Magic item creation and charges per day


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

If I created a magic item with three charges per day, what would i multiply the base cost by? The rules say 5 divided by the charges per day. It does not say how to round.


vash wrote:
If I created a magic item with three charges per day, what would i multiply the base cost by? The rules say 5 divided by the charges per day. It does not say how to round.

In my opinion the easiest way is to divide the base price by 5 and to multiply the result with the charges per day.

But another question: this rule seems to imply that it is not possible to make an item with unlimited charges, the maximum is 5 charges per day. Is this correct?


Zen79 wrote:
But another question: this rule seems to imply that it is not possible to make an item with unlimited charges, the maximum is 5 charges per day. Is this correct?

Unlimited charges would be the 'command word' activated items.


Funkytrip wrote:
Zen79 wrote:
But another question: this rule seems to imply that it is not possible to make an item with unlimited charges, the maximum is 5 charges per day. Is this correct?
Unlimited charges would be the 'command word' activated items.

But the example item for 'command word' is the Cape of the Mountebank and it has 1 charge per day.

In my opinion, both 'command word' and 'use-activated' items have a maximum of 5 charges per day.
It doesn't say so explictly, but otherwise things like weapons with unlimited use-activated True Strike were possible (for only 2.000 GP).


I think anything past 5 charges per day is the equivalent of infinite uses. (actually 5 charges is also that) You shouldn't be able to save money by making something with 9 charges instead of infinite, because you won't ever need more than 9.


vash wrote:
I think anything past 5 charges per day is the equivalent of infinite uses. (actually 5 charges is also that) You shouldn't be able to save money by making something with 9 charges instead of infinite, because you won't ever need more than 9.

Not quite.

If you have a spell which has a duration in rounds, you use spell-level x caster-level regardless is it's charges or unlimited. But if it's unlimited you multiply the whole cost by 4, whereas a 5/day item is only cost x1.
So an unlimited use item of a rounds/day spell would be equal in cost to a 20charge/day item of the same spell.
Minutes duration applies a x2 cost multiplier, and 10min/lvl is 1.5. 24 hour duration or better you divine the price in half (It's more expensive than 1charge/day, but it can't be dispelled, only suppressed).

So the charges/day thing may or may not equate at 5/day depending on the spell.

There's no specific rules about spells with an instantaneous duration, and many GM's differ in opinion on a price modifier, or even to allow them. Personally I'd say that they have the same x4 cost as a spell with duration in rounds, otherwise you'd have everyone with items that let them do unlimited magic missiles (1/day) for 2000 gp each. Or outfitting the party rogue with an acid splash bracer for 1000gp, that lets him blatantly ignore DR at all times with a ranged touch attack that carries SA dice.


Ressy wrote:

Not quite.

If you have a spell which has a duration in rounds, you use spell-level x caster-level regardless is it's charges or unlimited. But if it's unlimited you multiply the whole cost by 4, whereas a 5/day item is only cost x1.
So an unlimited use item of a rounds/day spell would be equal in cost to a 20charge/day item of the same spell.
Minutes duration applies a x2 cost multiplier, and 10min/lvl is 1.5. 24 hour duration or better you divine the price in half (It's more expensive than 1charge/day, but it can't be dispelled, only suppressed).

So the charges/day thing may or may not equate at 5/day depending on the spell.

There's no specific rules about spells with an instantaneous duration, and many GM's differ in opinion on a price modifier, or even to allow them. Personally I'd say that they have the same x4 cost as a spell with duration in rounds, otherwise you'd have everyone with items that let them do unlimited magic missiles (1/day) for 2000 gp each. Or outfitting the party rogue with an acid splash bracer for 1000gp, that lets him blatantly ignore DR at all times with a ranged touch attack that carries SA dice.

Spells with an instantaneous duration are defined as command word activated, which is the entry in the table directly above continuous/use activated. They require a standard action to activate, as opposed to no action for continuous/use activated items. Also, remember that these are guidelines and if you think that your players will abuse an item you can feel free to increase the cost.

RPG Superstar 2011 Top 4

There's a huge difference between having 9 uses of 1 minute Enlarge Person, and non-stop continuous Enlarge Person that you don't have to spend a round activating each fight.


Ellipsis wrote:
Ressy wrote:

Not quite.

If you have a spell which has a duration in rounds, you use spell-level x caster-level regardless is it's charges or unlimited. But if it's unlimited you multiply the whole cost by 4, whereas a 5/day item is only cost x1.
So an unlimited use item of a rounds/day spell would be equal in cost to a 20charge/day item of the same spell.
Minutes duration applies a x2 cost multiplier, and 10min/lvl is 1.5. 24 hour duration or better you divine the price in half (It's more expensive than 1charge/day, but it can't be dispelled, only suppressed).

So the charges/day thing may or may not equate at 5/day depending on the spell.

There's no specific rules about spells with an instantaneous duration, and many GM's differ in opinion on a price modifier, or even to allow them. Personally I'd say that they have the same x4 cost as a spell with duration in rounds, otherwise you'd have everyone with items that let them do unlimited magic missiles (1/day) for 2000 gp each. Or outfitting the party rogue with an acid splash bracer for 1000gp, that lets him blatantly ignore DR at all times with a ranged touch attack that carries SA dice.

Spells with an instantaneous duration are defined as command word activated, which is the entry in the table directly above continuous/use activated. They require a standard action to activate, as opposed to no action for continuous/use activated items. Also, remember that these are guidelines and if you think that your players will abuse an item you can feel free to increase the cost.

Interesting, I had not noted the distinction between continuous and unlimited use items in the notes, though that also means that unlimited use command word items of Divine Power don't cost 4x as much as a 5-time charged item, but I suppose they're guidelines anyway.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic item creation and charges per day All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.