Attacks under Melee entry in Bestiary require a full round?


Rules Questions


My memory betrays me. Can, for example, a skeleton make 2 attacks (sword/claw or 2 claws) as a standard action? Or does it need a full round for that?


Unless otherwise stated (as far as I know, Hydras are the only creatures that otherwise state), making more than one attack requires a full-round action.


Zurai wrote:
Unless otherwise stated (as far as I know, Hydras are the only creatures that otherwise state), making more than one attack requires a full-round action.

I got the bestiary yesterday, and nothing is stated regarding hydras being able to use all of their attacks as a standard action. We need an official clarification regarding this.

Also I'm confused now about the skeleton. It says:

Melee broken scimitar +0 (1d6), claw –3 (1d4+1) or 2 claws +2 (1d4+2)

Does this mean that as a full round attack a skeleton can attack with a sword and scimitar together? Because it wasn't the case in 3.5.


You sure? It's a huge nerf to hydras if they lost that ability. I don't have a copy of the Bestiary yet, but the 3.5 Monster Manual has this to say at the start of the generic Hydra entry:

Quote:
Hydras can attack with all their heads at no penalty, even if they move or charge during the round.


Zurai wrote:

You sure? It's a huge nerf to hydras if they lost that ability. I don't have a copy of the Bestiary yet, but the 3.5 Monster Manual has this to say at the start of the generic Hydra entry:

Quote:
Hydras can attack with all their heads at no penalty, even if they move or charge during the round.

Yes, I'm sure, I have the PDF in front of me. However, I see that they got pounce instead, which lets them make full attack when charging. So they got nerfed only when it comes to moving, I guess.

Also see my question about the skeleton above: can a skeleton use one scimitar attack and one claw attack in the same round? The entry for its melee attacks confuses me a bit:

Melee broken scimitar +0 (1d6), claw –3 (1d4+1) or 2 claws +2 (1d4+2)


You see that "or"? Everything before the "or" is one full-attack sequence and everything after the "or" is one full-attack sequence. So, yes, he can attack with sword and claw.

Note that this particular rule is actually present in the Core Rulebook, no need to even look at the Bestiary. The Core Rulebook tells you that you can make any secondary natural attacks you want as long as they don't use a limb you used to make a weapon-based attack with. So, since the skeleton has two natural attacks (claw claw), both of which are associated with a limb, and one weapon (the broken sword) held in one limb, he can either A) attack with his sword in one limb and the claw of the other, or B) attack with both claws.


Zurai wrote:

You see that "or"? Everything before the "or" is one full-attack sequence and everything after the "or" is one full-attack sequence. So, yes, he can attack with sword and claw.

Note that this particular rule is actually present in the Core Rulebook, no need to even look at the Bestiary. The Core Rulebook tells you that you can make any secondary natural attacks you want as long as they don't use a limb you used to make a weapon-based attack with. So, since the skeleton has two natural attacks (claw claw), both of which are associated with a limb, and one weapon (the broken sword) held in one limb, he can either A) attack with his sword in one limb and the claw of the other, or B) attack with both claws.

Thanks for the clarification. This is a change from the 3.5 skeleton actually - there the full attack is listed as:

Scimitar +1 melee (1d6+1/18–20) or 2 claws +1 melee (1d4+1)


encorus wrote:


Thanks for the clarification. This is a change from the 3.5 skeleton actually - there the full attack is listed as:

Scimitar +1 melee (1d6+1/18–20) or 2 claws +1 melee (1d4+1)

That is because the 3.5 skeleton uses a Heavy Shield and the PFRPG one uses armor. This is why the 3.5 skeleton never got the off-hand claw attack, but he could have if it had dropped the shield.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

encorus wrote:

Melee broken scimitar +0 (1d6), claw –3 (1d4+1) or 2 claws +2 (1d4+2)

Does this mean that as a full round attack a skeleton can attack with a sword and scimitar together? Because it wasn't the case in 3.5.

Sword and Scimitar? Like if the skelton picked up a Sword? He wouldn't be proficient with the Sword (so takes a -4) so any of these would be valid:

1) broken scimitar +0, sword -4
2) broken scimitar +0, claw -3
3) claw +2, claw +2

Each requires a Full Attack action AND this is identical to 3.5 rules.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

encorus wrote:
I got the bestiary yesterday, and nothing is stated regarding hydras being able to use all of their attacks as a standard action. We need an official clarification regarding this.

The hydra can still do this... we just found a MUCH easier way to model it than the overly complex version of the rules in 3.5.

Note that the hydra has the pounce ability.

According to the rules for pounce on page 302 of the Bestiary: "When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can make a full attack."

Thus, the hydra can charge up to a foe and make attacks with all of its heads.

This DOES mean that the Pathfinder hydra will be making its move+all heads bite attack less often, since there are times when a hydra won't be able to charge and thus activate its pounce ability. This was done on purpose, because a hydra does an AWFUL lot of damage with its full attack (37.5 points of damage on average for a full attack, which is over double what a CR 4 creature should be doing). As a CR 4 (baseline) creature, there needs to be a way for canny and tactically-minded players to avoid being hit with a full attack from a hydra, and that method is to deny the hydra its opportunities to charge.

But if you don't, and it charges, it gets its full attack and you probably get eaten.


James Risner wrote:
encorus wrote:
Does this mean that as a full round attack a skeleton can attack with a sword and scimitar together? Because it wasn't the case in 3.5.

Oops, I meant scimitar and claw :)


Yes, Pounce does seem to be a more elegant way of letting the hydra move and attack with all its heads, while making combat more tactically interesting.

By the way, James, the bestiary is simply breathtaking; the most beautiful one I've ever seen. I can't wait for my actual copy to arrive!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attacks under Melee entry in Bestiary require a full round? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions