
james maissen |
What's the distinction between ceasing concentration on telekinesis to drop a harmful object, and pulling a lever that causes an antimagic field to spring into effect on your telekinesis-held harmful object, dropping it? Why does one action (which is not actually even an action in mechanical terms) reveal you but the other does not, when both have identical in game results?
You are making an *ATTACK ROLL* against someone with one and not the other? And they don't
There are two different ways in which to drop a stone in a square that's occupied.
One is just to drop it. It doesn't hit the person in the occupied square and does no damage.
The other is to target them and try to hit them with it. This requires an attack roll AT them. This breaks invisibility.
Oh and btw simply failing to concentrate on telekinesis would be the former case rather than the later. You are not aiming the rock. It's more akin to being disarmed of it. It harmlessly falls into the square below (perhaps even scattering a bit).
Imagine flying above a target and going to throw a spear at them. You provoke from someone who disarms you of the spear. You now are claiming that you can make an attack to hit the original target by the falling spear. It doesn't work. (Nor would quickdrawing a dozen daggers/rocks and dropping them as free actions).
Consider also a PC with a crossbow. He aims and fires it at a rope. It doesn't break invisibility. But if he aims and fires it at an NPC, it does.
I don't think that you don't follow this, but rather than you just want to have some fun arguing for its own sake.
-James

Zurai |

You are making an *ATTACK ROLL* against someone with one and not the other?
Not required by the rules. It's been pointed out to you many times that a reflex save is also a possibility, or a situation where a miss is impossible (the Indiana Jones example). And yet I'm the one accused of arguing for the sake of the argument...

Robert Young |

I'd add that with a fixed DC to avoid a falling object, the elements of a direct attack are somewhat missing. In a direct attack, I would think that the aggressor would be either aiming via an attack roll or affecting the DC via spellcasting stat modifier, etc. If the DC to avoid a falling object is fixed, the agressor is less involved with the actual result and only indirectly involved in the outcome (compare with trap trigger).

![]() |

I guess dropping a boulder on somebody isn't murder then. (looks up)
And maybe that's not even war if you just happen to 'position' your planes so that the bombs roll out above your 'non-target's' cities. Gravity did it.
A lot of countries would consider it an act of war for your planes to be in their airspace at all, whether you shower them with bombs, or birthday invitations.

Ravingdork |

I believe that falling objects require an attack roll (if your are throwing it down) or a Reflex save (if it is simply dropped). Not both.
The former will break invisibility, the latter will not.
The idea that I could drop a 5x5 boulder into someone's square and then have it completely miss them and deal no damage because I didn't "make an attack roll" is patently ridiculous.

![]() |

I believe that falling objects require an attack roll (if your are throwing it down) or a Reflex save (if it is simply dropped). Not both.
The former will break invisibility, the latter will not.
The idea that I could drop a 5x5 boulder into someone's square and then have it completely miss them and deal no damage because I didn't "make an attack roll" is patently ridiculous.
As has been pointed out, the idea that you can lift a 5x5 boulder with telekinesis is patently ridiculous.

Ravingdork |

Ravingdork wrote:As has been pointed out, the idea that you can lift a 5x5 boulder with telekinesis is patently ridiculous.I believe that falling objects require an attack roll (if your are throwing it down) or a Reflex save (if it is simply dropped). Not both.
The former will break invisibility, the latter will not.
The idea that I could drop a 5x5 boulder into someone's square and then have it completely miss them and deal no damage because I didn't "make an attack roll" is patently ridiculous.
I never mentioned telekinesis in my post so I don't see how it has any baring on my comment whatsoever.

Quandary |

Quandary wrote:I guess dropping a boulder on somebody isn't murder then. (looks up)
And maybe that's not even war if you just happen to 'position' your planes so that the bombs roll out above your 'non-target's' cities. Gravity did it.(...)
In short, your post was nothing but a straw man filled with nasty words that had no relevancy to the discussion and were only intended to make people react viscerally and derail the train of logic.
I submit myself to appropriate punishment for using 'nasty words'.
Is a 5 year ban appropriate? Or does not agreeing with you necessitate more than that?Seriously, it seems like you're getting pissy because people are taking the topic in directions not conducive to the logic you use to support your argument. Guess what: people are entitled to do so, you don't get to define the entire frame of debate even if you find it preferable to constrain discussion to the aspects which support your position.
Personally, I don't find the action/non-action distinction relevant to define 'targeting' (besides the fact that ending a spell IS an action anyways), and think moving objects into position for an intended effect is just as much 'targeting' as aiming an acid flask at a square is, and isn't fundamentally different than shooting a bow, which involves arranging the bow and arrow to point to the target and then releasing the string. What does 'targetting' mean? I would say arranging for something to be effected by an effect, e.g. to target/effect A but not B. Moving an object above A but not B would satisfy that requirement. I would also count Delayed Blast Fireballs as attacks when they trigger.
I never said your position has ABSOLUTELY no merit, or that you are 'wrong', I've just presented my position.
I find absolutely nothing 'nasty' in my post.
Feel free to report it to the management if you are so aggrieved.

