James Martin
RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, 2011 Top 32
|
All equipment worn or carried by a creature is similarly enlarged by the spell. Melee weapons affected by this spell deal more damage. Other magical properties are not affected by this spell. Any enlarged item that leaves an enlarged creature’s possession (including a projectile or thrown weapon) instantly returns to its normal size. This means that thrown weapons deal their normal damage, and projectiles deal damage based on the size of the weapon that fired them.
All equipment you wear or carry is similarly enlarged by the spell. Melee weapons deal more damage. Other magical properties are not affected by this spell. Any enlarged item that leaves your possession (including a projectile or thrown weapon) instantly returns to its normal size. This means that thrown and projectile weapons deal their normal damage.
Why are they different? According to the D20SRD.org, they're the same there.
Dragnmoon
|
Sounds like an oversight. Good catch.
-Matt
Does not sound like an oversight.. it is written plainly in the text.. Sounds like it was done on purpose.
Beckett
|
Yes, they should (work the same). Righteous Might is "The" Cleric spell. If that was yet another nerf, than it really screws ranged clerics.
If it was intentional, than it needs to work the other way around, so that Enlarge Person does not affect ranged. RM is a much higher spell, and while there are not many ranged clerics, the drop in Dex penulizes them way to much already.
James Martin
RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, 2011 Top 32
|
I went ahead and added this to the errata thread for spells. I suspect it might have been one of those times when they were going to change something, didn't and forgot to remove the evidence.
Still, if either one ought to be powered down, I expect it would be Enlarge Person since it's only a 1st level spell vs Righteous Might's 4th level.
Dragnmoon
|
I take back what I said... I thought he was upset that projectiles do normal dmg when enlarged or under the effect of Righteous might.
After re reading it I see the possible error in the spells.