
guamae |
So the Druid in my game just got to level 8 and wanted to use the new Wild Shape options. We started flipping through the bestiary looking for a Huge Animal, and couldn't find one quickly, so i just said that he could turn into a "huge lion" so we wouldn't have to spend 10 minutes flipping through the book.
Now that the session is over, i'm thinking that the ability is only supposed to transform you into creatures of the normal size, right?
All the Huge Animals we could find were either whales, elephants, or dinosaurs. Is that the extent of the animal options for a lvl 8 Druid?
Also, Beast Shape III also allows for the transformation into Magical Beasts, and while Wild Shape doesn't specifically say you can do Magical Beasts, it does say you can turn into animals and that follows the rules of Beast Shape III.
Thanks a bunch!

DM_Blake |

Now that the session is over, i'm thinking that the ability is only supposed to transform you into creatures of the normal size, right?
Right you are.
No wildshaping into a huge badger and raging all over town...
All the Huge Animals we could find were either whales, elephants, or dinosaurs. Is that the extent of the animal options for a lvl 8 Druid?
That looks like about all there is. Maybe other sources might be allowed - you might find a few more options in some of the Monster Manuals or other 3.x sourcebooks, or future Pathfinder Bestiaries.
Also, Beast Shape III also allows for the transformation into Magical Beasts, and while Wild Shape doesn't specifically say you can do Magical Beasts, it does say you can turn into animals and that follows the rules of Beast Shape III.
No, what it says is:
"When taking the form of animals, a druid’s wild shape now functions as beast shape III."
That first half of the sentence is quite important as it limits the use of Wildshape to just animals - but when you use Wildshape to become an animal, you folow the rules of Beast Shape III for becoming that same animal.

guamae |
As long as you don't let anyone go crazy you can apply some templates to give your friendly neighbor druid more options. And not just the Giant Template. Applying the young template so they can be a Roc, for example.
I was thinking about that, but when i read under Polymorph in Transmutation, it said that "Polymorph spells cannot be used to assume the form of a creature with a template or an advanced version of a creature." Or are Giant and Young special exceptions to that rule?

DM_Blake |

YuenglingDragon wrote:As long as you don't let anyone go crazy you can apply some templates to give your friendly neighbor druid more options. And not just the Giant Template. Applying the young template so they can be a Roc, for example.I was thinking about that, but when i read under Polymorph in Transmutation, it said that "Polymorph spells cannot be used to assume the form of a creature with a template or an advanced version of a creature." Or are Giant and Young special exceptions to that rule?
No, they are not exceptions. I believe YuenglingDragon was proposing a houserule. As in, maybe a generous DM would allow you to apply a template such as the ones he suggested even though the RAW doesn't support it.

KaeYoss |

I'd have no problem with such a ruling. After all, wildshape (and the spells it is based on) already limit your mechanical benefits.
I have no problem with a high-level druid turning into a megabadger of huge size - it's still the appropriate beast shape spell with the appropriate bonuses (same bonuses to ability scores and natural armour, same exclusive list to allowed bonuses, and while I'd increase the damage dice for its natural attacks, they're no different from what critters of that size can already get).
It comes down to a flavour difference, and as they usually don't break games but do make it more interesting, I'm all for it!

DM_Blake |

I'd have no problem with such a ruling. After all, wildshape (and the spells it is based on) already limit your mechanical benefits.
I have no problem with a high-level druid turning into a megabadger of huge size - it's still the appropriate beast shape spell with the appropriate bonuses (same bonuses to ability scores and natural armour, same exclusive list to allowed bonuses, and while I'd increase the damage dice for its natural attacks, they're no different from what critters of that size can already get).
It comes down to a flavour difference, and as they usually don't break games but do make it more interesting, I'm all for it!
Actually neither do I.
Megabadgers are yummy.
Although, there is a bit of a mechanical consideration. As written, the druid is arguably one of the most powerful classes in the Core book. I know it's arguable, because it's argued on these forums almost monthly.
So given the premise that quite a few players feel the class is at least adequately powered without any modification, then there is a fear that adding new capabilities to the druid will just overpower the class.
Then again, the druid already can go for an Allosaurus; I don't imagine a megabadger would really change the power scale.

guamae |
Actually a Giant Lion is stronger than an Allosaurus because Lions get Grab, Pounce and Rake. Of course if they weren't meant to be able to get Grab, Pounce or Rake, the spell wouldn't have said that they could.
Speaking of which, when you're being Raked by a creature, do you get your normal full attack and then the Rake attacks in addition, or just the Rake attacks? Because if it's just the Rakes, the lion's full attack is better.

![]() |

Actually a Giant Lion is stronger than an Allosaurus because Lions get Grab, Pounce and Rake. Of course if they weren't meant to be able to get Grab, Pounce or Rake, the spell wouldn't have said that they could.
Speaking of which, when you're being Raked by a creature, do you get your normal full attack and then the Rake attacks in addition, or just the Rake attacks? Because if it's just the Rakes, the lion's full attack is better.
Rake, and rend, usually have other attacks as a condition. For example, a lion needs to connect with a successful bite, which then allows him to start a grapple for free with grab. Then, and only if BOTH the bite attack and grapple roll were successful, does he get the rake attacks. Next round, rather then spending a standard action to maintain the grapple, he lets the grapple drop, then bites, hopefully starting a new grapple all over again.