james maissen |
I believe that falling objects require an attack roll (if your are throwing it down) or a Reflex save (if it is simply dropped). Not both.
You are incorrect in the case of objects being dropped by one person on someone else (rather than via a trap for example) which was what was being discussed.
It requires a touch attack.
If the target is aware and the falling object falls far enough the target ALSO gets a REF save for half.
-James

Zurai |

Seriously, it seems like you're getting pissy because people are taking the topic in directions not conducive to the logic you use to support your argument.
You're reading way too much into it.
Simple fact: your statements had 0% relevance to the matter at hand and were filled with "loaded" words (what I referred to as "nasty" words -- meaning not curses or impolite or any of that, but viscerally negative in meaning); "bombs", "murder", "war". They were a straw-man, and a pretty blatant one.
I havn't gotten "pissy". If anything, your reply is a dozen times pissier than my post.
PS. Ending concentration on a spell is not an action. Dismissing a spell is a standard action, but ceasing to concentrate is not an action at all. If it was an action, especially a standard action as it was stated, then you would either never be able to be interrupted when it wasn't your turn, or you would lose your next turn's standard action when you failed a concentration check. You're right that it's not relevant to the matter at hand, but james keeps saying that it's a standard action, so I keep refuting it.

james maissen |
PS. Ending concentration on a spell is not an action. Dismissing a spell is a standard action, but ceasing to concentrate is not an action at all. If it was an action, especially a standard action as it was stated, then you would either never be able to be interrupted when it wasn't your turn, or you would lose your next turn's standard action when you failed a concentration check. You're right that it's not relevant to the matter at hand, but james keeps saying that it's a standard action, so I keep refuting it.
Well if you want to aim what you are dropping to actually hit something then yeah it would be a standard action.
But I do agree that as presented it would not be an action for simply not electing to spend the standard action on concentrating. But in this case the object would harmlessly and aimlessly fall, not hitting anyone. Much like a missed crossbow bolt doesn't hit someone behind the intended target, or my examples of being disarmed above another, etc...
If you want to drop a object on a target to actually hit them then you would have to aim, make a touch attack and as a result become visible.
-James

Zurai |

If you want to drop a object on a target to actually hit them then you would have to aim, make a touch attack and as a result become visible.
Can you please cite to me where in the rules this is stated? EDIT: I apologize if you've already done so, but I believe that a re-citation at this point would be useful either way.

stringburka |

Well if you want to aim what you are dropping to actually hit something then yeah it would be a standard action.
Would that mean if there was a cave-in it wouldn't hit me unless the cave made an attack roll?
Seriously, if something about as large as the square you are in are falling into that square, you're going to get hit whether or not it was aimed at you or not, unless you move.

james maissen |
james maissen wrote:If you want to drop a object on a target to actually hit them then you would have to aim, make a touch attack and as a result become visible.Can you please cite to me where in the rules this is stated? EDIT: I apologize if you've already done so, but I believe that a re-citation at this point would be useful either way.
Here's the PF SRD link for you: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering---final/environment---final/environme ntal-rules
It's the section that deals with falling objects, where you'd get the damage, etc.
Here's the quote I put forth before from it:
"Dropping an object on a creature requires a ranged touch attack. Such attacks generally have a range increment of 20 feet. If an object falls on a creature (instead of being thrown), that creature can make a DC 15 Reflex save to halve the damage if he is aware of the object. Falling objects that are part of a trap use the trap rules instead of these general guidelines."
You will note that this section has been rewritten for Pathfinder, and differs from the 3.5 version.
I'm sure this was motivated by silliness akin to things mentioned in this thread, as the idea of dropping large objects as D&D nuclear weapons has come up previously.
-James

james maissen |
james maissen wrote:
Well if you want to aim what you are dropping to actually hit something then yeah it would be a standard action.
Would that mean if there was a cave-in it wouldn't hit me unless the cave made an attack roll?
Seriously, if something about as large as the square you are in are falling into that square, you're going to get hit whether or not it was aimed at you or not, unless you move.
No, I'm saying that one doesn't get to, say quickdraw 100 daggers and drop them all on top of someone as free actions and claim to be hitting them with some or all of those daggers.
A cave-in is an environmental hazard. Dropping objects, in general, doesn't hit anyone... you have to aim to do so. Just as you have to pick a square to fire a crossbow bolt into rather than pick a line in order to hit an invisible target, so must you aim to hit someone by dropping an object. Even if the target is really in the square in front of your targeted square, if you pick the wrong square and fire your crossbow, you miss.
-James

Zurai |

Dropping an object on a creature requires a ranged touch attack. Such attacks generally have a range increment of 20 feet. If an object falls on a creature (instead of being thrown), that creature can make a DC 15 Reflex save to halve the damage if he is aware of the object.
This is saying something different than I've seen you state. Your statement is that it always requires a ranged touch attack and, if it falls a certain distance, also has a reflex save for half. What it actually says is that objects that are thrown down at a creature require a ranged touch attack, while objects that fall on a creature require a Reflex save. Which is what other people have been telling you.

