pathfinder is differant" or " they wanted to empower good clerics more." But not one did that, they attacked the quite simple statment I had mad about an older edition of the game and pressed it. I responded. I am not sorry I did so. You say I could have left the issue, your right I could have, so could any of those who chose to argue with me about it. Including you.


Elthbert wrote:
As I said, I responded to a statement about those rules, and was continually pressed about those rules. When I conceded that PF indeed may have had a differant take, then any of those in contention could have said... "It does, there is no restriction on channeling negative energy in PF" and if they wanted to be helpful they could have even explained why "the cosmology of pathfinder is differant" or " they wanted to empower good clerics more." But not one did that, they attacked the quite simple statment I had mad about an older edition of the game and pressed it. I responded. I am not sorry I did so. You say I could have left the issue, your right I could have, so could any of those who chose to argue with me about it. Including you.

The difference between you and I is, I was posting about rules particular to Pathfinder in the appropriate forum attempting to make sure the correct answer to the OP's question was found. You were bringing up rules from another game that contradicted the official rules and correct answer to the question. Can you see how that is off topic in the Rules forum as it pertains to 3.5 and not constructive to the OP as they are playing a PFRPG game? There doesn't need to be anything more said other than:

Clerics of any alignment can use inflict XZY wands in combat, legally by the rules.


Skylancer4 wrote:
Elthbert wrote:
As I said, I responded to a statement about those rules, and was continually pressed about those rules. When I conceded that PF indeed may have had a differant take, then any of those in contention could have said... "It does, there is no restriction on channeling negative energy in PF" and if they wanted to be helpful they could have even explained why "the cosmology of pathfinder is differant" or " they wanted to empower good clerics more." But not one did that, they attacked the quite simple statment I had mad about an older edition of the game and pressed it. I responded. I am not sorry I did so. You say I could have left the issue, your right I could have, so could any of those who chose to argue with me about it. Including you.

The difference between you and I is, I was posting about rules particular to Pathfinder in the appropriate forum attempting to make sure the correct answer to the OP's question was found. You were bringing up rules from another game that contradicted the official rules and correct answer to the question. Can you see how that is off topic in the Rules forum as it pertains to 3.5 and not constructive to the OP as they are playing a PFRPG game? There doesn't need to be anything more said other than:

Clerics of any alignment can use inflict XZY wands in combat, legally by the rules.

Ok, i am agreeing with Skylancer4

I went ahead and erased my last two posts, since this was a pointless argument.


Skylancer4 wrote:
Elthbert wrote:
As I said, I responded to a statement about those rules, and was continually pressed about those rules. When I conceded that PF indeed may have had a differant take, then any of those in contention could have said... "It does, there is no restriction on channeling negative energy in PF" and if they wanted to be helpful they could have even explained why "the cosmology of pathfinder is differant" or " they wanted to empower good clerics more." But not one did that, they attacked the quite simple statment I had mad about an older edition of the game and pressed it. I responded. I am not sorry I did so. You say I could have left the issue, your right I could have, so could any of those who chose to argue with me about it. Including you.

The difference between you and I is, I was posting about rules particular to Pathfinder in the appropriate forum attempting to make sure the correct answer to the OP's question was found. You were bringing up rules from another game that contradicted the official rules and correct answer to the question. Can you see how that is off topic in the Rules forum as it pertains to 3.5 and not constructive to the OP as they are playing a PFRPG game? There doesn't need to be anything more said other than:

Clerics of any alignment can use inflict XZY wands in combat, legally by the rules.

If thats what had been said, I would agree with you.

Agian you still couldn't stop. Which makes my point. Take the log out of your own eye first, thank you. Once I had conceded that I was talking about 3.5 [i]in response to another poster[i], all you had to do was say. "oh.... well in Pathfinder it doesn't work that way." But you didn't, you wanted to argue, and so you got what you wanted.

If you want things let go, then let them go.


Elthbert wrote:
But the healing of them is still good, even if it is to serve a greater evil purpose.

No. Not really. It might seem as such, but as long as it is motivated by evil it is evil... even if incidentally beneficial to its recepients.


