Two-Handed weapons - readied


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

So if I'm carrying a greatsword in one hand; is it a move-action to put the other hand on the weapon to be ready to use it?

For instance:

A cleric carrying a great club just cast a spell (freeing one hand from his weapon to do so) and he moved during that round exhausting all actions - if his opponent does something that would provoke an AoO, is the cleric considered armed and threatening (reading his free hand onto his weapon as a free action)?

Or is he considered to not be threatening for the rest of the round?

Robert


He is threatening, acording to what I've seen so far. Or at least everyone assumes he is.


No, there is no RAW for letting go/replacing hand on an objec that never leaves your posession. It is essentially a free action. It's only when you have to reach (down to the ground, over to an ally 5' away, into a belt pouch, etc.) that it becomes a move action.


Right - there is a PFRPG rule for "manipulationg an object" being a move action, but other than for a few hard-core rules lawyers, releasing a hand from a two-handed weapon (and gripping it again) are not more than free actions.

However, they *are* actions, and thus can only be taken on your turn generally. Thus if you're holding a torch in one hand, and your greatsword in the other, you are not threatening, and cannot take attacks of opportunity (even though dropping a torch and gripping your weapon are both free actions).


Majuba wrote:

Right - there is a PFRPG rule for "manipulationg an object" being a move action, but other than for a few hard-core rules lawyers, releasing a hand from a two-handed weapon (and gripping it again) are not more than free actions.

However, they *are* actions, and thus can only be taken on your turn generally. Thus if you're holding a torch in one hand, and your greatsword in the other, you are not threatening, and cannot take attacks of opportunity (even though dropping a torch and gripping your weapon are both free actions).

Dropping a torch and gripping your weapon are free actions, but not IMMEDIATE actions so you could only do so on your turn. Thus as you said you are not threatening.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Majuba wrote:
Thus if you're holding a torch in one hand, and your greatsword in the other, you are not threatening, and cannot take attacks of opportunity (even though dropping a torch and gripping your weapon are both free actions).

Well, you're not threatening with the Greatsword. You may still threaten with the torch as an improvised light club, depending on your DM.

Grand Lodge

Robert Brambley wrote:

So if I'm carrying a greatsword in one hand; is it a move-action to put the other hand on the weapon to be ready to use it?

For instance:

A cleric carrying a great club just cast a spell (freeing one hand from his weapon to do so) and he moved during that round exhausting all actions - if his opponent does something that would provoke an AoO, is the cleric considered armed and threatening (reading his free hand onto his weapon as a free action)?

Or is he considered to not be threatening for the rest of the round?

Robert

I think you're okay with the free action to start swinging assuming you have to do no more than drop whatever is in the off hand (like presumably a torch)

It's not a comfortable way to carry such a big weight for long periods though.

Readying the sword from a back sheath would be a move action or part of a move action for a BAB of 1+

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two-Handed weapons - readied All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.