Zurai |

Dropping objects, in general, doesn't hit anyone... you have to aim to do so. Just as you have to pick a square to fire a crossbow bolt into rather than pick a line in order to hit an invisible target, so must you aim to hit someone by dropping an object. Even if the target is really in the square in front of your targeted square, if you pick the wrong square and fire your crossbow, you miss.
-James
So let's use another, slightly different example.
Hiro the level 1 commoner is climbing up a slanted (let's say 30 degree incline) 5' diameter stone tunnel (which has sides at least 1' in thickness). Unknown to him, Wizz the Villain has already sealed the bottom of the tunnel with a stone shape and is levitating a 4.9999' diameter spherical rock into place at the other side of the tunnel. He then dismisses the spell he was using to levitate the rock, causing it to fall into the tunnel and roll inevitably down towards Hiro. Does this break Wizz's invisibility spell? Clearly, no attack roll is needed, as there is literally no possible way for Hiro to avoid the rock.

james maissen |
james maissen wrote:Dropping an object on a creature requires a ranged touch attack. Such attacks generally have a range increment of 20 feet. If an object falls on a creature (instead of being thrown), that creature can make a DC 15 Reflex save to halve the damage if he is aware of the object.This is saying something different than I've seen you state. Your statement is that it always requires a ranged touch attack and, if it falls a certain distance, also has a reflex save for half. What it actually says is that objects that are thrown down at a creature require a ranged touch attack, while objects that fall on a creature require a Reflex save. Which is what other people have been telling you.
No. It would be both. If you are throwing an object at someone you would be making a normal attack (i.e. throwing a spear, etc) and that's dealt with under the falling objects section!
1. Dropping an object on a creature requires a ranged touch attack. Period. If you wish to hit them by dropping the object, you must make a ranged touch attack.
2. If the creature is aware of the object the creature can make a REF save to halve the damage. This does not mean that the creature is automatically hit!! It just means that if they are hit, but were aware of the object falling on them they can halve the damage.
I was wrong about the distance requirement, not sure where I got that from. Mea culpa. Probably confusing it in my mind with if it falls less than 30feet it does half damage. Sorry about that.
-James

james maissen |
Clearly, no attack roll is needed, as there is literally no possible way for Hiro to avoid the rock.
And perhaps it does no damage to Hiro, perhaps it crushes him to death, perhaps it pins him like an avalanche. Does he get a REF save to avoid any of that? Would bonuses to TRAPs apply?
Personally that seems better modeled as a trap imho. Also I figure that a 75th level caster could do more damaging things, don't you?
But it perhaps behooves us to understand how the direct rules are for falling objects first, yes?
As I said in my prior post, I made a mistake on them. But other people have been making bigger mistakes in regards to them. These rules are different than 3.5 and that is perhaps part of the confusion. The other part is that this part is different from a trap causing masonry to fall, etc. I'm not sure what the cause is, but I think that if you carefully read the falling objects section you will be able to puzzle it out.
-James

Zurai |

Zurai wrote:james maissen wrote:Dropping an object on a creature requires a ranged touch attack. Such attacks generally have a range increment of 20 feet. If an object falls on a creature (instead of being thrown), that creature can make a DC 15 Reflex save to halve the damage if he is aware of the object.This is saying something different than I've seen you state. Your statement is that it always requires a ranged touch attack and, if it falls a certain distance, also has a reflex save for half. What it actually says is that objects that are thrown down at a creature require a ranged touch attack, while objects that fall on a creature require a Reflex save. Which is what other people have been telling you.No. It would be both. If you are throwing an object at someone you would be making a normal attack (i.e. throwing a spear, etc) and that's dealt with under the falling objects section!
1. Dropping an object on a creature requires a ranged touch attack. Period. If you wish to hit them by dropping the object, you must make a ranged touch attack.
2. If the creature is aware of the object the creature can make a REF save to halve the damage. This does not mean that the creature is automatically hit!! It just means that if they are hit, but were aware of the object falling on them they can halve the damage.
This is, to be blunt, not what the rules state. You're combining the two even though the rules don't tell you to.
And perhaps it does no damage to Hiro, perhaps it crushes him to death, perhaps it pins him like an avalanche. Does he get a REF save to avoid any of that? Would bonuses to TRAPs apply?
All completely irrelevant. You claim that dropping an object on a person always requires an attack roll or it misses, and that because it requires an attack roll it breaks invisibility. None of those things have anything to do with attack rolls.
Personally that seems better modeled as a trap imho.
But it isn't a trap at all in the mechanical sense. It's an emergent situation.
Also I figure that a 75th level caster could do more damaging things, don't you?
Here is where you lose me. Where the bleeding hell did you get that from? I never mentioned Wizz's caster level and he isn't doing anything that would require him to be higher than the level needed to cast stone shape. As a 4th level wizard spell, he'd need to be 7th level and thus could shape 17 cubic feet of stone. He wouldn't need to use nearly that much to seal off the undescribed entrance to a 5' wide tunnel. A grate a couple inches thick would be more than enough to prevent Hiro from breaking through it.

