
![]() |

I see no limit on the # of times you can use this
Staff of Wish: 3 charges to activate
WTF?
No daily limit, but I see many problems your DM would have already shut down.
1) Your DM let you make a Staff of Wish? I wouldn't (and I am not required to do so by RAW.)
2) You let them make an item with 3 charges to activate a single ability? You are not required to allow that by RAW.
3) You let them make a staff with one spell in it? You are not required to allow that by RAW.
4) You need to Prepare the spell and use it every day (1 day per 1,000 gp) so you need to spend 25,000 gp in Materials per day of the base price to make the staff.
5) You need 50 * 25,000 or 1.25 million gp to make it due to the material components.
6) There is not statement in the ability to cover wands/staves of expensive material components, so the DM is not required to allow these without a cost during the recharge or expenditure.
7) I read it as 3 9th level slots per charge, so nine 9th level slots (or combined slot values) to activate the 3 charge Wish.
Pretty much all 7 of those you can defend as "RAW" because the RAW doesn't cover those corner cases and what you do in that case is still RAW.
(400 x 9 x 17 x 5/10) + (25000 x 50 x 1/5) = 30600 + 250000 = 280,600 gp or less than 1/3 your wealth by level.
You missed the 31 days of casting Wish 1/day during creation, so add 31*25,000 = 775,000 gp to the creation cost of that items.
30600 + 250000 + 775000 = 1,055,600 (over 1 million gp)
![]() |

James just wrote what I was about to write.
You need to cast Wish, every single day of the creation process, at a cost of 25,000gp per day, in addition to the {material components x50} required for crafting the staff itself.
Depending on your final blueprints (since there have been a few variations proposed, using 3 carges/wish or 5 charges/wish), it's still going to add hundreds of thousands of gp to the price.

![]() |

I think what we all need to agree on, is that the Sorceror level 20 Apotheosis ability seriously needs an errata, to read:
"...when activating a charged item, the sorceror may expend spell slots of equivalent level to the desired effect, in place of charges. An effect that requires multiple charges, requires multiple spell slots to be expended, but they can all be expended simultaneously..."
One of the major reasons so many home-brew, free-form 'spell-point' casting systems have crashed and burned over the last 35 years, is that their creators have forgotten, or seem oblivious to, the fact that spell power does not increase arithmetically, but logarithmically.
Three Expeditious Retreat do NOT equal a Haste.
Two Alter Self do NOT equal Polymorph.
Etc.
So, nine level 1 spells do NOT equal a level 9 spell.
ANY rule that fails to consider that fact, has failed at the first hurdle.
I don't believe it was ever the intention of the writers that the sorceror would be able to power wishes with Grease.

dulsin |

4) You need to Prepare the spell and use it every day (1 day per 1,000 gp) so you need to spend 25,000 gp in Materials per day of the base price to make the staff.5) You need 50 * 25,000 or 1.25 million gp to make it due to the material components.
I have to disagree with this one. There is nothing in the book that says you need to spend the material cost of the spell x charges and x days of creation. This would be a major change to the ways item creation works.
The creator must have prepared the spells to be stored (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any focus the spells require as well as material component costs sufficient to activate the spell 50 times (divide this amount by the number of charges one use of the spell expends). Material components are consumed when he begins working, but focuses are not. (A focus used in creating a staff can be reused.) The act of working on the staff triggers the prepared spells, making them unavailable for casting during each day of the staff 's creation. (That is, those spell slots are expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if they had been cast.)
As if they had been cast. At no time do you actually cast the spells during item creation. He just has to have a prepared wish.
Multiple charges for use of an item's ability reduces costs. So in the example given by the OP the material costs of the staff would be:
25,000gp x 50 / 3 = 416,667 gp
I think there is a mistake in the rules since they changed the max charges on staves to 10. So the real costs should be:
25,000gp x 10 / 3 = 83,333 gp

KaeYoss |

Oh...I was on the end of some bad wishing in Advanced D&D back in the day but I think a meteor swarm of flaming diamonds would be pretty lame to have to deal with.
Deal with it? You just die from it. You get no save from your wishes!
It could be worse. One elf who lost all gear was really pissed and so wished to "get all his s@~$ back".
Splat. Seriously. Just splat. RIGHT IN THE EYE!

KaeYoss |

I agree with whomever I'm agreeing here: If you need a spell to create a magic item, you don't need to actually "cast" cast it each day. You don't need the components.
If it's a spellcasting item, like a wand, you will need to pay the materials for each charge that is in there (works a bit differently with staves), but that's all.

Epic Meepo RPG Superstar 2009 Top 16, 2012 Top 32 |
It seems silly to deny a Staff of Magic Missiles just because it's not on the list, just as it's silly to disallow a partial Staff of Abjuration for the specialist Abjurer just because he doesn't yet have the money or spells to complete it. I find it hard to believe the rules are written such that customization is out of the question.
I wouldn't say that the rules prevent custom staves from being created. I'd say that the rules establish the default types of staves that you are allowed to create. Any other type of staff requires your GM's permission, because the staff rules explicitly state that you can't just put whatever spells you want in an item and call it a staff.