Are |

Rake, and rend, usually have other attacks as a condition. For example, a lion needs to connect with a successful bite, which then allows him to start a grapple for free with grab. Then, and only if BOTH the bite attack and grapple roll were successful, does he get the rake attacks. Next round, rather then spending a standard action to maintain the grapple, he lets the grapple drop, then bites, hopefully starting a new grapple all over again.
In fact, you only get the rake attacks the round after you start the grapple. The description for Rake specifically says "it can't begin a grapple and rake in the same turn".

guamae |
guamae wrote:All the Huge Animals we could find were either whales, elephants, or dinosaurs. Is that the extent of the animal options for a lvl 8 Druid?You can turn into T-rex, or giganotosaurus, and you want anything else? What more do you NEED?
Actually the Druid can only transform into animals he's familiar with, so even the elephant is being slightly generous.
So i spent most of yesterday reading and re-reading the books and checking other threads trying to figure out how all of these abilities stack. [in part because of the druid, in part because i got a Fiendish Behir in the next adventure and i want to know how all it's abilities work out] And this is the understanding i came up with (i know some parts of the -20 bit are not 100% what's written in the book from the most literal translation, but i think it's what they were going for).
With Pounce, a Lion would get 5 attacks (Bite, Claw Claw, Rake Rake).
As part of the Bite a Lion gets a free CMB roll to start a grapple, due to the Bite ability it also gets +4 to grapple.
The "Grappled Condition" (which applies to both grappler and grapplee) gives:
-4 Dex,
-2 to Attack/CMB (except into the grapple),
only has 1 'hand' available,
needs to make a Concentration check (DC 10+CMB+Spell Level) to cast a spell,
cannot make opportunity attacks.
In order to maintain a Grapple, you need to spend a standard action to make another CMB check (with a +5 on the check). As part of this check you can chose to:
Move your enemy,
Damage your enemy [Such as Bite damage],
Tie up your enemy,
Pin your enemy, [Flat-footed, -4 AC, Can't move except to try and get away, can still cast spells with no somatic components] but you are also denied Dex to AC (even Rogues),
Swallow your enemy if you have the Swallow Whole ability (opponent takes bite damage this round, and swallowed damage in subsequent rounds).
If you have Constrict, you do your constrict damage on a successful CMB in addition to whatever other effect you perform.
If you have Rake, you get your Rake attacks (as a free action) as part of this action, whether or not your CMB succeeds.
A creature with the Grab ability can a -20 on the CMB check to not gain the "Grappled Condition." If the creature goes this route, it is free to move normally, but must use it's standard action to maintain the grapple as above (still at -20 penalty); or it can take a Full Attack action with one of the attacks being to maintain the grapple and the others to foes either in or outside the grapple. [Bite (Rake {constrict} Rake) to maintain the grapple, Claw Claw outside of the grapple for example].
While Grappled, you can:
Make a CMB check to control the grapple (allowing you to release it as a free action, and gaining a +5 in subsequent checks),
Make an Escape Artist check with a DC equal to the grappler's CMD to get out,
Make an attack with a 1-handed, light or natural weapon (remember -2 penalty),
Cast a spell (with a Concentration check).
If you have Rake, you can make you Rake attacks whether or not you control the grapple.
If you are Swallowed you can:
Attempt to climb back out (CMB or Escape Artist) and end up back in the mouth (still grappled),
Cast a spell without somatic components with a Concentration check (DC= 10+CMB+Spell Level+1/2 Damage Dealt),
Attempt to cut your way out with a light slashing or piercing weapon (-2 penalty to attack due to Grappled condition). If one Swallowed creature cuts it's way out, all swallowed creatures can escape and the original creature cannot attempt another swallow until the damage is healed.
Does that sound blatantly wrong to anyone?

Dabbler |

Dabbler wrote:Actually the Druid can only transform into animals he's familiar with, so even the elephant is being slightly generous.guamae wrote:All the Huge Animals we could find were either whales, elephants, or dinosaurs. Is that the extent of the animal options for a lvl 8 Druid?You can turn into T-rex, or giganotosaurus, and you want anything else? What more do you NEED?
That;'s the first time I think I have read of anyone enforcing that rule. I take my hat off to you sir!

![]() |

guamae wrote:That;'s the first time I think I have read of anyone enforcing that rule. I take my hat off to you sir!Dabbler wrote:Actually the Druid can only transform into animals he's familiar with, so even the elephant is being slightly generous.guamae wrote:All the Huge Animals we could find were either whales, elephants, or dinosaurs. Is that the extent of the animal options for a lvl 8 Druid?You can turn into T-rex, or giganotosaurus, and you want anything else? What more do you NEED?
And that would be a Knowledge Nature roll - per the rules!!

guamae |
That;'s the first time I think I have read of anyone enforcing that rule. I take my hat off to you sir!
Reading through other spells and such, i realized that a quick work-around for this is to use Summon Nature's Ally (which, near as i can tell) does not require any knowledge of the animal. Which would allow for changing into certain dinosaurs, but would restrict elephants till lvl 11 for example (provided the Druid doesn't see one in the wild sooner).