Robert Young |

No. It would be both. If you are throwing an object at someone you would be making a normal attack (i.e. throwing a spear, etc) and that's dealt with under the falling objects section!1. Dropping an object on a creature requires a ranged touch attack. Period. If you wish to hit them by dropping the object, you must make a ranged touch attack.
2. If the creature is aware of the object the creature can make a REF save to halve the damage. This does not mean that the creature is automatically hit!! It just means that if they are hit, but were aware of the object falling on them they can halve the damage.
I was wrong about the distance requirement, not sure where I got that from. Mea culpa. Probably confusing it in my mind with if it falls less than 30feet it does half damage. Sorry about that.
-James
From d20pfsrd - Falling:
Dropping an object on a creature requires a ranged touch attack. Such attacks generally have a range increment of 20 feet. If an object falls on a creature (instead of being thrown), that creature can make a DC 15 Reflex save to halve the damage if he is aware of the object. Falling objects that are part of a trap use the trap rules instead of these general guidelines.The circumstances dictate whether you have a ranged touch attack or a Reflex save. One implies aiming (ranged touch attack), the other implies not aiming (Reflex save) but depends on the square(s) affected (compare with AoE spells).

james maissen |
From d20pfsrd - Falling:
Dropping an object on a creature requires a ranged touch attack. Such attacks generally have a range increment of 20 feet. If an object falls on a creature (instead of being thrown), that creature can make a DC 15 Reflex save to halve the damage if he is aware of the object. Falling objects that are part of a trap use the trap rules instead of these general guidelines.The circumstances dictate whether you have a ranged touch attack or a Reflex save. One implies aiming (ranged touch attack), the other implies not aiming (Reflex save) but depends on the square(s) affected (compare with AoE spells).
That is how you guys are reading it, however I disagree.
Dropping an object on a creature is NOT throwing it. The two lines are not two different situations, but the same one.
When you DROP an object on a creature the object FALLS on the creature and is not being THROWN.
Is my English incorrect here? I'm not thinking so.
Think about it for a second, you are claiming that a target with a touch AC of 50 but doesn't have evasion is automatically hit by everything dropped on them! It doesn't even pass the 'is this reasonable' test.
-James

james maissen |
This is, to be blunt, not what the rules state. You're combining the two even though the rules don't tell you to.
See the prior post. Yes it is what the rules state. Just as blunt back at you. As I said before, read it carefully.
But it isn't a trap at all in the mechanical sense. It's an emergent situation.
Great. Find rules for 'emergent situations' in there somewhere. They aren't directly modeled now are they?
So either you elect to use the rules for falling object traps, objects being dropped by someone, or something else. But whatever you do use, you need to do in a decent way. Imho, the way you have it set up it is most closely approximated by a trap. YMMV.
Here is where you lose me. Where the bleeding hell did you get that from? I never mentioned Wizz's caster level and he isn't doing anything that would require him to be higher than the level needed to cast stone shape. As a 4th level wizard spell, he'd need to be 7th level and thus could shape 17 cubic feet of stone. He wouldn't need to use nearly that much to seal off the undescribed entrance to a 5' wide tunnel. A grate a couple inches thick would be more than enough to prevent Hiro from breaking through it.
You have him levitating a 7500lb object don't you? Now mind you I'm trusting Ogre's math on that which you never refuted, so if there is error there then the two of you can work that out.
As to making your grating while I wasn't sure that's what you meant by sealed off with stoneshape (though I'm not really following the situation here.. the villian did this, climbed back up and enticed the hero to climb down there?) I wasn't taking issue with it as simply bricking up the end of the passage manually would accomplish the same thing n'est pas?
-James

Robert Young |

That is how you guys are reading it, however I disagree.Dropping an object on a creature is NOT throwing it. The two lines are not two different situations, but the same one.
When you DROP an object on a creature the object FALLS on the creature and is not being THROWN.
Is my English incorrect here? I'm not thinking so.
Think about it for a second, you are claiming that a target with a touch AC of 50 but doesn't have evasion is automatically hit by everything dropped on them! It doesn't even pass the 'is this reasonable' test.
-James
I agree, it does not seem reasonable, unless being hit is somehow a foregone conclusion. I'll concede that an attack roll is in order. Now how do we determine the ranged touch attack modifiers in the case of a TK spell for which concentration is no longer being considered? Are they static as with a trap, or are they caster-involved calculations?

