
seekerofshadowlight |

You can swing a rapier really. As you can a dagger or short sword as well.
Tell me where in raw is says what searing is? As it's used in a few places yet never explains just what it is? I guess fireballs do not do searing damage then as it does not explain what searing is!
Where is the rule that says fire is hot? That ice is cold? where does it explain what cold is? Where does it explain what hot is?
See your expected to have an entry level of reading comprehension man.

Lord Twig |

You can swing a rapier really. As you can a dagger or short sword as well.
How do you do piercing damage with a swing? Can you swing a sai? (Not that it matters really)
Tell me where in raw is says what searing is? As it's used in a few places yet never explains just what it is? I guess fireballs do not do searing damage then as it does not explain what searing is!
From the PFRD: "A fireball spell generates a searing explosion of flame that detonates with a low roar and deals 1d6 points of fire damage per caster level (maximum 10d6) to every creature within the area."
Uh... Yeah, fireballs do not do searing damage, they do fire damage as specifically stated in the spell description. Your own example actually shows how you can not use fluff text to make a mechanics decision.
Where is the rule that says fire is hot? That ice is cold? where does it explain what cold is? Where does it explain what hot is?
See your expected to have an entry level of reading comprehension man.
It doesn't specifically say fire is hot, but it explains what fire damage does, which is suspiciously similar to what happens when things get hot enough.
From the PFRD: "The fireball sets fire to combustibles and damages objects in the area. It can melt metals with low melting points, such as lead, gold, copper, silver, and bronze."

![]() |

I'm just going to point out here that flavor text is flavor text. It doesn't determine any of the mechanics of the ability. It is merely flavor text to give you a flavor of what happens. The mechanics are described below.
It is the section under :Benefits that matters to discussing the rules.
Also, on the pathfinder faq at the d20 site, there's an entry about cleave requiring a standard action to use. Read it. James is very clear that the two attacks are separate.

seekerofshadowlight |

That issue is it does not say what searing is, just that it does searing damage. What about sharp? edge? does it say what an edge is? Does it explain what falling is? What about breathing, it says you breath but what is breathing?
Really guys if you expect them to explain what every word means I just have no clue what to tell you
And yeah if it is in the feat after the name, then yes officially it is part of the feat. I guess combat feat is not raw as it never says in the mechanics you can take it as a combat feat so it can be ignored.
The fact of it being one swing is in the feat. You can ignore it if ya want, but saying it is not in the feat at all is simply not true.

![]() |

Not what I said. I pointed out that it's flavor text and does not describe the mechanics of the feat.
Those are handled where it says Benefits.
Or, alternatively, look on page 113 where it describes feat entries.
Feat Name: The feat's name also indicates what subcategory, if any, the feat belongs to, and is followed by a basic description of what the feat does.
Benefit: What the feat enables the character to do.
Thus, the description doesn't allow the character to do anything at all. It's a description. The benefit is where you find the rules detailing what actual actions the feat allows you to take.

seekerofshadowlight |

I am gonna leave it be, but it is part of the feat right up, saying it does not tell you what it does is false. The benefit just tell you how you pull off the action in game mechanics.
Unless there is a rule about not counting text because it does not give a game mechanic in that line, then that line is also RAW
Alot of things are fluff or partly fluff, that does not mean they do not count as it is part of the feat right up just as a dagger description is a part of it's right up. But I guess it has no blade and can be 10' long or something as ya know the description is not RAW.

Herbo |

Per the Core Rule Book.
Take 5-Foot Step:
You can move 5 feet in any round when you don’t perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can’t take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can’t take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance. You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round. You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn’t hampered by diff icult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can’t take a 5-foot step, since
moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature. You may not take a 5-foot step using a form of movementfor which you do not have a listed speed.
I don't think anyone touched on the way a 5ft step works per RAW yet. I'd say you could move your 5ft during a cleave action if it were advantageous to do so. Of course anyone can houserule any intent of Cleave that they wish but the RAW has enough wiggle in it to work for me.

![]() |

I have even been known to ask my players to roll both d20 at the same time. Different colors so we know which d20 is for which target. It speeds up the time it takes to resolve the combat
For the record, in my game, we declare our cleaves, secondary targets, and roll two dice at the same time as well, especially since it becomes an issue when there are secondary targets on either side of the main target for the cleave.
As far as taking a 5' step in between, the way I am reading the feat, it sounds implausible to be able to do that, much like casting a fireball at max range, taking a 5' step, then wanting to recalculate who is affected at the new max range. The spell was cast, the feat was used and done, there isn't an inbetween period, unless you are casting a Timestop.

james maissen |
At 3.5 there was a prestige class special ability called "Supreme Cleave" which allows you to make a 5' Step during cleave (or "Greater Cleave"s).
From this point I would say, no.
Cleave was very different then.
From the 3.5 SRD:
CLEAVE [GENERAL]
Prerequisites: Str 13, Power Attack.
Benefit: If you deal a creature enough damage to make it drop (typically by dropping it to below 0 hit points or killing it), you get an immediate, extra melee attack against another creature within reach. You cannot take a 5-foot step before making this extra attack. The extra attack is with the same weapon and at the same bonus as the attack that dropped the previous creature. You can use this ability once per round.
Special: A fighter may select Cleave as one of his fighter bonus feats.
You'll note that the 5' step is specifically excluded here as an exception to the normal rule.
You'll also note that it requires the same weapon used.
Now the Pathfinder cleave has neither special exception.
-James