Lost Spellbook Foibles


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Ok, so I play a Cavalier/Wizard/Abjurant Champion. Two sessions ago we became lost in the desert without (surprise) my mount. Last session we were defeated in battle by a plot point, during which I not only cast almost every spell I had, but had my spellbook stolen by the plot point before he vanished and left us for dead.

The GM laid a deus ex machina on me and I now have a "borrowed" spellbook with three spells of use to me, the rest of which are useless considering my concept (TWO abjuration spells!?!? Really!??!)

The spellbook has plenty of blank pages and I have materials to scribe, but since I don't have any of my old spells prepared, the rules on replacing spellbooks pretty much says I'm screwed.

So at 6th level I have one feat of use, one class ability of use, and a smattering of spells that are nerfed by the other half of my nerfed concept.

Would some awesome peeps help me salvage this situation with nerdly rules lawyering of awesomeness? Is there any way to restore my spellbook without finding the old spellbook or finding our way back to civilization and making me spend ridiculous sums of... oh wait... he stole our gold too....

Note: I'm not looking for "you could take the Tattoo Spellbook Feat!" type of advice. Future feats, magic items, or class abilities are all great ideas, but I'm specifically looking for a way to help me *before* a CR 1 creature kicks my shiny metal posterior

Liberty's Edge

Better start looking for some scrolls buddy.

That or begin a frantic search for another wizard to allow you to copy his book/borrow a spare in exchange for a favor or a loansharked deal.


Are there any historical sites nearby? Maybe some ancient spells on those walls.

But it also sounds like your GM hates you? :P

Grand Lodge

Kilbourne wrote:

Are there any historical sites nearby? Maybe some ancient spells on those walls.

But it also sounds like your GM hates you? :P

I may sound like an old fart, but after four years, I still consider him a Noob GM. He has all the elements of storytelling down (after all, he has been writing comics for 15 years), but sometimes the logistics of running a game still escape him.

I think he was gunning for a rugged adventure where the PC's finish while on their last resources in epic fashion. But in a game where everyone has a different skill set, trying to make sure everyone gets a taste of it inevitably means someone gets raked a little (read: uber) bit more than everyone else [raises hand]

That, and I don't think he really anticipated just how important the spellbook is to a wizard. Hell, I've been running games for almost 20 years and I've never seen it be this disastrously important.

All in all, I'd say he does a phenomenal job, but in this situation it's just becoming less and less fun to play this character and every time I see a light at the end of the tunnel, plot takes us off in a different, even darker, direction.

Grand Lodge

Themetricsystem wrote:

Better start looking for some scrolls buddy.

That or begin a frantic search for another wizard to allow you to copy his book/borrow a spare in exchange for a favor or a loansharked deal.

I appreciate the effort, but it's been made pretty clear to me that the one fairly useless spellbook I found is the only bone he plans on throwing me. I'm really looking for some rule that maybe I missed.

Example: The Arcane Bond lets me cast one spell out of my spellbook without preparing it ahead of time. The rules make no mention of having my spellbook anywhere near my person and seems to imply that if I've made the roll in the past to learn the spell, that's good enough. This works fine as a temporary solution, but it doesn't put that spell back into a spellbook.

Or does it? I'm wondering if that one spell counts as preparedness as far as scribing it down in a spellbook? I don't think it does, but this gives you an idea of where I'm going as far as looking for help


Summon Spellbook
School: Summoning, level 0
Class: special, see Pathfinder RPG Forums, Paizo.com
Casting Time: 1 Standard Action
Components: V, S
Range: Self
Target: Self
Duration: Instantaneous
Saving Throw: none (Reflex if summoning someone else' book)
Effect: Immediately summons the wizards spellbook. This spell can be learned through Arcane Bond.


Your best (only remaining?) bet is probably going to fall under Independent Research since it can be used to duplicate an existing spell. Although the research is really up to the GM, so if he's really got it out for you/theparty it might make the research hard to impossible.

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 16

In your shoes, I'd try to work outside the box, seeking areas not specifically covered by the rules to finesse any possible advantage.

Convince the DM to let you craft appropriate ink for copying spells. Then see if he'll let you try some sort of Spellcraft check to copy down what spells remain of your prepared magic.