james maissen |
I agree, it does not seem reasonable, unless being hit is somehow a foregone conclusion. I'll concede that an attack roll is in order. Now how do we determine the ranged touch attack modifiers in the case of a TK spell for which concentration is no longer being considered? Are they static as with a trap, or are they caster-involved calculations?
I would go through the following line of reasoning:
Simply ceasing concentration is not controlling or aiming in any fashion. It would not get the benefits of actually trying to drop the thing on someone's head.
Likewise the time of the fall is not directly controlled like it would be in the case of a trap, which would be carefully constructed (likely with a pressure plate, etc).
To me the item would fall harmlessly, much like you would treat a disarm attempt causing a weapon to fall. You don't have that make a chance to hit someone, so why give it to this?
Likewise simply dropping something from a height without aiming is going to always miss in D&D, so it is consistent.
Does that seem reasonable? As reasonable as attacking creatures in opposite sides of you with a longspear while in a 5' wide corridor during a full attack action. As reasonable as automatically missing a target down a 5' corridor because you can't see them and aimed for the square directly behind them instead of the one that they were in... et cetera.
-James

Robert Young |

I would go through the following line of reasoning:Simply ceasing concentration is not controlling or aiming in any fashion. It would not get the benefits of actually trying to drop the thing on someone's head.
Likewise the time of the fall is not directly controlled like it would be in the case of a trap, which would be carefully constructed (likely with a pressure plate, etc).
To me the item would fall harmlessly, much like you would treat a disarm attempt causing a weapon to fall. You don't have that make a chance to hit someone, so why give it to this?
Likewise simply dropping something from a height without aiming is going to always miss in D&D, so it is consistent.
Does that seem reasonable? As reasonable as attacking creatures in opposite sides of you with a longspear while in a 5' wide corridor during a full attack action. As reasonable as automatically missing a target down a 5' corridor because you can't see them and aimed for the square directly behind them instead of the one that they were in... et cetera.
-James
That seems reasonable. And should not void Invisibility.
Now how about the splash capability from that urn of Green Slime that somehow dropped outta the sky?

![]() |

0gre wrote:I never mentioned telekinesis in my post so I don't see how it has any baring on my comment whatsoever.Ravingdork wrote:As has been pointed out, the idea that you can lift a 5x5 boulder with telekinesis is patently ridiculous.I believe that falling objects require an attack roll (if your are throwing it down) or a Reflex save (if it is simply dropped). Not both.
The former will break invisibility, the latter will not.
The idea that I could drop a 5x5 boulder into someone's square and then have it completely miss them and deal no damage because I didn't "make an attack roll" is patently ridiculous.
Oh, sorry for assuming that in a thread titled "TELEKINESIS AND INVISIBILITY" you were talking about... telekinesis. It's quite confusing when people pop in talking about similar but completely different subjects in the middle of a thread.

![]() |

Simply ceasing concentration is not controlling or aiming in any fashion. It would not get the benefits of actually trying to drop the thing on someone's head.
There are no rules in the game for the chances of an unaimed object hitting someone so there is no point in arguing about what the rules say about it. If we're talking about dropping a large less dense object then you can probably assume the DC 15 reflex save to avoid it but a large dense object does less damage.
I would have to assume that an un-aimed smaller object would have an easier save DC. So the 375lbs rock much have a DC 10 reflex save to avoid. This is what I would suggest as a GM on the fly but ultimately it's a judgement call at your table because it's just not covered in the rules. Maybe you think the chance is lower.
In the end it's probably not enough damage to bypass your typical opponents DR even if you are talking about the rock hitting.

Ravingdork |

No. It would be both.
No, it wouldn't.
You have him levitating a 7500lb object don't you?
He gave a size, not a weight. Try not to make such assumptions as it only serves to derail the discussion at hand.
Oh, sorry for assuming that in a thread titled "TELEKINESIS AND INVISIBILITY" you were talking about... telekinesis. It's quite confusing when people pop in talking about similar but completely different subjects in the middle of a thread.
I wasn't talking about telekinesis. I was talking about falling objects and invisibility, which some of the discussion has turned towards. A giant could just as easily have dropped a boulder as a wizard could have used a spell.
Please don't be insulting. I dis nothing to warrant your hostile-looking caps. Also, try not to give in to assumptions either. They usually lead to miscommunications and other problems.

james maissen |
james maissen wrote:No. It would be both.No, it wouldn't.
james maissen wrote:You have him levitating a 7500lb object don't you?He gave a size, not a weight. Try not to make such assumptions as it only serves to derail the discussion at hand.
And earlier in the thread Ogre gave a weight to that object, which was never disputed so I took it as valid. Something wrong with reading the entire thread and using what was presented therein?
Anyway, its an aside to the main issue to begin with... which would be that as described it would not hit the target, and in order to hit the target it would need an attack roll which would break the invisibility.
-James

