Tumbling and attacks of opportunity


Rules Questions


The question I have is when a character is being flanked and tries to tumble away but fails the tumble check. Would only one of the flankers get the AoO or would they both get one? The idea is when exactly does the AoO happen at the beginning of the movement or during the movement?

An example is the player (P) is flanked by E1 and E2. E1-P-E2
He tries to tumble behind E2 but fails. When does he provoke?

Liberty's Edge

robert davis 141 wrote:

The question I have is when a character is being flanked and tries to tumble away but fails the tumble check. Would only one of the flankers get the AoO or would they both get one? The idea is when exactly does the AoO happen at the beginning of the movement or during the movement?

An example is the player (P) is flanked by E1 and E2. E1-P-E2
He tries to tumble behind E2 but fails. When does he provoke?

IF all he does is MOVE (behind E2), then E2 would get an AoO (assuming moved at an angle directly out of threatened range of E1 and E1 has no reach). The reason for the AoO is that P moved more than a 5' square into another square threatened by E2.

IF after such movement, he takes any further action (casting a spell, making an attack, pulling forth a potion from backpack) both E1 and E2 may get AoO. The reason for the AoO is that the character chose to do more than just a withdrawal (which is movement only and can avoid an AoO from the person he moves away from - E1 in this case).

Robert


robert davis 141 wrote:

The question I have is when a character is being flanked and tries to tumble away but fails the tumble check. Would only one of the flankers get the AoO or would they both get one? The idea is when exactly does the AoO happen at the beginning of the movement or during the movement?

An example is the player (P) is flanked by E1 and E2. E1-P-E2
He tries to tumble behind E2 but fails. When does he provoke?

Both would get an AoO. When you leave a threatened square you trigger, just before the movement takes place. If the player were trying to tumble through E2's square and failed, then both would get AoOs and the movement would fail.

Shadow Lodge

If he fails to tumble treat it as normal movement, unless he was using the withdraw action both E1 and E2 will get AoOs. If he was using the withdraw action then he would still provoke from E2 as he moves through the second threatened square.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Tumbling and attacks of opportunity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.