
sempai33 |

I wish to know a thing. A DM used a Shambling Mound against us, and there were two situations for which I want to have an explanation:
- to come near us, the shambling Mound charged us, but since he has 10ft reach, the DM stopped his move 10 feet before us ans used his full round attack (2 slams and Grab to constrict). In my opinion, during a charge, you have to stop your move on the nearest position (5 feet) to your opponent and just make a single attack, so one slam. Am I correct ?
- the shambling mound succeed in grappling one PC. During the next turn, he tried to maintain his grapple (failed) and so the DM make a full round attack (2 slams) against the other PC. In my opinion, the fact to maintain a grapple is a standard action, so he can’t make a full round action, only one attack of its free slam, no?

![]() |

I wish to know a thing. A DM used a Shambling Mound against us, and there were two situations for which I want to have an explanation:
- to come near us, the shambling Mound charged us, but since he has 10ft reach, the DM stopped his move 10 feet before us ans used his full round attack (2 slams and Grab to constrict). In my opinion, during a charge, you have to stop your move on the nearest position (5 feet) to your opponent and just make a single attack, so one slam. Am I correct ?
- the shambling mound succeed in grappling one PC. During the next turn, he tried to maintain his grapple (failed) and so the DM make a full round attack (2 slams) against the other PC. In my opinion, the fact to maintain a grapple is a standard action, so he can’t make a full round action, only one attack of its free slam, no?
Your DM screwed you guys but not totally. The shambling mound can stop and hit you with reach. He cannot hit you for a full attack on a charge. A charge is a single attack.
The mound also gave up it's full attack on the round that it tried to maintain the grapple. It could, after failing to maintain the grapple, do a single attack not a full attack.
![]() |

You probably should avoid arguing with your DM, who is doing what he can to run the game smoothly and make play fun, even when it contradicts the letter of the rules. Having said that,
1.
You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent.
The DM was correct to stop the shambling mound at the first square where it had reach to attack. In fact it's not allowed to move any closer on its charge.
You're right that it should have taken only one melee attack, unless the creature has a special ability that says otherwise.
2. I agree, making a check to maintain a grapple is normally a standard action. That means that the creature shouldn't have attacked without using a special ability, though it could move.
A standard shambling mound has no such abilities.

sempai33 |

2. I agree, making a check to maintain a grapple is normally a standard action. That means that the creature shouldn't have attacked without using a special ability, though it could move.
Thanks a lot. Just a last question, if it succeed in maintening its grapple, can it attack with its second slam or not ?