Ravingdork |

And earlier in the thread Ogre gave a weight to that object, which was never disputed so I took it as valid. Something wrong with reading the entire thread and using what was presented therein?
Anyway, its an aside to the main issue to begin with... which would be that as described it would not hit the target, and in order to hit the target it would need an attack roll which would break the invisibility.
-James
Applying what one poster says to what another poster has said is not only bad form, but also makes no sense in practical communication.

james maissen |
Applying what one poster says to what another poster has said is not only bad form, but also makes no sense in practical communication.
Sorry to offend you. I personally call it a conversation.
You figure out the weight of a 5' diameter rock, and we'll go with that. Or don't if that would offend you as well.
Suit yourself,
James

Ravingdork |

Ravingdork wrote:
Applying what one poster says to what another poster has said is not only bad form, but also makes no sense in practical communication.
Sorry to offend you. I personally call it a conversation.
You figure out the weight of a 5' diameter rock, and we'll go with that. Or don't if that would offend you as well.
Suit yourself,
James
Again with the assumptions! Or is it that you make a practice of shading what a person says to support your own words?
I have yet to be offended in this discussion, though the manner in which you and Ogre communicate confounds me somewhat.

james maissen |
Again with the assumptions! Or is it that you make a practice of shading what a person says to support your own words?
I have yet to be offended in this discussion, though the manner in which you and Ogre communicate confounds me somewhat.
Well I guess I have no idea what the hell you're saying.
It's bad form to use things established in a thread within that same thread??
How about being called on using TK for something WAY to heavy to TK, and then changing up to another spell that the same object is still WAY too heavy for? Personally it seemed a VERY valid, and reasonable thing to reference. Why don't you think so?
So I'm sorry, I don't know where you're coming from or what your point, if anything, is here. Are you suggesting that it was Ogre's place to do so and I somehow stepped on his toes? (If so, shouldn't the same logic mean that he, not you, should call me on this?) So, no I don't follow whatever etiquette that you believe exists here that somehow I've committed some faux pas in your eyes.
The main issue is that if you are trying to drop something on someone you need to make a ranged touch attack which will cause you to break invisibility. Not a REF save, but a ranged touch attack. The target might ALSO get a REF save, but it's not an either or kinda thing (as you and others have stated, despite my quoting the passage and providing a link to it).
Simply letting something fall is not sufficient to hit them, which led us to Zurai's psuedo-trap that involved a spell that can lift 100lbs/level trying to hold up a 5' diameter rock (that looks to weigh in at multiple tons). But if he would go on to take the damage from the falling objects section then he's going to need to make a touch attack and go visible. If he wishes to claim (as he does) an auto-hit then he has to model it after something else entirely.
Now is it alright that I mention this to you, after all you're not Zurai? Or am I continuing to post 'in bad form' whatever you happen to mean by that...
-James

Ravingdork |

Well I guess I have no idea what the hell you're saying.
It's bad form to use things established in a thread within that same thread??
How about being called on using TK for something WAY to heavy to TK, and then changing up to another spell that the same object is still WAY too heavy for? Personally it seemed a VERY valid, and reasonable thing to reference. Why don't you think so?
So I'm sorry, I don't know where you're coming from or what your point, if anything, is here. Are you suggesting that it was Ogre's place to do so and I somehow stepped on his toes? (If so, shouldn't the same logic mean that he, not you, should call me on this?) So, no I don't follow whatever etiquette that you believe exists here that somehow I've committed some faux pas in your eyes.
The main issue is that if you are trying to drop something on someone you need to make a ranged touch attack which will cause you to break invisibility. Not a REF save, but a ranged touch attack. The target might ALSO get a REF save, but it's not an either or kinda thing (as you and others have stated, despite my quoting the passage and providing a link to it).
Simply letting something fall is not sufficient to hit them, which led us to Zurai's psuedo-trap that involved a spell that can lift 100lbs/level trying to hold up a 5' diameter rock (that looks to weigh in at multiple tons). But if he would go on to take the damage from the falling objects section then he's going to need to make a touch attack and go visible. If he wishes to claim (as he does) an auto-hit then he has to model it after something else entirely.
Now is it alright that I mention this to you, after all you're not Zurai? Or am I continuing to post 'in bad form' whatever you happen to mean by...
It's plenty clear that you disagree with Zurai and I on how the falling object rules work. Rather than backup your argument, however, you either (1) cling to the same rules text despite people telling you that you are mis-reading its meaning and (2) go off and find some other irrelevant topic to discredit.
Even if Zurai and I HAD given an obscene weight to the falling object in question or specifically stated we were using telekinesis, it would make little difference. Replace the boulder with something lighter, or the spell with a giant pushing the object off a cliff and our arguments would remain the same (which is that the victim is NOT protected by his armor class AND his saving throw and that running it in the manner you describe makes little to no sense in a number of circumstances--one of which Zurai was kind enough to provide [though the situation he described did strike me as a little contrived]).
You sir, are simply throwing straw man after straw man.