You might be able to recreate your previous spells "from scratch", using the rules for researching a spell. While such research normally requires resources costing 1,000 gp per spell level, convince the GM to make an exception due to the fact that you have already cast the spells in question.

If you can level as a wizard, you get two new spells.

Try to get your book back...


I would combine these three options. This assumes the DM allows you to find or buy the ink needed. If not then he/she is clearly setting you up to only have the scraps he/she is going to allow and in that case find a new game or go along for the ride of the story the DM is telling and get your RP in when you can as that is the best you can salvage from the situation. These options are a bit of a stretch and will be costly and take some time. So if the DM is going for a "rugged/ruff adventure" this should cover the PITA quotient for him/her.

First - Arcane Bond: A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook and is capable of casting, even if the spell is not prepared. This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the wizard, including casting time, duration, and other effects dependent on the wizard's level.

Second - Scribe Scroll: The creator must have prepared the spell to be scribed (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material component or focus the spell requires. A material component is consumed when she begins writing, but a focus is not. (A focus used in scribing a scroll can be reused.) The act of writing triggers the prepared spell, making it unavailable for casting until the character has rested and regained spells. (That is, that spell slot is expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if it had been cast.)

Third - Spells Copied from Another's Spellbook or a Scroll:: A wizard can also add a spell to his book whenever he encounters one on a magic scroll or in another wizard's spellbook.

(Of course if the DM was going to be kind about it you could just add one spell per day from your arcane bond directly.)


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
poizen37 wrote:
Themetricsystem wrote:

Better start looking for some scrolls buddy.

That or begin a frantic search for another wizard to allow you to copy his book/borrow a spare in exchange for a favor or a loansharked deal.

I appreciate the effort, but it's been made pretty clear to me that the one fairly useless spellbook I found is the only bone he plans on throwing me. I'm really looking for some rule that maybe I missed.

Example: The Arcane Bond lets me cast one spell out of my spellbook without preparing it ahead of time. The rules make no mention of having my spellbook anywhere near my person and seems to imply that if I've made the roll in the past to learn the spell, that's good enough. This works fine as a temporary solution, but it doesn't put that spell back into a spellbook.

Or does it? I'm wondering if that one spell counts as preparedness as far as scribing it down in a spellbook? I don't think it does, but this gives you an idea of where I'm going as far as looking for help

That sounds like it would work to me.


poizen37 wrote:

Example: The Arcane Bond lets me cast one spell out of my spellbook without preparing it ahead of time. The rules make no mention of having my spellbook anywhere near my person and seems to imply that if I've made the roll in the past to learn the spell, that's good enough. This works fine as a temporary solution, but it doesn't put that spell back into a spellbook.

Or does it? I'm wondering if that one spell counts as preparedness as far as scribing it down in a spellbook? I don't think it does, but this gives you an idea of where I'm going as far as looking for help

If you can convince your DM that your bonded item has either a memory of past spells or that it can draw from your lost spellbook, I'd be content with that. I think that's a HUGE stretch.

Its pretty clear that normally the bonded item spell never enters your brain or you'd be able to use metamagic feats on it. Without other spells to cast, I'd probably let you draw the spell into your head if it still hadn't been cast from your bonded item.

I think you should be looking for scrolls and maybe finding your book.

Grand Lodge

Sigurd wrote:
If you can convince your DM that your bonded item has either a memory of past spells or that it can draw from your lost spellbook, I'd be content with that.

I agree that having it effectively double as a prepared spell is a stretch, but not as huge a stretch as you're making it seem. Your bonded item isn't keeping a memory of anything, unless it's been actively reading your spellbook it's simply acting as a conduit to the magic well to cast a spell you've taken the time to learn, as represented by the rules stating "in your spellbook". Remember, there's a difference between a spell you know and a spell you've prepared. With a lost spellbook, you still *know* the spell, you just don't have it memorized and cannot cast it. I think the wording of the Arcane Bond ability is a little tricky and misleading.

I as a DM would probably still say that the free spell doesn't count as prepared, but that you can still use the Arcane Bond ability to cast any spell you've made the roll to learn is fully within the rules as described, regardless of how far away your spellbook is.


Spell Mastery feat for the win.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lost Spellbook Foibles All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.