Grapple, Spellcasting and Dex Bonus: Inconsistencies.


Playtest Reports

Dark Archive

According to the "Casting Spells" section of the PF Beta rules (p. 155), you can't cast a spell while you are grappled. But according to the Conditions summary (p.400), a grappled character must succeed a Spellcraft check DC 15 + spell level to cast a spell.

Which one is the right one?

Also, according to the Armor class Modifiers Table (p. 147), a grappling character loses his dex bonus to AC. But according to the Conditions summary (p.400), a grappled character only gets -4 to dex.

Which one is the right one?


Entropi wrote:

According to the "Casting Spells" section of the PF Beta rules (p. 155), you can't cast a spell while you are grappled. But according to the Conditions summary (p.400), a grappled character must succeed a Spellcraft check DC 15 + spell level to cast a spell.

A spell cannot be cast at all while grappled UNLESS the spell is without somatic component, and the material component (if necessary) is already in the hand; in that case, if you are grappled , you can cast a spell, although you have to make a Spellcraft check in order to do so(see pag. 155, "Grappling or Pinned" under the rules for casting a spell); however, there IS a discrepancy between the Spellcraft table on page 72 (Cast a spell while grappled= DC 15 + spell level) and the rules on page 155 (DC= 20 + spell level). One of these is obviously wrong.

Entropi wrote:

Also, according to the Armor class Modifiers Table (p. 147), a grappling character loses his dex bonus to AC. But according to the Conditions summary (p.400), a grappled character only gets -4 to dex.

I noticed this error, too. I'm not sure if the "lose his Dexterity bonus" refers only to a character who is grappling somebody and then is attacked by someone else (like an ally of one of the two grappler who tries to free his comrade hacking the wrestler foe) or is another typo.

Scarab Sages

I don't believe this is an error. This is because "Grappling" and the "Grappled" condition are two different things. Grappling someone grants both members of the Grapple the 'grappled' condition along with imposing it's own rules, but a person can gain the 'grappled' condition from other sources as well (such as the Web spell).

It looks like they made the 'grappled' condition as the new entangled/grappled/etc. condition, merged into one. So when you are 'grappling', you gain said condition along with a few other rules.

I agree it could be more clear, but do not think it is an error.

Scarab Sages

Karui Kage wrote:

I don't believe this is an error. This is because "Grappling" and the "Grappled" condition are two different things. Grappling someone grants both members of the Grapple the 'grappled' condition along with imposing it's own rules, but a person can gain the 'grappled' condition from other sources as well (such as the Web spell).

It looks like they made the 'grappled' condition as the new entangled/grappled/etc. condition, merged into one. So when you are 'grappling', you gain said condition along with a few other rules.

I agree it could be more clear, but do not think it is an error.

I haven't playtested this yet with my group, but it sounds as if merging 'Entangled' and 'Grappled' into one single condition could get confusing. I mean, what happens if you get trapped in a L Monstrous Spider's web (you are now 'Grappled') and the monster comes up and starts a grapple with you. Would you then be twice 'Grappled'??

Dark Archive

So, someone who is grappling loses his dex bonus to AC, thus setting himself up for sneak attacks, AND gets a -4 penalty to AC from the "grappled" condition, while the one getting manhandled only gets -4 to AC?

Also, there is still an "Ensnared" condition in the condition summarey, but since "web" gives you the "Grappled" condition, I can't find a single thing besides the Tanglefoot Bag that grants the "Ensnared" condition, and that even grant a condition that is a bit different from "Ensnared".

Regarding spellcasting, the "grappled" condition states that you "can take no action requiring two hands to perform", thereby insinuating that you CAN take actions that requires only one hand to perform, such as spellcasting, readying material components or foci.

I would think that this is a case of a simple mistake in the rules on spellcasting and grappling on page 155, where the stated rules are meant to describe spellcasting and the "Pinned" condition, but accidently got to include the "Grappled" condition as well.

Scarab Sages

I'm wondering if there was really a need to change any of the conditions at all. I don't remember running into any issues with my group.

My vote would be to keep the 3.5 conditions as is, and just include a small table (mayhap in the back of the book) listing the conditions and their effects so it's easier to see at a glance than look up in the glossary.

Scarab Sages

Lord Aerthos Pendragon wrote:
Karui Kage wrote:

I don't believe this is an error. This is because "Grappling" and the "Grappled" condition are two different things. Grappling someone grants both members of the Grapple the 'grappled' condition along with imposing it's own rules, but a person can gain the 'grappled' condition from other sources as well (such as the Web spell).

It looks like they made the 'grappled' condition as the new entangled/grappled/etc. condition, merged into one. So when you are 'grappling', you gain said condition along with a few other rules.

I agree it could be more clear, but do not think it is an error.

I haven't playtested this yet with my group, but it sounds as if merging 'Entangled' and 'Grappled' into one single condition could get confusing. I mean, what happens if you get trapped in a L Monstrous Spider's web (you are now 'Grappled') and the monster comes up and starts a grapple with you. Would you then be twice 'Grappled'??

I don't think so. It's actually a nice way to simplify. If you are in a web or whatever, you gain the "Grappled" condition, which is a little better then being Grappled entirely. If you do get Grappled IN a web, I would say you just get elevated to the Grappled stuff from Combat. Now you have the "Grappled" condition and a few other penalties from being in a grapple.

Dark Archive

Whoops. I just now realized that this is posted in the wrong forum. I'll make a new thread in the appropriate forum.


What about things like attacking while grappled, do you have to maintain the grappeling to use other attacks?

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / Playtest Reports / Grapple, Spellcasting and Dex Bonus: Inconsistencies. All Messageboards
Recent threads in Playtest Reports
Rangers