![]() |

I wasn't talking about telekinesis. I was talking about falling objects and invisibility, which some of the discussion has turned towards. A giant could just as easily have dropped a boulder as a wizard could have used a spell.
If you are going to break context you should do it explicitly rather than correcting someone for assuming you are sticking to the subject matter. Dropping a rock physically IS different from releasing focus on a spell.
Please don't be insulting. I dis nothing to warrant your hostile-looking caps. Also, try not to give in to assumptions either. They usually lead to miscommunications and other problems.
I do apologize about the tone of my message. In retrospect starting any post with sarcasm is in poor taste.
As for CAPS, kindly refer to the thread title which I quoted via cut and paste.

james maissen |
It's plenty clear that you disagree with Zurai and I on how the falling object rules work. Rather than backup your argument, however, you either (1) cling to the same rules text despite people telling you that you are mis-reading its meaning...
So explain to me it's meaning.
When you drop an object on someone, does the object fall or is it hurled?
To me it falls. Which means the target ALSO gets a REF save for half if they are aware of the object that is being dropped on them.
If it were hurled you would not be talking falling objects but instead thrown objects, right? This is the section for objects that are falling and the bit about how to handle those dropped on someone.
So you are claiming that be electing to drop things there is an auto-hit occurring (REF save for half) and there is no targeting involved. That the first two lines don't apply to this for some reason?
Situation NPC A with 0BAB elects to drop 5 rocks into square A 100 feet below that contains a horse and rider both of which with touch ACs well over 20. Both I take it need to make 5 REF saves as each of the rocks hits both of them (baring evasion)? Meanwhile the NPC would have trouble consistently hitting the square with many thrown weapons at that range... but they can drop them with pinpoint accuracy so as to hit even multiple targets!
It doesn't seem reasonable nor right. So address this rather than say 'you're wrong'.. actually read the section in question.
-James
PS: And Zurai came up with the other contrived scenario it just had the same exact problem with it that his prior one did for which Ogre called him out on. I still don't see what's wrong with doing the same exact thing while addressing the situation, why do you?

Zurai |

Great. Find rules for 'emergent situations' in there somewhere. They aren't directly modeled now are they?
This is quite silly.There literally cannot be rules for an emergent situation. That's the very definition of an emergent situation -- it's something that emerges as a result of rules interacting in a way that was not explicitly designed. Saying "but there aren't any rules for an emergent situation!" is laughable. An emergent behavior or emergent property can appear when a number of simple entities (agents) operate in an environment, forming more complex behaviors as a collective.
Emergent situations are the results of the interactions of basic rules. In this case, an inescapable falling object.
So either you elect to use the rules for falling object traps, objects being dropped by someone, or something else. But whatever you do use, you need to do in a decent way. Imho, the way you have it set up it is most closely approximated by a trap. YMMV.
You use the rules for falling objects. There are two such possibilities: either a ranged touch attack or a reflex save.
You have him levitating a 7500lb object don't you? Now mind you I'm trusting Ogre's math on that which you never refuted, so if there is error there then the two of you can work that out.
...
PS: And Zurai came up with the other contrived scenario it just had the same exact problem with it that his prior one did for which Ogre called him out on. I still don't see what's wrong with doing the same exact thing while addressing the situation, why do you?
First, yes I did refute Ogre's argument, by way of pointing out that it's utterly irrelevant what is being levitated.
Second, I never stated what Wizz was using to levitate the rock, nor the composition of the rock. Why? Because it's irrelevant to the discussion, and you know it. If you simply must know, he's using Wizz's rock mover, a variant of telekinesis that can only be used to lift and move rocks, but can affect up to 1 ton of rock per caster level.You know that your argument doesn't stand up to the example, so you're desperately throwing out straw men and every other logical fallacy you can come up with to try to derail it. Sorry, it doesn't work that way.

meabolex |

I'm on Zurai's side for this one. The example I'd use is flaming sphere. If you direct flaming sphere to a specific area containing an enemy, you're not losing invisibility. Your command to the sphere is just to change location -- you didn't instruct the sphere to attack. It automatically does that where it goes.
Likewise, you're directing where the telekinesis rock drops. You tell the rock where to drop, but you don't actually instruct the rock to attack. The direction it drops (the attack roll) is decided by you, but the spell you're using doesn't directly deal damage (it just holds a rock up).