Le sigh

Hopefully the OP hasn't been chased away by all the annoying off topic-ness and has come back to get their answer.

The Grandfather wrote:
Elthbert wrote:
But the healing of them is still good, even if it is to serve a greater evil purpose.
No. Not really. It might seem as such, but as long as it is motivated by evil it is evil... even if incidentally beneficial to its recepients.

This is one of those things that is up to the DM to decide though. Is it okay to do "good things" in service of your evil deity? Just like what acts are considered "evil" and would upset your good deity. These are judgement calls and a part of the roleplaying, and could be a huge source of problems between players/DMs if they don't view things the same way. It is a large part of the reason many people don't care for paladins, the DM may view things one way (maybe super restrictive) while the player sees things another (less restrictive) - they player ends up being told how to play the character and that is never fun. It also works the other way, sometimes players see things more restrictive and play a paladin in a game that is less restrictive and it causes problems - the player uses the class as a way to cause problems. It is a safe bet that if the gamers don't see eye to eye on this topic problems will arise. For this reason there are few restrictions on many things regarding "alignment", some view it as an artifact and wish it was gone, others embrace it. To each their own and whatever works best for the group is what you should go with.


Skylancer4 wrote:
This is one of those things that is up to the DM to decide though. Is it okay to do "good things" in service of your evil deity? Just like what acts are considered "evil" and would upset your good deity. These are judgement calls and a part of the roleplaying, and could be a huge source of problems between players/DMs if they don't view things the same way. It is a large part of the reason many people don't care for paladins, the DM may view things one way (maybe super restrictive) while the player sees things another (less restrictive) - they player ends up being told how to play the character and that is never fun. It also works the other way, sometimes players see things more restrictive and play a paladin in a game that is less restrictive and it causes problems - the player uses the class as a way to cause problems. It is a safe bet that if the gamers don't see eye to eye on this topic problems will arise. For this reason there are few restrictions on many things regarding "alignment", some view it as an artifact and wish it was gone, others embrace it. To each their own and whatever works best for the group is what you should go with.

I wholely agree.


Aplus wrote:

Hi, my party has the following:

Fighter
Rogue
Ranger
Cleric

I want to give the cleric some tools for casting damaging spells, for those enemies that have DR and situations like that. I wasn't sure if he could legally use an inflict wand.

Furthermore, maybe I am just going about it the wrong way and maybe the rogue is the one that should be putting ranks in UMD and handling this job.

Input is appreciated.

thanks!

By Pathfinder rules, a cleric can use inflict/cure spells (( and said wands )) regardless of alignment without penalty.

Grand Lodge

The Grandfather wrote:
Elthbert wrote:
But the healing of them is still good, even if it is to serve a greater evil purpose.
No. Not really. It might seem as such, but as long as it is motivated by evil it is evil... even if incidentally beneficial to its recepients.

I suggest healing your allies is a neutral action. It might irritate a deity of death, pain or destruction if you did it in preference to injuring someone else, but it wouldn't violate your evil alignment. Healing someone in order to prolong their suffering (for example, to extend a torture session) is most likely evil.

Dark Archive

Starglim wrote:
I suggest healing your allies is a neutral action. It might irritate a deity of death, pain or destruction if you did it in preference to injuring someone else, but it wouldn't violate your evil alignment. Healing someone in order to prolong their suffering (for example, to extend a torture session) is most likely evil.

Healing bad-guys, so that they can go out and do more bad things to good people, seems like a win for Team Evil to me.

Since positive energy is no more good than negative energy is evil, an evil cleric should be able to heal to his shriveled little heart's content.

Even healing nice people can have it's stormy lining;

Anti-Paladin "Wait, why are you healing that little kid?"

Evil Cleric "If she dies now, her little soul goes to Iomedae. You just killed her family and burned her village. She'll grow up hard and bitter, scourged by the sights she saw this day and filled with a lust for vengeance on those who have wronged her. By the time she comes for us, she'll be ripe for Asmodeus' plucking."

Anti-Paladin ".... Dayum! You are messed up!"

51 to 69 of 69 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a Cure Cleric use an Inflict wand? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions