
Seeker of 7 |
do trip attempts with trip weapons provoke attacks of oportunity, and if they do what then does kobold tail attachment sweeper do
(it has trip property but:
'Sweeper: When properly used, this sharply curved piece
of metal can knock opponents off their feet. Unlike most
trip weapons, you cannot drop it if you are tripped during
your own trip attempt.'- Arg 136
and you can trip using any weapon)

concerro |

do trip attempts with trip weapons provoke attacks of oportunity, and if they do what then does kobold tail attachment sweeper do
(it has trip property but:
'Sweeper: When properly used, this sharply curved piece
of metal can knock opponents off their feet. Unlike most
trip weapons, you cannot drop it if you are tripped during
your own trip attempt.'- Arg 136
and you can trip using any weapon)
Yes they provoke.
When a weapon has a property attached to it then you get to weapon enhancement bonuses, and bonuses from other sources to it, when using it to trip someone.
Example: If you try to trip someone with a +3 longsword then you don't get to add the +3 to the attack roll to trip them, but if a weapon has the trip property then you would.
For other maneuvers, either you’re not using a weapon at all, or the weapon is incidental to making the maneuver and its bonuses shouldn’t make you better at attempting the maneuver. For example, just because you have a +5 greatsword doesn’t mean it gives you a +5 bonus on dirty trick checks (Pathfinder RPG Advanced Player’s Guide 320), and just because you have a +5 dagger doesn’t mean it gives you a +5 bonus on grapple checks. Of course, the GM is free to rule that in certain circumstances, a creature can apply weapon bonuses for these maneuvers, such as when using a sap in a dirty trick maneuver to hit an opponent in a sensitive spot.

BuzzardB |

Example: If you try to trip someone with a +3 longsword then you don't get to add the +3 to the attack roll to trip them, but if a weapon has the trip property then you would.
The Blog you linked says the opposite actually.
Disarm, sunder, and trip are normally the only kinds of combat maneuvers in which you’re actually using a weapon (natural weapons and unarmed strikes are considered weapons for this purpose) to perform the maneuver, and therefore the weapon’s bonuses (enhancement bonuses, feats such as Weapon Focus, fighter weapon training, and so on) apply to the roll.
It's saying if the maneuver you are performing doesn't involve a weapon to perform then you don't get a bonus, like a grapple or Dirty Trick.

Seeker of 7 |
Yes they provoke.When a weapon has a property attached to it then you get to weapon enhancement bonuses, and bonuses from other sources to it, when using it to trip someone.
Example: If you try to trip someone with a +3 longsword then you don't get to add the +3 to the attack roll to trip them, but if a weapon has the trip property then you would.
....
link to blog
infact that was changed and updated
No. When making a trip combat maneuver, you don't have to use a weapon with the trip special feature--you can use any weapon. For example, you can trip with a longsword or an unarmed strike, even though those weapons don't have the trip special feature.
so if only thing 'trip property' does is toenable you to drop the weapon to avoid being tripped ifyou fail, what does then trip weapon you cant drop (ie sweeper tail attachment) exactly do
does trip weapon property have something else bulit into it, like not provoking attack of oportunity, ie being ' a similar ability' to improved trip (as is mentioned in trip combat maneuvre)?
or is the tripproperty on the sweeper redundant?

Quandary |

not entirely redundant...
for one, any ability that only works with trip weapons will work with the sweeper tail attachment.
secondly, and most concretely, check out this line from a rules blog post:
If you’re using a weapon with the trip special feature, and you’re attempting a drag or reposition combat maneuver (Advanced Player’s Guide 321–322), you may apply the weapon’s bonuses to the roll because trip weapons are also suitable for dragging and repositioning (this also means we don’t have to add “drag” and “reposition” weapon properties to existing weapons).

Quandary |

@concerro:
Note: This is a revision of this FAQ entry based on a Paizo blog about combat maneuvers with weapons . The previous version of this FAQ stated that using a trip weapon was the only way you could apply weapon enhancement bonuses, Weapon Focus bonuses, and other such bonuses to the trip combat maneuver roll. The clarification in that blog means any weapon used to trip applies these bonuses when making a trip combat maneuver, so this FAQ was updated to omit the "only trip weapons let you apply these bonuses" limitation.
this functionality is in-line with RAW, while the previous temporary 'enhancement bonus from Trip Weapons only' didn't have anything to do with RAW and would have needed Errata to actually be a valid reading of RAW (except said FAQ was subsequently over-ruled anyways).

Talonhawke |

Concerro here is where SKR clarifies the bonuses applying regardless if weapon
Every time this blog entry says "weapon" instead of "trip weapon," it means "any weapon."
In other words, you can make disarm, sunder, and trip checks with any weapon, and you apply your bonuses (enhancement bonus, Weapon Focus, and so on) to the disarm, sunder, or trip combat maneuver roll.
It doesn't have to be a manufactured weapon (thus you can use unarmed strikes and/or natural attacks ) and it doesn't have to be a weapon with a special feature relating to that combat maneuver (such as a disarm weapon or trip weapon). Thus you can trip with a whip, longsword, unarmed strike, bite, greatsword, and so on, and apply your bonuses to the combat maneuver roll.

concerro |

Concerro here is where SKR clarifies the bonuses applying regardless if weapon
SKR wrote:Every time this blog entry says "weapon" instead of "trip weapon," it means "any weapon."
In other words, you can make disarm, sunder, and trip checks with any weapon, and you apply your bonuses (enhancement bonus, Weapon Focus, and so on) to the disarm, sunder, or trip combat maneuver roll.
It doesn't have to be a manufactured weapon (thus you can use unarmed strikes and/or natural attacks ) and it doesn't have to be a weapon with a special feature relating to that combat maneuver (such as a disarm weapon or trip weapon). Thus you can trip with a whip, longsword, unarmed strike, bite, greatsword, and so on, and apply your bonuses to the combat maneuver roll.
Thanks.