Monster Statistics and CMB / CMD


Rules Questions


Hello,

In the stat block for a monster, what does +X CMB or +X CMD mean? Does it mean that after CMB/CMD is calculated you add +X to the result or that +X is the value that you use period?

Thanks!


Madak wrote:

Hello,

In the stat block for a monster, what does +X CMB or +X CMD mean? Does it mean that after CMB/CMD is calculated you add +X to the result or that +X is the value that you use period?

Thanks!

Hi Madak,

The listed CMB/CMD values are the pre-calculated, ready-to-go values. No need to do any calculations beyond adding the listed values to a d20 roll.


Drakir2010 wrote:
Madak wrote:

Hello,

In the stat block for a monster, what does +X CMB or +X CMD mean? Does it mean that after CMB/CMD is calculated you add +X to the result or that +X is the value that you use period?

Thanks!

Hi Madak,

The listed CMB/CMD values are the pre-calculated, ready-to-go values. No need to do any calculations beyond adding the listed values to a d20 roll.

From the Player's Handbook in the CMB combat section:

Quote:
When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus.

What does this mean exactly? If an Ape has CMB listed as +5 (+2 BAB, +2 Str Mod, +1 Size Mod) then do I exchange the +2 BAB with result of my d20 attack roll? Or does this mean that I use the CMB value instead of the BAB value plus the d20 result when trying to initiate the combat maneuver?

Sorry, I'm so confused :(


Madak wrote:

From the Player's Handbook in the CMB combat section:

Quote:
When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus.

What does this mean exactly? If an Ape has CMB listed as +5 (+2 BAB, +2 Str Mod, +1 Size Mod) then do I exchange the +2 BAB with result of my d20 attack roll? Or does this mean that I use the CMB value instead of the BAB value plus the d20 result when trying to initiate the combat maneuver?

Sorry, I'm so confused :(

You roll 1d20+5, in that case.


OK, when you want to attempt a combat maneuver, roll d20. That's just like any attack roll. Now here's the difference. Don't use your attack bonuses for the critter. Look at the CMB. Your ape has a +5. That's the total, broken down as you've got listed. Add 5 to the d20 roll. That will let you determine if you succeed or fail on combat maneuver. Compare this to the target's listed CMD, just as if you were attacking and comparing it to the target's AC. Same idea, just with different modifiers and different results.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monster Statistics and CMB / CMD All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions