
![]() |
Hi
I've got a couple of questions regarding the Shadow Evocation spell and saves.
1) From the spell description, I take it that a creature takes full damage, unless it makes a Will save to disbelief the spell, in which case it only takes 20% damage as real damage.
Is that correct?
2) If that is correct, what happens if the creature is hit by a second Shadow Evocation, after having failed the first save? I assume a new Will save to disbelief. If that is successful, is it only the new casting that is reduced to 20% damage, or does the damage from the previous casting suddenly get changed?
Thanks

![]() |

I'd say treat each evocation as a separate effect. A save versus the second spell wouldn't change the effect from the first spell, or vice versa. Although, individual DMs might rule that following one evocation with a another could allow for a bonus to the save (maybe +1 or so).
And, yes, the damage is real unless you make your will save.
By the by, I notice you're relatively new, so welcome to the boards!

JimmyNids |
iono how it works in pathfinder, in 3.5 it only did llike 40-60% damage on a failed save, 20% on a pass.
Being hit by more than 1 doesn't do anything to modify the save, handle each one separately.
However a caster with spellcraft can identify a spell being cast and would be able to then recognize it and auto pass the save. Plus in 3.5, since it mimics the other spell, if you used say fireball, they stilll got reflex for half after the will save, but again iono how the pathfinder one functions offhand.. hope that helps a little.

Mirror, Mirror |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
The process is as follows:
You cast Shadow Evocation.
If the effect interracts with the target, they get a WILL save to disbelieve.
If they succeed, they will take 1/5th the damage.
They next get any save that may be applicable based on the spell being emulated, but the spell level is that of Shadow Evocation, not the emulated spell. Results for this save are as normal.
Therefore, if you use Shadow Evocation to cast Fireball:
They get an initial WILL save, followed by a REF save for 1/2 damage. They take full damage if they fail both, they take 1/5 damage if they make the WILL and fail the REF, they take 1/2 if they fail the WILL and make the REF (none if they have Evasion), and they take 1/10 if they make both (none if they have Evasion).
BTW, that second save is a killer, so it may be better to use Evocation spells with no saves.

![]() |

However a caster with spellcraft can identify a spell being cast and would be able to then recognize it and auto pass the save. Plus in 3.5, since it mimics the other spell, if you used say fireball, they stilll got reflex for half after the will save, but again iono how the pathfinder one functions offhand.. hope that helps a little.
a bit inaccurate. identifying the spell cast doesn't automatically destroy the whole illusion school of magic. if it did, illusionists wouldn't exist.
15 + spell level Identify a spell being cast. (You must see or hear the spell’s verbal or somatic components.) No action required. No retry.
Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not receive saving throws to recognize it as illusory until they study it carefully or interact with it in some fashion.
A successful saving throw against an illusion reveals it to be false, but a figment or phantasm remains as a translucent outline.
A failed saving throw indicates that a character fails to notice something is amiss. A character faced with proof that an illusion isn’t real needs no saving throw. If any viewer successfully disbelieves an illusion and communicates this fact to others, each such viewer gains a saving throw with a +4 bonus.
IMO this allows the 'studied carefully' mage to identify the spell and potentially warn his allies (if your GM allows talky during other folks rounds).
Identify a spell as it is being cast 15 + spell level
A successful saving throw against an illusion reveals it to be false, but a figment or phantasm remains as a translucent outline.
A failed saving throw indicates that a character fails to notice something is amiss. A character faced with proof that an illusion isn't real needs no saving throw. If any viewer successfully disbelieves an illusion and communicates this fact to others, each such viewer gains a saving throw with a +4 bonus.

Tilnar |

1) From the spell description, I take it that a creature takes full damage, unless it makes a Will save to disbelief the spell, in which case it only takes 20% damage as real damage. Is that correct?
2) If that is correct, what happens if the creature is hit by a second Shadow Evocation, after having failed the first save? I assume a new Will save to disbelief. If that is successful, is it only the new casting that is reduced to 20% damage, or does the damage from the previous casting suddenly get changed?
Thanks
Mirror's right on the money in the answer to how Shadow Evocation works.
To #2 - if you disbelieve #2, you don't automatically revise your opinion of #1 - you still think you got fireballed. (After all, many things that can cast Shadow Evocation can still cast normal evocations, or use a wand, and any fool can use an amulet of fireballs...) [In fact a good illusionist will mix up real and fake effects, just to keep their opponents on their toes.]