
angelroble |

When you are grappling someone, you can:
"Move: You can move both yourself and your target up to
half your speed. At the end of your movement, you can place
your target in any square adjacent to you. If you attempt to
place your foe in a hazardous location, such as in a wall of
fire or over a pit, the target receives a free attempt to break
your grapple with a +4 bonus."
Is there any rule that prevents flying (or swimming/climbing/...)?

Lokie |

When you are grappling someone, you can:
"Move: You can move both yourself and your target up to
half your speed. At the end of your movement, you can place
your target in any square adjacent to you. If you attempt to
place your foe in a hazardous location, such as in a wall of
fire or over a pit, the target receives a free attempt to break
your grapple with a +4 bonus."
Is there any rule that prevents flying (or swimming/climbing/...)?
I guess it would depend on your flight ability first. You might not be able to carry the extra weight.
Secondly... carrying the opponent away from the ground to a distance they might fall would be placing them in a hazardous location so I'd suspect they would get another free attempt to break free just prior to take off.

Majuba |

I guess it would depend on your flight ability first. You might not be able to carry the extra weight.
Secondly... carrying the opponent away from the ground to a distance they might fall would be placing them in a hazardous location so I'd suspect they would get another free attempt to break free just prior to take off.
Agreed on both points: since only the "grappler" at that moment can elect to move, the "grapplee" is being placed in a hazardous position - though I might not grant it until maybe 10' up - it's not nearly as sudden as being placed over a pit or in a burning wall.

TheChozyn |

Agreed on both points: since only the "grappler" at that moment can elect to move, the "grapplee" is being placed in a hazardous position - though I might not grant it until maybe 10' up - it's not nearly as sudden as being placed over a pit or in a burning wall.
The exact way I would rule it.

Uncle Monkey |

Secondly... carrying the opponent away from the ground to a distance they might fall would be placing them in a hazardous location so I'd suspect they would get another free attempt to break free just prior to take off.
Alternately, I might allow the free "hazardous location" attempt to let the character hang on while they are in the air.

Michael Johnson 66 |

Lokie wrote:Agreed on both points: since only the "grappler" at that moment can elect to move, the "grapplee" is being placed in a hazardous position - though I might not grant it until maybe 10' up - it's not nearly as sudden as being placed over a pit or in a burning wall.I guess it would depend on your flight ability first. You might not be able to carry the extra weight.
Secondly... carrying the opponent away from the ground to a distance they might fall would be placing them in a hazardous location so I'd suspect they would get another free attempt to break free just prior to take off.
Yep, and the grappled victim wouldn't necessarily know that you were going to fly up and drop them until you had ascended 10 feet or more (I imagine it would happen pretty quickly).

![]() |

Resurrecting this thread since it's on point for my question.
If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you,
move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails). Although both creatures have the grappled condition, you can, as the creature that initiated the grapple, release the grapple as a free action, removing the condition from both you and the target.
Assuming an enlarged Witch/Magus (hexcrafter) with Prehensile Hair grapples a target 15' away with his Beard.
Now since if you successfully grapple a target who is not adjacent to you is automatically moved to an adjacent square, is there anything that prevents you from choosing a square in the air ?
(say the square directly in front of you and 3 squares up since you are now 2 squares tall and you hold him 1 square above that but still adjacent to you on a diagonal).
Would you grant an additional save since the target is now in a hazardous situation (15' in the air) even though the grappler didn't use the move action?
Second, same situation but assume the witch/magus is flying and then flies straight up another 15' and moves the grapplee. This would definately allow for an extra grapple check to break free but since the hair that's grappling cannot be the target of an attack (which a grapple check is) what happens then?
Yes I have the crazy idea of a enlarged, flying Magus grabbing enemies with his beard and flinging them 40+ feet in the air and are knocked prone every time they hit the ground.

Ashenfall |

Note, that under the Constitutionalized Articles of the Greater Universe, Section 4,972, Subsection A3pq-zorgnaap, Paragraph Quaalon-XVI:
"Any prehensile beard, capable of movement equal to or greater than ten feet, provokes attacks of opportunity from every creature with at least one rank of Profession (Barber) in squares either in, or adjacent to, any squares that the beard is moving through. Furthermore, if any attack of opportunity succeeds in damaging said beard, the beard gains the "shorn" condition, and it's action is interrupted."
So, no, unfortunately, it wouldn't work.