james maissen |
You use the rules for falling objects. There are two such possibilities: either a ranged touch attack or a reflex save.
And again it's not an either/or thing in those rules, though you and one or two others keep asserting that is the case.
You try to drop an object on someone. Is the object falling or being thrown? It's falling, it was not thrown. Thus they ALSO get a REF save after the touch attack hits them.
The rules for dealing with falling objects that are part of a trap are different and handled elsewhere (traps section). Likewise the rules for thrown objects are different and handled elsewhere (combat section).
If you are electing to attempt to model your situation after a falling object then you need to use all of the rules for it.
But, as I've said, time and time again, we need to be clear on the rules for falling objects.
You and Ravingdork seem to read things differently from me. Care to explain? Go through the first 3 lines perhaps of the paragraph?
And as you are currently reading it, you need not have a tunnel or a form fitting object. EVERY dropped object automatically hits everything that doesn't have evasion in its path as you read things! Now you are reading them incorrectly, but your position should not need any of what you've put forward there...
-James

Zurai |

And as you are currently reading it, you need not have a tunnel or a form fitting object. EVERY dropped object automatically hits everything that doesn't have evasion in its path as you read things!
And the way you're reading it, EVERY object that is not aimed and isn't a trap automatically misses. Frankly, that's ludicrous.

james maissen |
I'm on Zurai's side for this one. The example I'd use is flaming sphere. If you direct flaming sphere to a specific area containing an enemy, you're not losing invisibility. Your command to the sphere is just to change location -- you didn't instruct the sphere to attack. It automatically does that where it goes.
The effect of flaming sphere is a 5' diameter sphere.
When that effect includes a foe then the caster of invisibility becomes visible. If you direct that effect to move into the square of a foe, or directly cast the spell onto the square of a foe, you have done so.
A more interesting example might be casting flaming sphere and then have the foe move into its square. (Or a wall of fire cast without any foes within range and then one enters the range).
-James

james maissen |
james maissen wrote:And as you are currently reading it, you need not have a tunnel or a form fitting object. EVERY dropped object automatically hits everything that doesn't have evasion in its path as you read things!And the way you're reading it, EVERY object that is not aimed and isn't a trap automatically misses. Frankly, that's ludicrous.
It's part of the abstraction of the game.
PC A misses with a projectile weapon against a target. What chance does he have to hit someone nearby?
Now 3.0 had rules for hitting cover, but they were removed in 3.5. This is what you are wanting here.
But the rules you are looking at that I've quoted for you, don't say anything like what you are saying here. Go back, actually read it.
-James

meabolex |

My apologies, I was misreading the 3.5 FAQ. I think a more applicable example would be the flaming sphere creating a fire that engulfs foes. The spell effect indirectly causes the damage.
In the case of telekinesis dropping a rock, the damage from the spell is indirectly related to lifting the rock with the spell. Gravity actually propels the rock to the earth.

Zurai |

PC A misses with a projectile weapon against a target. What chance does he have to hit someone nearby?
Now 3.0 had rules for hitting cover, but they were removed in 3.5. This is what you are wanting here.
No, it's one of your strawmen. Missing with a ranged weapon has nothing to do with falling objects. When you miss with a ranged weapon, you've already rolled an attack roll and missed. No attack roll has been made for an undirected falling object. By your rules, avalanches, meteors, hail, and so on will all magically miss all creatures 100% of the time, because they are not aimed and don't make attack rolls.

james maissen |
My apologies, I was misreading the 3.5 FAQ. I think a more applicable example would be the flaming sphere creating a fire that engulfs foes. The spell effect indirectly causes the damage.
In the case of telekinesis dropping a rock, the damage from the spell is indirectly related to lifting the rock with the spell. Gravity actually propels the rock to the earth.
The issue in the later is when dropping an object, in general you don't hit things. When you are disarmed you don't deal damage from your weapon falling, likewise when you miss with a projectile weapon you don't hit someone else with it, etc.
People here are trying to use the rules for dropping objects on people (which involves a touch attack) and then misreading the passage to say that they automatically hit, that it's just a REF save, and that this isn't an attack.
-James

james maissen |
No, it's one of your strawmen. Missing with a ranged weapon has nothing to do with falling objects. When you miss with a ranged weapon, you've already rolled an attack roll and missed. No attack roll has been made for an undirected falling object. By your rules, avalanches, meteors, hail, and so on will all magically miss all creatures 100% of the time, because they are not aimed and don't make attack rolls.
You still haven't gone through the section on dropping objects on someone. Its four small sentences. It's can't take you that long.
If you are modeling those things by falling objects then yes, they miss.
Now let's take your list of items there:
Avalanches. You think that these are modeled after falling objects? Please go here instead, it's a CR 7 hazard found at http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering---final/environment---final/wildernes s#TOC-Avalanches-CR-7-
Hail. You're also in the wrong section for hail. You want the weather section. It's conveniently nearby at http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering---final/environment---final/weather
Meteors. Well here you've got me. I don't know offhand where they elected to deal with rules for meteors hitting random people! Mind you they do have a suggested range for damage by getting hit by lightning (without any REF save).
But beyond DM fiat or PCs standing at the top of castles with long metal rods during thunderstorms, I don't expect PCs to be struck by lightning.. nor do I expect meteors to fall out of the sky to hit them.
-James

Zurai |