Magical beasts and detect magic / antimagic field.


Rules Questions


Just something that has come up with a campaign i'm running,

it hasn't happened yet, but,

what happens when a PC 'scans' a magical beast with detect magic?

do they have an aura? which?

Also - what would happen if a magical beast was to go into an antimagic field? I think it is covered - as long as they are not summoned, no problem?

Thanks!

Paizo Employee Creative Director

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 4 people marked this as a favorite.
andrew-simpson wrote:

Just something that has come up with a campaign i'm running,

it hasn't happened yet, but,

what happens when a PC 'scans' a magical beast with detect magic?

do they have an aura? which?

Also - what would happen if a magical beast was to go into an antimagic field? I think it is covered - as long as they are not summoned, no problem?

Thanks!

Unless a monster specifically has a special quality that says otherwise (and I'm pretty sure there are none that do), you can't detect ANY monster (including magical beasts, undead, or constructs) with detect magic. Creatures don't have magic auras. Spell effects on them do, though.


Thanks,

I thought that would be the case - makes sense otherwise detect magic would probably be too powerful

Shadow Lodge

andrew-simpson wrote:
Also - what would happen if a magical beast was to go into an antimagic field? I think it is covered - as long as they are not summoned, no problem?

They have the same restrictions as any other creature in an AMF, no more, no less. The magical bit speaks more to their nature than any actual ongoing magical force that drives them. Any Su's and SLA's won't work but otherwise they ca good.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magical beasts and detect magic / antimagic field. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.