
Quandary |

I've seen comments on how it could be exploited by Wizards selling their Bonded Item.
If this is allowed, it seriously destroys the benefit of taking Item Creation Feats,
since anyone can just craft a Bonded Item, and then sell it, or give it to their friend.
All enchantments of the Bonded Item should explicitly be defined to only function for the Wizard.
But equally, without selling/ getting rid of the item, what happens when the Wizard makes a NEW Bonded Item,
say, in an item class they previously didn't qualify for (staves, for example)?
Does their previous Bonded Item continue to function as a MAGIC ITEM, just no longer being their particular BONDED item?
Allowing this gives even more of an enchanted item "freebie" to Wizards, since they're no longer limited to ONE "half-cost/free Feat" item, but only to how many they have decided to make in their career.
Though as a corrolary, if their old Bonded Items were to lose all function, they lose that 1/2 gold cost they put into making them...????
/shrug

![]() |

i think bonded item already means that the item only works for that spellcaster
but aye if needed by i would say make it explicit, a wizard should not be able to lose his bonded item or he should cut huimself of a dfountain of power unless he destroys such item or let it lose its pwoers
someone remembers Sauron from Lord of the Ring? or what do you think was the One Ring but a bounded Artifact created by a half-god wizard?

![]() |

i would say when they bond to other item they just lost the bonding to the old one
just as they can't have 22 familiars they can't have 2 bonded itemsso i believe
I'm guessing you meant 2 familiars - the concept of 22 familiars makes me think of the Crazy Cat Lady as a spellcaster with 22 cat familiars.

Quandary |

Montalve, you missed my point (the rules are clear that you only have one BONDED Item at a time):
Does their previous Bonded Item continue to function as a MAGIC ITEM,
just no longer being their particular BONDED item?
Allowing this gives even more of an enchanted item "freebie" to Wizards, since they're no longer limited to ONE "half-cost/free Feat" item, but only to how many they have decided to make in their career.
Though as a corrolary, if their old Bonded Items were to lose all function, they lose that 1/2 gold cost they put into making them...????
Although they both seem to have side-effects,
I suspect that allowing previous Bonded Items to function as Magic Items FOR THE CASTER is the most viable solution,
since the other option would be monetarily penalizing the Wizard for using their Class Ability.
It would just be nice for the text to be explicit on this, whichever it is...
(explicit is good... unless you're in a heated discussion on paizo's forums)

![]() |

A wizard can enchant his bonded object as if he had the required feats. If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its enchantment when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties. Bonded objects only function for their creator, including any magic abilities added to the object. This means that they cannot be sold.
mm well after re-reading the feature... i am convinced that they only get tohavea new bonded item after the 1st one is destroyed
they already are able to empower it as if they had feats they don't have
or if they can create another after expending the usual 200 gps/level i would say it loses its magic properties...
he is not robbed from his gold, the wizard was allowed to empower an item for his unique bond with it in ways he should not be able... if he breaks that bond... the item shatters in pieces or just lost its power.
jeje sorry i am against having magic items for everything :P and in every slot and this while expensive would make the wizard to be able to get a lot of magic items without even having to take any magic item creation feats
(explicit is good... unless you're in a heated discussion on paizo's forums)
agreed

Daniel Moyer |

Montalve wrote:I'm guessing you meant 2 familiars - the concept of 22 familiars makes me think of the Crazy Cat Lady as a spellcaster with 22 cat familiars.i would say when they bond to other item they just lost the bonding to the old one
just as they can't have 22 familiars they can't have 2 bonded items
so i believe
Naw, that would be a Druid who picks up a new Animal Companion at every level. 4th Level! Fluffy Kitty #4 and another 1HD companion!
"Bonded objects only function for their creator, including
any magic abilities added to the object. This means that
they cannot be sold."
That's what my beta says...
That description doesn't accurately answer the Masterwork Weapon (non-magical) question though. How can a (bow,crossbow,etc.) item simply cease to function? And that example is only mechanical weapons, does a masterwork sword cease being a sword simply because the Wizard is not holding it?
I widdle a wooden spoon and bond it to myself, as far as everyone else is concerned, there is no spoon, only a piece of functionless wood.
Sorry, it's a bit off the NEW topic at hand, but similar enough that I thought it worth re-mentioning.

![]() |

I would like to see the bonding be irrellevant to what the actual item bonded is. My point being that if I bond a Wand of magic missiles, anyone else that can cast magic missile should still be able to use it as a want of magic missiles (assuming it has charges left) but unable to use the bonded ability. That being said, I don't like the line "A wizard can enchant his bonded object as if he has the required feats." The feats have caster level requirements for a reason, lets not break that. Bonding is way cool enough without this little add on. Get rid of enchanting the object and a lot of the concerns of selling or "borrowing" bonded items go away. That and the rewording of the masterwork quality such as this post. The two things together will make it work as intended without dragging extra baggage along.